We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 W Fortune Street, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #88 of 158 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The restaurant/ bar and food quality was excellent. The customer service by Jackie was very friendly and professional. Will definitely come back and will recommend to my friends and relatives. The food prices are excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    106
    75
    62
    35
See reviews for
91
77
41
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I had problems with my TV and Ron (one of the tech staff) was sent immediately up to my room and, even though it was troublesome, fixed it right away! The staff is really good and I hope they keep up the good work!

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecanto, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My son was having Surgery at Tampa general hospital and I didn't want to drive all the way home then come back so I checked with Tampa general about any Hotel rates around them and was told the rate for Howard Johnson's was $52.00 a night and they had a Shuttle to get me back and forth from the hotel to the Hospital so I called and made the reservation and was told the amount would be $58.00 with tax so I said ok no problem . So I get to Tampa general at 4:00am Friday October 25th for my son's Surgery . And by 4:00pm I was exhausted so I called Howard Johnson's Shuttle to come pick me up so I sat and waited and waited and waited finally an hour and 45 minutes later the Shuttle showed up and took me to the less then nice hotel but I was sooo tired at this time I just wanted to lay down . But holy crap the bed was hard as a rock the pillows where extra firm so no need to say I didn't sleep very well . So at 6:00am Saturday October 26th I checked out and to my surprise the price they charged me was $72.80 what the hell so I called the main office and spoke to them and they had their manager of the Hotel call me . So Tina the hotel manager called me last evening and said you were charged the correct price I told her what I was told about the Hospital Rate and she said sorry but that's your bill that's what you'll pay. . I have stayed at several Howard Johnson and never been lied to and if there was a miss informed price they made it right . Worse Place ever

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here in May earlier this year. Great location downtown Tampa that offers multiple amenities including shuttle services to downtown hot spots. Furnishings were outdated, but clean. We did not have to wait extended times for elevators like some other reviewers mentioned during their renovation period. We also did not have any problems with the college student population. All in all a pleasant stay at a good rate and would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa Downtown
Tampa Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Tampa
Address: 111 W Fortune Street, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown is located adjacent to the David A Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the beautiful Hillsborough River. The hotel is approximately 1 mile from the Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, Tampa Bay Times Forum, Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, and the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals. The Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown offers a complimentary on-demand shuttle service from 7am until 10pm, 7 days a week. Popular Attractions include Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, The Florida Aquarium, and Historic Ybor City. Hotel Amenities Include:- All Non-Smoking Rooms- Onsite Restaurant, WaterWorks Bar & Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.- Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access- Free Local Calls- Business Center- Outdoor Swimming Pool- Onsite Fitness Center- Complimentary Gym Access at Lifestyle Family Fitness- Complimentary Shuttle Service within 2 milesTampa International Airport is only six miles from the Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown to your Saves list