We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Good stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3314 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #64 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
LIVE OAK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Good stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We go to Tampa a couple of times a year. My wife likes the shopping. W e have tried numerous hotels in the area. Being on Social Security, we have to watch our pennies, while still staying in a nice hotel. This hotel is the best of the median hotels that we have stayed at over the years. The staff was polite and made us feel like they wanted us to enjoy our stay with them. The hotel was clean and neat, comfortable beds, nice pool and patio,convenient parking, well lit and well maintained grounds. I had only one problem that I didn't think about until after we had checked out and were on our way home. The exhaust fan in the bathroom didn't work. Other than that, no problem, I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Tampa. We will be booking at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    136
    91
    26
    15
See reviews for
144
94
47
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MIAMI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The room was very clean and comfortable. The bed linen was very modern looking, it reminded me of an upscale hotel. The outer area was nice and clean as well. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The price was very reasonable and affordable. I've decided to stay here on all of my upcoming visits.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

over the stay was pretty good, but me and my friend could not get any sleep at all because the beds are way too firm/hard...other places have much softer beds...other than that it was a good experiance

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojosouthtampaairpor, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Maintenance was informed of the Bed in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to the necessary repairs or change.

• We are glad that accept bed your overall Stay experience was good.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very nice, clean and very BIG room (2x queenbed room), clean and nice area around the rooms and parkingspace, nice (but little) pool, good pricing incl. breakfast, fast internet and very freindly staff... Can only recommend it.. :)
/Jesper Holst, Denmark

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The front desk clerks and the manager were beyond accommodating. When we arrived they were excited to welcome us because we were the first family from NH to visit their particular location. They ensured that were aware of all the complimentary features that were offered which included free Wifi, heated outdoor pool, free continental breakfast, and cable channels.

For the amazing rate that we got for 2 Queen size beds, refrigerator, and microwave we were shocked at how comfortable and clean the rooms were. The beds had plush mattresses that were very comfortable and the sheets were extremely clean. The overall appearance of the room was one of a 5 star hotel.

The location of the hotel was perfect where we could easily access Busch Gardens, the beach, stores, and restaurants.

I would recommend this hotel to any family that is traveling with kids. The hotel is clean in a great part of town and overall just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

After reading the reviews on this site, I decided to stay at this hotel while I took the FL Bar Exam. The night before the first exam day, my friends & I had to be moved to another room because we found a bed bug on one of the beds. Eric, from the office staff was nice & apologetic; he quickly moved us to another room. A few hours later, however, my friend, her young son & I woke up with bites all over our bodies. I went back to the main office at 5:30am to explain what was happening & Nicolette, the person who replaced Eric, was completely disinterested in our plight. Even though I was visibly shaken by the bites on my skin & by the fact that I had a major exam in a few hours, she was rude, unprofessional & unapologetic. She dryly told me that there was nothing she could do til her manager arrived at 7am (when I was scheduled to leave for the exam). I don't in anyway blame the office staff for the infestation however I was absolutely mortified by the experience & by the way I was treated. We were eventually moved to another Howard Johnson where we thankfully spent the rest of our trip bedbug-free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojosouthtampaairpor, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Eric was informed of the kind remark you made about his friendliness and received our commendation on the courteous, friendly manner in which he treated you, our valued guests.

• Maintenance was informed of your report of bedbugs in the room assigned to you and instructed to look into the matter and if it has not already been dealt with to see to their extermination.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, Alabama
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel was comfortable for the price. Very pleased with the service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport

Address: 3314 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the newly renovated Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites Tampa. We are the closest hotel to Macdill Air Force Base and also within 5 miles of Tampa International Airport, Downtown, Cruise Terminal, St. Pete Times, Forum, and Raymond James Stadium. We fully renovated our hotel including a brand new bedding package in 2009. We welcome all guests to come see the new Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Express Inn And Suites - South Tampa / Airport
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.