We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Issues; Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2055 North Dale Mabry Highway, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #117 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
north of Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“No Issues; Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here overnight for an early morning flight from Tampa Airport. This hotel was conveniently located near the airport, maybe 10 minutes and an easy drive. Hotel itself is set up a little oddly and it's a little difficult to know exactly where to park to be close to your room. The room itself was fine. Bed was comfortable, room was quiet. Raymond James Stadium is really close, which I didn't know until we took a drive down the road. Also, Steinbrenner Stadium is very close to the hotel. Not much in the way of restaurants, but we did find an Appleby's not too awful far. All in all this is a fine place to stay for an overnighter. I would stay here again, and I probably will.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    42
    62
    81
    82
See reviews for
61
65
50
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tombstone, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We choose this because we missed our flight and the other top names were booked. Upon arrival we found this to be in an area of strip clubs, however it was quiet and Walmart and Best Buy were very close to the property so it felt safe.
The room a/c only worked for about 10 minutes, would have to turn it off then to fan for 10 minutes, then back to cold.
It was miserable trying to catch naps in between resetting the a/c all night.
The beds were to be queens, surprise they were doubles, so it was a challenge for 4 people to sleep 2 to a bed.
Next time, I would rather sleep in the airport terminal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The room was nice. The front desk was straight forward. Please check out this Hotel in Tampa,fl. It is close to the Hard Rock Casino. Shopping Malls. Food Stores,etc,etc. I can not wait to go back. Family and friends should go there. They have a 5 STAR Rating from me.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I've stayed at this property so many times now they should give me a free night somewhere along the way which I mentioned to the front end staff on my last stay Well, now that I actually live in Florida(although not in Tampa) the property always meets my needs. The staff from top to bottom is always friendly and gracious. Of course, they may recognize you after awhile as a frequent visitor or you can always turn on the charm and talk up the front end staff and see where that gets you.
Pool is nice for just lounging and it's going to be getting real, real hot real real soon so the a/c has to be in tip-top shape and I've never had a problem with that either. Free Wi-Fi too. There is an excellent Thai restaurant that I always mention that is right next door and plenty of other dining options along Dale Mabry. Bummer that the Longhorn Steak restaurant moved from its location here over to Westshore across from the Penthouse Club. FYI. There is also a Ruth's Cris steak place and Olive Garden right there on Westshore as well.
And HoJo's is only a few miles from the airport and the International Plaza shopping mall. Take a right out of the hotel and your first left on Columbus and you'll be there in minutes. And if you want to get to Westshore, it's the third left on Columbus. It took dumb ol' me several times to figure out the easiest way to Westshore from the hotel. My sense of direction ain't real keen if ya know what I mean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
3.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport
1.3 mi away
Ramada Tampa Airport Westshore
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#106 of 160 in Tampa
3.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street
4.0 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Tampa - Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium

Address: 2055 North Dale Mabry Highway, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium 2*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Hotel Tampa Airport/Stadium consistently provides the kind of comfort, service and hospitality you expect in a hotel for both vacation and business travelers. Free Scheduled shuttle to/from Tampa Int. Airport 5:15am-11pm, which runs every hour. Transportation also available to Port of Tampa, 10 Dollars Per Person each way. Free Continental Breakfast in Lobby 5:30 a.m.-9:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.