We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3314 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #60 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Debary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

i stayed at this hotel for 1 week and after 3 days my coffee pot was not cleaned and my sheets were not changed. i spoke with the staff and Candice did a fantastic job of getting housekeeping to resolve the situation. had no other issues after that. great job Candice

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    85
    66
    14
    7
See reviews for
98
65
33
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel has been recently renovated, and it even has soft water! The gentleman who checked me in was courteous, friendly, efficient, and helpful. I was frankly expecting much less, having dealt with OTHER HoJos, where staff was uncooperative or downright surly. Not here.
The lady who checked me out the next morning was of the same caliber, making my stay here pleasant, and worth a repeat when in town next time. Excellent value for $$, and close to everything.Breakfast was of a good selection, and room was clean.WiFi actually worked.

Room Tip: I stayed in 205 - quiet and close to office, on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed in this Howard Johnson for a 4 day trip to Tampa. We payed 45$ a night with a small continental breakfast. Right on Dale Mabry the real center of Tampa. Take a renovated room!! There are lots of shops and restaurants around. The nearby stripclubs don't disturb. It is around 10-12 minutes to the airport. The Westshore Mall is around 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed here for MetroCon 2014 with some friends.

The rate was fair, the beds were clean and comfy. AC was great, and the pool was small but heavenly after a long day at the convention center. Front desk wasn't the friendliest, but who could blame them with a bunch of costumed weirdos running around. Free WiFi worked, though spotty.

Good proximity to convention center and surrounding areas. Nothing we needed was further than 10 minutes out. Maybe 15 minutes to the convention center with traffic, if you avoided the highway.

Heads up; The TV is a tube TV! Tech savvy travelers wont be able to hook up their laptops or externals without the red-white-yellow AV cables of old ;)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North babylon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

The Howard Johnson was very clean room..the staff is very good on giving out info for the visitors..the outside pool was very nice..I had a nice visit to Tampa & when I am in town I will be using this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyHojo_STampa, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear tborowski1,
Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure to have you be our guest at Howard Johnson South Tampa. Our staff appreciates your kind words and thanks you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to your next visit to the Tampa area.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Rodriguez
Manager
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Their driveway is tucked between businesses and is a bit tricky to get in. Not difficult but you do have to watch for it. We missed it and had to go around the block but don't let that deter you.
My family and I arrived on the 4th of July mid afternoon. We were fortunate as our room was ready earlier than 3pm. There were a couple of other people waiting for "single rooms". When I walked in there was no one at the front desk. After waiting just a few minutes, Dwayne walked back in from the outside. He was handling a problem. He apologized and proceeded to book us in. I watched as he was able to acknowledge everyone around him and yet made each feel like they were the only ones in the room. About a 1/2 hour later I noticed my sunglasses were not to be found and walked over to the registration office. Dwayne was on the phone trying assist someone but looked at me inquisitively. I laugh at it now as we must have made a "mime" cringe with our antics. I motioned my sunglasses and he shrugged as they were not to be found (later found them in our room). I then mouthed the need for add'l towels. He nodded and formed the universal "ok" with his hand. Not 10 minutes later there was a knock on our door and Dwayne came with more than enough towels and said he apologizes for us having to wait for them but that housekeeping was busy. Talk about service!!!!
The room was a typical motel room but very clean and neat. My grandson forgot his toothbrush and with Howard Johnson flair, there was one for him at the front desk.
I did not go to the Breakfast area but my family stated that at first when they got there it wasn't much to choose from but just about a 1/2 hour later someone came in with hard boiled eggs and the mix for waffles. The rest was the standard fair of donuts, bagels etc...l
Just as a side note for the ladies.....Shopping is near by.

Room Tip: The rooms face the pool but are soundproof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyHojo_STampa, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,
It is a pleasure to have a Top Contributor of TripAdvisor take the time out to share your experience with us about your stay. Our staff and I thank you for your kind words about the staff and property. Your concerns about breakfast have been noted, and will be applied to better improve our breakfast.
We invite you to stay with us again during your next visit to Tampa.

Best regards,
Vanessa Rodriguez
Manager
Howard Johnson Express Inn &Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed here for three nights. The place was very clean, pretty landscaping, lot of greenery, not just the parking lot to look at. The bed was very comfortable, the pool was maintained, and the front desk staff and manager were very helpful. Good selection and fresh food at the continental breakfast. Reasonable food choices within walking distance. $10 cab ride to downtown. No airport shuttle.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyHojo_STampa, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for staying with us at Howard Johnson South Tampa. Your time and feedback on your recent stay with us is greatly appreciated. Guest satisfaction is our top priority, and are happy to know you had a great experience while staying at our location.
We welcome you to be our guest every time you visit the Tampa Bay area.

Best Regards,
Vanessa Rodriguez
Manager
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport

Address: 3314 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
#48 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the newly renovated Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites Tampa. We are the closest hotel to Macdill Air Force Base and also within 5 miles of Tampa International Airport, Downtown, Cruise Terminal, St. Pete Times, Forum, and Raymond James Stadium. We fully renovated our hotel including a brand new bedding package in 2009. We welcome all guests to come see the new Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn And Suites - South Tampa / Airport
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.