We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel was clean. I was standing in a foot of water by...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2055 North Dale Mabry Highway, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #117 of 158 hotels in Tampa
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    37
    42
    42
See reviews for
32
28
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OAKVILLE
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Check-in was smooth and efficient. Clean room. Surprisingly quiet considering the proximity to strip clubs, a busy road and the fact that it was New Year's Eve. Close to restaurants and shopping. We wanted to take the shuttle to the airport but the first shuttle was at 5:00 a.m. and we needed to be at the airport by 4:00 a.m. We were told by the staff at check-in that a taxi would be only $10. In the morning, a taxi arrived and the driver told us it was $15. The staff member agreed with the taxi driver, contradicting his own colleagues. Not too impressive!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed at this motel while in Tampa for a Bucs game. The hotel is basically a motel. It was clean and sufficient for six guys but I would probably not take my wife here. The hotel is a 15 minute walk to Raymond James Stadium which was great for us. There are a few restaurants and strip joints down the street. The area is ok but I would be cautious at night. Great value and price for a guys football weekend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Being a HoJo's I wasn't expecting a 5 star, but this property was an embarrassment to me my wife and it should be to the entire HoJo's chain. The property was older and in need of repair from just the first impression. Upon reaching our room we realized that a little repair is a major understatement. The room we were in included a leaky bathtub faucet, carpet so dirty it left my feet caked and needed to washed. To make matters worse, one of the outlets was literally coming out of the wall. To top things off, on the bed was a copy of the latest issue of the local strip club guide. Just awesome!!!! I know HoJo's of late is not what it was in the past, but in no way was I expecting it to be this bad. Do Not stay here!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRADENTON
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel has some maintenance and housekeeping issues which need to be resolved. Front Desk personnel could be more friendly and knowledgeable. There were no maintenance personnel available at the hotel on a saturday at 4:30pm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMOSASSA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here for a conference in Tampa and was pleased with the quality and the cost! room was great, price was great

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa

Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson
Address: 2055 North Dale Mabry Highway, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 158 hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Hotel Tampa Airport/Stadium consistently provides the kind of comfort, service and hospitality you expect in a hotel for both vacation and business travelers. Free Scheduled shuttle to/from Tampa Int. Airport 5:15am-11pm, which runs every hour. Transportation also available to Port of Tampa, 10 Dollars Per Person each way. Free Continental Breakfast in Lobby 5:30 a.m.-9:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.