We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    21
    14
    63
See reviews for
36
22
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The staff was nice. Looked decent on the outside, but the hotel was terrible inside. The halls smelled like smoke and dead fish. The room smelled like smoke. Most of the people we saw there appeared to be living there, not travelers. People knocking on doors at all hours. Lobby is closed after dark so you have to check in through a window. Linens were stained, corners of the room were dirty and the room was poorly painted. Toilet seat and bed covers had cigarette burns in our "non-smoking" room. TV remote batteries were dead. Top door lock was broken off. The breakfast was minimal... single serving cereals, white bread/toast and bagels, small muffins, juice and milk. Breakfast area is too small. The bed was comfortable except for the lumpy, smelly pillows and stinky bed covers. Cushioned chair on patio was old and full of holes. A/C runs all day/night to keep the room comfortable. Very busy street all night long. Police and emergency vehicles driving by all night long. Can't make a left turn out of the parking lot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was by far the worst experience with a hotel I have ever had. The room was awful , there were cigarette burns on the bed covers, in a non smoking room, the bed sheets were stained , the room was extremely dirty where there were things from the previous occupants left . For 9 days they had only cleaned our room once, never came in never changed the sheets and never even replenished the towels. I had complained every day to the front desk and they did nothing about. Honestly I have stayed in Howard Johnson before but this was by far the worst and most disgusting hotel ever.

Room Tip: never book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

1- Rooms stink
2- Bed burn from cigarettes buds.
3- Microwave explode firs nigth
4- bugs in bathroom and microwave.
5- Carpet wasn't clean
6- they say "Free breakfast" bit really is a cup cake and a coffe
7- bathrooms look dirty

DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Staff smokes right out side the front door. Non smoking room smelt of smoke. Bugs in bathroom. Room was not quite you could here everything, from people in the hall to the ice maker. The breakfast was minimal at best. We have a student at the college near by, safe to say when we visit we will NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#105 of 160 in Tampa
3.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
10.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens

Address: 720 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.