We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3314 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #58 of 158 hotels in Tampa
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    71
    55
    14
    7
See reviews for
88
54
29
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

You know when you're staying at a HoJo for under $60 a night that you aren't looking for luxury. Indeed, the pool was in the middle of the parking lot and the tube tv got 8 or 9 channels (fortunately one was ESPN) but we were pleasantly surprised with the overall stay. The room was very big with a kitchenette, bed was comfortable, everything was clean, and the front desk people were nice. It's near a variety of stores and restaurants and the surrounding area is busy but seems safe enough. It was convenient for us as well.....20 minutes from Ybor City and 30 from Clearwater. Definitely the best hotel we've stayed at for the price range.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

wonderful value nice and clean,the area was convenient. above all it was immaculately kept. it seemed that a lot of others felt it was a good deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyHojo_STampa, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest

We are glad to hear that everything during your stay with us was satisfactory. Our goal here at Howard Johnson is to ensure that each and every guest is comfortable as well as satisfied with their stay from the moment you enter our lobby.

Again, thank you for the positive comments and we are looking forward to accommodating you next time in Tampa.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Kozlar --Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was such a friendly place, with staff that went above and beyond. They wrote out directions, gave information, helped with bags, offered advice, ran after us when we forgot something. We were very happy and pleased during a stressful time of hospital stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyHojo_STampa, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites during your travels to the Tampa Bay area.

We are glad to hear that everything during your stay was pleasant and above expectations. As soon as you arrive it’s our goal to make sure your stay with us is as
comfortable and convenient as possible.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and comments, I will be sure to let everyone on our staff know that their hard work really pays off to make the best experience possible while staying at Howard Johnson.


Nick Kozlar – Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel was located close to the airport, but not too close. The neighborhood was safe and well patrolled. The room was clean. The beds and pillows were comfortable. The heated pool was actually heated and warm enough to swim in. The wi-fi was a little shaky at times but worked for the most part. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This stay changed my mind about the last time I stayed at a HoJo ten years ago when I swore them off. I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyHojo_STampa, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We are very happy to hear that you felt safe and were satisfied with our property during your stay this month, we really appreciate your business. Our goal at Howard Johnson is to make sure each and every one of our guests has the best possible experience while traveling. It means a lot that we have changed your opinion of our Brand and are excited to accommodate in the future.

Again, thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, we are looking forward to accommodating you in the near future.


Nicolas Kozlar -- Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport

Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport Hotel
Howard Johnson Express Inn And Suites - South Tampa / Airport
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson
Address: 3314 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#44 Family Hotel in Tampa
#47 Business Hotel in Tampa
#58 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#58 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the newly renovated Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites Tampa. We are the closest hotel to Macdill Air Force Base and also within 5 miles of Tampa International Airport, Downtown, Cruise Terminal, St. Pete Times, Forum, and Raymond James Stadium. We fully renovated our hotel including a brand new bedding package in 2009. We welcome all guests to come see the new Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.