We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3314 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #57 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    78
    63
    14
    7
See reviews for
92
61
31
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have been staying at this HoJo's a few days every year for the past 7 years. Each & every visit has been exceptional, with this most recent visit by far even better than the re rest. First I credit the manager, Daniel. As my departure date kept changing to "one more night" it was never a problem. Anytime I had a question or request, it was handled in moments, not hours.
This may seem insignificant to you, but not to me & my son. I asked if it were possible I could have a ground floor....no problem. Because I get up early & prefer to eat in my room, is it possible to get a room. lose to the breakfast room. I believe I was 2 rooms away...(just a small note...don't ever do away with the waffles ...they're my favorite)
Also, I believe Daniel deserves the credit for his staff (particularly. Jackie) from the front desk to housekeeping to maintenance...all exceptional.
I will continue to stay & recommend this HoJo's to anyone needing accommodations in Tampa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyHojo_STampa, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Valued guest,

I am pleased to hear that your stay, current and past have been wonderful! Our goal is to make sure your stay is just as if you were at the comfort of your own home. We create a family enviroment and love to involve all our guest to be a part of it.

Seems like we have done just that with you!

Thank you so very much for your wonderful compliments, I will make sure to mention it to our staff, and I look forward to seeing you very soon!

Go Happy Go Hojo!

Jackie Cruz
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and i came to tampa for our anniversary vacation and stayed at this hotel, We're from kentucky and stayed at this hotel 3 years ago.The staff was great,very helpful. Rooms very comfortable for exterior room entrance. The property was very well maintenced.
We would definitely come back to this hotel....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyHojo_STampa, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Valued guest,

Thank you for chosing our hotel once again! I'm happy to hear that after your last visit with us 3 years ago, you found our services pleasant enough to stay with us this year. Thank you for your kind comments, I will be sure to mention it to our staff.

Give us a call directly and we will be happy to book your stay! Jacuzzi Suite maybe? =)

Go Happy Go Hojo!

Respectfully,

Jackie Cruz
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Came to tampa for a wedding. Check in was a breeze. The manger on duty Jackie was very nice and answered all of our questions. The room was nice and clean, fresh lines, good water temp, Only recommendation is that steam clean the curtains and sofa chair.. Smelled kind of musty. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was the normal fare. Not bad at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport

Address: 3314 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#45 Business Hotel in Tampa
#49 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the newly renovated Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites Tampa. We are the closest hotel to Macdill Air Force Base and also within 5 miles of Tampa International Airport, Downtown, Cruise Terminal, St. Pete Times, Forum, and Raymond James Stadium. We fully renovated our hotel including a brand new bedding package in 2009. We welcome all guests to come see the new Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Express Inn And Suites - South Tampa / Airport
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.