We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay near airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2055 North Dale Mabry Highway, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #111 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    41
    56
    49
See reviews for
42
36
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tombstone, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We choose this because we missed our flight and the other top names were booked. Upon arrival we found this to be in an area of strip clubs, however it was quiet and Walmart and Best Buy were very close to the property so it felt safe.
The room a/c only worked for about 10 minutes, would have to turn it off then to fan for 10 minutes, then back to cold.
It was miserable trying to catch naps in between resetting the a/c all night.
The beds were to be queens, surprise they were doubles, so it was a challenge for 4 people to sleep 2 to a bed.
Next time, I would rather sleep in the airport terminal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The room was nice. The front desk was straight forward. Please check out this Hotel in Tampa,fl. It is close to the Hard Rock Casino. Shopping Malls. Food Stores,etc,etc. I can not wait to go back. Family and friends should go there. They have a 5 STAR Rating from me.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I've stayed at this property so many times now they should give me a free night somewhere along the way which I mentioned to the front end staff on my last stay Well, now that I actually live in Florida(although not in Tampa) the property always meets my needs. The staff from top to bottom is always friendly and gracious. Of course, they may recognize you after awhile as a frequent visitor or you can always turn on the charm and talk up the front end staff and see where that gets you.
Pool is nice for just lounging and it's going to be getting real, real hot real real soon so the a/c has to be in tip-top shape and I've never had a problem with that either. Free Wi-Fi too. There is an excellent Thai restaurant that I always mention that is right next door and plenty of other dining options along Dale Mabry. Bummer that the Longhorn Steak restaurant moved from its location here over to Westshore across from the Penthouse Club. FYI. There is also a Ruth's Cris steak place and Olive Garden right there on Westshore as well.
And HoJo's is only a few miles from the airport and the International Plaza shopping mall. Take a right out of the hotel and your first left on Columbus and you'll be there in minutes. And if you want to get to Westshore, it's the third left on Columbus. It took dumb ol' me several times to figure out the easiest way to Westshore from the hotel. My sense of direction ain't real keen if ya know what I mean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My friends and I stayed at this hotel, as when I was searching hotels in the area the location seemed ideal and the cost was not bad. All in all, we had a good stay as we were out quite a bit as this was a fun getaway. The continental breakfast was not bad at all. I thought the selection was very good and the area was kept clean. The rooms are dated and do need some work. However; the only issue I had, was upon check-in. Anita was on duty and I asked a question to which I was basically shrugged off, as I should wait until she is done checking me in. All in all we had a good stay over the 7 nights period and may return for a quick budgeted getaway again....Location is ideal...close to many restaurants etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hotel was one of the worst I have stayed in. As soon as I got to my room it was dirty and the sheets on the bed had not been changed. there was dust all over the furniture. They moved me to another room were there was water leaking from the ceiling in the bathroom and the tub had hair and gunk under the bath mat. I explained it to the manager at check out and her reply was your (leaving any ways). I will never recommend this motel. My husband travels a lot in the military and I showed him pictures so he will not recommend or stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium

Address: 2055 North Dale Mabry Highway, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium 2*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Hotel Tampa Airport/Stadium consistently provides the kind of comfort, service and hospitality you expect in a hotel for both vacation and business travelers. Free Scheduled shuttle to/from Tampa Int. Airport 5:15am-11pm, which runs every hour. Transportation also available to Port of Tampa, 10 Dollars Per Person each way. Free Continental Breakfast in Lobby 5:30 a.m.-9:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.