We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't stay here again on a bet!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2055 North Dale Mabry Highway, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #114 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Holland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I wouldn't stay here again on a bet!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Being a HoJo's I wasn't expecting a 5 star, but this property was an embarrassment to me my wife and it should be to the entire HoJo's chain. The property was older and in need of repair from just the first impression. Upon reaching our room we realized that a little repair is a major understatement. The room we were in included a leaky bathtub faucet, carpet so dirty it left my feet caked and needed to washed. To make matters worse, one of the outlets was literally coming out of the wall. To top things off, on the bed was a copy of the latest issue of the local strip club guide. Just awesome!!!! I know HoJo's of late is not what it was in the past, but in no way was I expecting it to be this bad. Do Not stay here!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    36
    49
    47
See reviews for
39
29
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BRADENTON
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel has some maintenance and housekeeping issues which need to be resolved. Front Desk personnel could be more friendly and knowledgeable. There were no maintenance personnel available at the hotel on a saturday at 4:30pm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMOSASSA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here for a conference in Tampa and was pleased with the quality and the cost! room was great, price was great

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASHLAND
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Room was very average, but clean. Bed was average. Needed more coffee, as they only provided one serving per day.

The hotel is next to the Longhorn Steakhouse, which is one of my favorite restaurants, so it was convient. It's also near some clubs that I enjoy.

The location is about 20 minutes from the Hard Rock Casino in Tampa, 10 minutes from downtown and 10 minutes from the airport, so the location was perfect for what I needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium

Address: 2055 North Dale Mabry Highway, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Hotel Tampa Airport/Stadium consistently provides the kind of comfort, service and hospitality you expect in a hotel for both vacation and business travelers. Free Scheduled shuttle to/from Tampa Int. Airport 5:15am-11pm, which runs every hour. Transportation also available to Port of Tampa, 10 Dollars Per Person each way. Free Continental Breakfast in Lobby 5:30 a.m.-9:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.