We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work in Progress But So Far Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Tampa Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Wi-Fi
Ranked #29 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Work in Progress But So Far Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was a Hyatt and only a Hilton for a few months. But they have already put their quality stamp. The staff are outstanding with excellent service and attention. Beds are the very comfortable Hilton beds as are the amenities. Room service was excellent as was check in and check out. I had no issues with housekeeping or water temperature. Ventilation is an issue - Hyatt must have sealed the small windows that appeared to have opened originally ... and there was no fan in the bathroom. Sadly, this is becoming the norm with hotels: windows don't open. And as others have posted, bathroom is surprisingly small and current toilets have a very loud flush and as others posted, it's kind of musical 'swooshes' in the morning as you can hear rooms above or adjacent. (Not a big deal, really.) Didn't use pool but looked great.

But ... they are in the midst of a total remake. What I have already seen is impressive. Within a couple of months, I expect the lobby, bar, and restaurant areas to be top-notch. They are working floor by floor on renovations - top two floors were being done while I was there. (I suspect replacing the singing toilets will be one item!) My non-renovated room was already just fine so I can't wait to see the new ones. Not sure they can do anything about the small bathrooms but we'll see. I will be back as you can't beat the location, Hilton service, and soon, essentially a new hotel. Meanwhile, great rates will get me back, even during the renovation.

Room Tip: Based on management posts, if a small bathroom is an issue for you, mention at check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Greetings Ordglobal,

Thank you for staying with us. Your gracious comments mean a lot to us and we were glad to see that you enjoyed your visit. We are happy that you had the chance to experience our staff and service, which we are very proud of. We cannot wait until the renovation is over to showcase our "new" hotel.

We hope you can visit us again in the near future.It was a pleasure having you as our guest.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    173
    64
    25
    16
See reviews for
75
95
16
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Staff Was Excellent! - Door Man/Front Desk/Bell Hop/Waiter Food Was Wonderful in the Restaurant and the Service Was Very Good. Shuttle Service Was Very Convenient! , walking distance to downtown sites, Channelside, aquarium etc

100% recommended !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Greetings Maurice L,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to see that in all areas we met your expectations. Thank you so much for your comments.

We enjoyed having you as a guest and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Hotel accomodation and services from hotel staff were outstanding! My family, and siblings and their families had a wonderful experience at the Tampa Hilton Downtown. Cannot wait for the multi-million dollar renovation to complete...Nina B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Greetings Heidi B,

Thank you for staying with us. It was nice to know that you enjoyed your stay & staff.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to serving you again soon. Thank you for your comments.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We do quite a bit of travelling for competitive sports with our kids. We are a very tall family and nearly always require two rooms. That being said, it gives us a pretty good feel on the consistency of service, cleanliness, etc.

This hotel was immaculate. The rooms were literally as clean as you could ask for. I would have done no better myself in this regard. The rooms were very quiet. The pool area was neat but could use a little updating. The hotel was under a bit of construction to improve the lobby. It is going to be very grand once it is completed. The staff was great but we really had no need to interact with them very much at all as the place is run very well.

On a final note, the location could not be better if you are doing things in downtown Tampa or at the convention center. You walk everywhere…park and forget it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Greetings Mjz_Florida,

Thank you for staying with us. We would like to thank you for the nice comments about our hotel, service and staff. It was nice to know you had a good stay.

We hope you can join us again soon after the renovation is over so you can enjoy our "new" hotel.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had a very good experience at the Hilton Tampa Downtown. Centrally located, this hotel is right in the middle of downtown, and just a short walk to the Convention Center and a variety of restaurants. Very friendly and helpful staff from the valet through check-in. Everyone had a smile and offered to provide assistance at every turn. Do not worry about the lobby renovations. It took me a while to even realize where they were occurring, and I never heard any construction noise. My King room had a pool view and was very nice. Standard Hilton quality. If you stay at Hilton enough, you know that everything is "extra", and the extras are not cheap. Unless you are a Hilton Honors Gold or Platinum member, expect to pay $10 per day for internet, $5 for the bottled water in your room, etc. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was good, but service a little slow. Again, unless you have free coupons as part of your membership, expect to $50 for a standard two-person breakfast. There may be less expensive choices off property. The friendly service here made the difference. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Greetings pdpek2,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your kind comments. We are happy that you had a good stay and that you got to experience the great customer service of our staff.

We look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Visited on a sunday for a nights getaway. Great location and price (used a few HH points to off set costs). Renovations? Not a problem, hardly noticed any work being done. The rooms are modern and the lobby/restaurant is updated. The hotel staff had our room ready and let us check in early. We spent the day lounging by the pool on the sun deck sipping on adult beverages. We had the pool and afternoon pretty much to ourselves. Great location within the cab "short ride" area (meaning cab fare is $3.00 per person if you stay in the zone). The CineBistro is a must for dinner and a show. Overall: would return, would recommend to F&F

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Greetings Dinner-For-Too,

Thank you for staying with us. It was nice to see that you enjoyed your stay, and you had a good time at the pool.

We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed there one night on business, however here goes:
1. True, (as pointed out in another review) the bathroom is odd, and very small so the toilet encroaches a bit on the area to stand near the sink. I suspect the hotel is dated and probably the bathroom should be a little bigger and the rest of the room could have been smaller. Overall, I found it to be acceptable under the circumstances.
2. The water is not very hot in the shower as I think was also pointed out in another review, again I found it to be acceptable, though not optimal.
3. Check in was flawless as was valet parking.
4. Check out was flawless as was valet parking.
5. I paid about $120 for the room ($130 with taxes) and about $20 for valet parking. Considering the downtown location and opportunity to earn points towards Hilton program, I consider this a fair price. It was a Saturday night stay and with AAA discount.
6. The bed was very comfortable as were the linens.
7. I did not have a chance to use the amenities.
Hope this helps. If I have to stay downtown Tampa again, I probably would stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Greetings Dan71395,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments about your stay. We apologize for the inconvenience with the water in the shower. We have addressed your concern with our Engineering Department for immediate action.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Address: 211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Tampa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#19 Business Hotel in Tampa
#42 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tampa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.