We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Conference Hotel/Not the bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Tampa Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast & WiFi Package
Ranked #28 of 159 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Daytona Beach, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Conference Hotel/Not the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here for conference for the 14th year. It is being remodeled so expect some construction issues but nothing too disturbing. Rooms are very clean, conference area is very well maintained, staff are very helpful and friendly, internet is good. Only issue is cost of food/wine in restaurant and bar. $9.00 for California only house wine is outragious when you can go down the street for much cheaper. They lost LOTS of business this conference because of the HIGH costs. 20 of use went elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Greetings Susan L,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business.

It was nice to know that you enjoyed our hotel and staff. It makes us very proud that year after year we can meet your expectations.

We apologize for the $9 glass of wine. We do offer a less price wine selection. We also have happy hour everyday from 5pm-7pm, offering 2 for 1 or half off house wine, domestic and import beers. Aparently the bartender/server did not offer the cocktail menu with the selection of wines by the glass nor did they share the information about happy hour. We apologize for the inconvenience and the miscommunication from our part. Your feedback has helped us retrain our staff on the services we offer at the bar/restaurant to avoid this situation to happening again.

Thank you for your comments. We enjoyed having you as a guest and look forward to seeing you next year.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    136
    50
    22
    12
See reviews for
54
74
13
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The overall experience was not a pleasant one. Our previous room requests were not met, our room keys did not work, our previously submitted and confirmed cc auth, tax exempt forms were lost. Coffee etc, towels only partially replaced, dryer, chair missing, air intermittently working. Car left out not put in garage, bags left in foyer when requested in vehicle. Bathroom facets leaking, children running through halls at 1am and 6am, very unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Greetings Angela G,

Thank you for staying with us. It was very disappointing to read that we fell below your expectations and that your experience was not a pleasant one.

After reading your review, we are embarrased to see many things went wrong during your stay. This is not the level of service we pride ourselves on. Let me assure you this is very unusual so please accept our sincerely apologies for the inconvenience. We have forwarded this review to all the departments involved for action.

We appreciate your feedback and hope that this stay will not keep you from choosing our hotel in your future travels. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Front desk, concierge, wait staff provided outstanding customer service. They were accommodating, helpful and courteous. I would recommend this hotel and intend on using it in the future for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Greetings Tim G,

Thank you for staying with us.

It was nice to know we met or exceeded your expectations of customer service. Your kind comments are appreciated.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect for working in or visiting Tampa. The staff are friendly and helpful and they are investing agrarian deal in making it better and better. I always stay here when in town on business I can highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Greetings Mattwood25,

Thank you for staying with us.

It is particularly gratifying to know that after several visits, we continue to take care of you. Thank you for your loyalty and your very gracious comments.

We always enjoy having you as our guest and we hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here for an event in May at the Convention center. Although it is not right next to the convention center it is a very easy, short walk. This Hilton hotel was still under construction because it used to be a Hyatt. It was not exactly up to the "Hilton Standards" I have come to expect just yet. Also, the restaurant in the lobby was serving minimal food due to construction. I think this hotel has great potential and I look forward to seeing it after the full renovation. All in all the stay was quite enjoyable and the room service salad I had was very tasty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Greetings Ashley J,

Thank you for staying with us.

It was nice to see that you enjoyed your visit and particularly our salad.

We hope you can visit us after the renovation so you can enjoy our "brand new" hotel.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesburg, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have stayed here in the past on business and find this hotel to be a great business location because of where it is. The hotel is doing some renovations which I look forward to seeing when they are done. This hotel seems close to all major highways and within walking distance to a lot of businesses. A few real great qualities of this hotel are how clean it is and the hospitality. The Reservations Manager Christine M really knows her stuff and look forward to working with her in the upcoming year.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Greetings gregg j,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments about our hotel and staff, especially the one to our Reservations Manager Christine.

Thank you for your continued business. We look forward to having you as a guest again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights while in town on business. This hotel seems to be in a great location downtown with several good restaurants within walking distance. They are currently doing construction on the lobby but are doing very well with their temporary check in area. The staff was quick to help with bags and parking and very nice. The rooms seemed clean with the usual amenities like flat screen tv, electronic safe and comfortable furniture. The only two things that I noticed which may bother a traveler was the smaller or maybe more accurately, oddly arranged bathroom and the horrible coffee in the rooms. The toilet in the bathroom seemed very close to the sink which was a bit odd. The coffee is proclaimed as Italy's favorite, I hope that's not the true because it was horrible tasting. It was bad enough that it was a topic of conversation on a trip down in the elevator one morning. Luckily they have a Starbucks in the lobby (I wonder if Starbucks provides the coffee in the rooms to boost the lobby sales). Either way it is a nice hotel with extremely nice and professional staff and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Greetings Boudreaux519,

Thank you for staying with us.

We appreciate your kind comments about our hotel and staff.

We apologize you did not like the coffee in the room. This is the coffee that Hilton uses in all their properties and it seems to be a favorite of other guests. We are glad that you could have coffee in our Java Cafe. By the way, our renovation will include a full service Starbucks.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Tampa.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Address: 211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Tampa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#20 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tampa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.