We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3314 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #64 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    89
    69
    15
    9
See reviews for
101
67
35
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. I like the layout of the building, on a buisy street yet set back away from the sound of traffic. Very peaceful nights to sleep. Very comfortable bed, I love the pillows! Very clean room, the housekeeping staff always made my bed and left me nice clean towels and a fresh room, was so nice to go back to after a buisy day. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyHojo_STampa, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson South Tampa. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on our accommodations and your stay with us.
We welcome you to your home away from home next time you visit your daughter and the Tampa Bay area.

Best Wishes,
Vanessa Rodriguez
Manager
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Nice room, friendly staff. Not so great breakfast!! Same boring stuff. Never anything different. Staff in breakfast area not so friendly. Coffee cups stick together. Noticed wrapped in plastic, good!! Coffee taste bad.. Very week.. Thanks..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyHojo_STampa, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Joseph K,
Thank you for being our guest. We apologize for the issues encountered. As we value your opinion, we are currently revising our breakfast menu to make it more appealing and offer a different variety of items. I will speak with my staff to ensure we are providing the best service possible.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and welcome you give us another opportunity during your next visit to the Tamp area.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Rodriguez
Manager
Howard Johnson South Tampa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhanbad, India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

almost good hotel to stay near by airport. it take half an hour to go reach downtown by taxi $25 approx or more during evening. nice place to stay, no near by restaurant for lunch or dinner , only McDonald is option. swimming pool is available but not worth like to be.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyHojo_STampa, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear valued Guest,
Thank you for being our guest at Howard Johnson South Tampa. I am pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking time to share your thoughts on our location.

Our top priority is making all of our guest have the best stay possible, and welcome you to visit us again next time you are in the Tampa Bay area.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Rodriguez
Manager
Howard Johnson South Tampa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport

Address: 3314 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#51 Family Hotel in Tampa
#54 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the newly renovated Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites Tampa. We are the closest hotel to Macdill Air Force Base and also within 5 miles of Tampa International Airport, Downtown, Cruise Terminal, St. Pete Times, Forum, and Raymond James Stadium. We fully renovated our hotel including a brand new bedding package in 2009. We welcome all guests to come see the new Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn And Suites - South Tampa / Airport
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.