We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but shortcomings” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2055 North Dale Mabry Highway, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #111 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
A TripAdvisor Member
“Cheap but shortcomings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Was able to score 2 nights for under $100 which is a steal, but overall there was a reason why. Initially shen I checked in the feont desk tried to move me feom queen to 2 doubles. Declined becauss I had my partner with me but wish I didnt. Walking in, the room was decently cleaned, non smoking. But almost everywhere I walked there was crraking like the floor was going to collapse and the bed was even worse. I never heard a squeakier bed in my life! Coming back after a day out my key didnt work...and I was only given one so I had to go to the front. Theywere accomodating.... That second night I moved the automon and found a cigarette butt - did I mention this room was non smoking? Overall, I think this room is not often used for the shortcomings listed but is a last result if no other queen size rooms are available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    37
    49
    47
See reviews for
40
29
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Euclid
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Great location for single people on a budget. Their best available rate is to high for a Motel. Book through Expedia for a discounted rate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Yogi is great and the property is well taken care of seeing it has been there for over 40 years.I would recommended to everyone I know who need a great place to stay pool a plus.rooms are decent sized and clean no bugs thank god can't say that for a lot of hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were going on a Cruise and needed a hotel for the day before and the day after the Cruise. We chose this hotel because of its low cost and just hoped it wouldn't be gross and run down. The rooms were great! Very clean and no foul smells that some low cost hotels can have. The staff was wonderful in accommodating my needs because I accidentally booked the wrong day (before my Cruise) and had booked through Orbitz. We came back well before check in time (after the Cruise) but they were able to get us two rooms early with a minimal wait. It isn't 4 stars like a typical 4 star hotel, but for the low cost they charge, the staff and rooms are excellent! The area isn't the greatest but it didn't bother us at all ( and no one bothered us either).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Oh my where to start our room was horrible,coffee maker filled with gunk,tv didnt work they took forever to replace,microwave dirty didnt work,plumbing leaked,and bugs there are alot of staff leave here and have been annoying,and not so savory characters bother and the manager here is rude.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium

Address: 2055 North Dale Mabry Highway, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Hotel Tampa Airport/Stadium consistently provides the kind of comfort, service and hospitality you expect in a hotel for both vacation and business travelers. Free Scheduled shuttle to/from Tampa Int. Airport 5:15am-11pm, which runs every hour. Transportation also available to Port of Tampa, 10 Dollars Per Person each way. Free Continental Breakfast in Lobby 5:30 a.m.-9:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.