We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 W Fortune Street, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #88 of 158 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Stay!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Myself and 2 of my girlfriends stayed here for a weekend, as we had 2 concerts to see and a hockey game to attend. We wanted to be fairly close to the venue, so we decided to stay here. We booked through Hotwire and got great rates (around 65/night if I remember correctly?). When we arrived, they placed us in a run-down room and the telephone did not work. However, they immediately fixed our problem when we revisited the front desk. They promptly gave us another room that was fabulous. The view is not great because it is a downtown area, and mainly just buildings - but we had a mini fridge, a microwave, 2 beds - it was everything we needed! The main thing that I loved about this hotel was the staff. They were so kind to us - were very informative. Another huge plus is the shuttle service every 15 or 20 minutes. It brought us to each concert and the hockey game and also picked us up if it was not too late. We also ate in the restaurant and it was pretty good if you don't have time to go out anywhere.

Also not far from shopping, etc. Parking is $8/day if I remember, however. But never any problems ... Nice big parking lot.

People complain that it is also a place for college students, but we did not notice anything out of the ordinary except for a few students using the elevator every now and then. Actually made me feel safer due to the amount of pedestrian traffic - even late at night. Also nice is that the security guards are very friendly.

Room Tip: Simply ask for an upgrade and see if anything is available if you are not satisfied with your curren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    106
    75
    62
    35
See reviews for
91
77
41
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I had a fabulous stay at the HoJo!!! The staff was spectacular and very helpful. Rooms were very clean and updated, I was on the 14th floor with a great view of the river. Donvan was a fantastic bartender and he was training Nick they were both very helpful and pleasant! My favorite shuttle driver was Larry he was amazing!!! Anywhere I needed to go or anything I needed to pick up he was always there and with fantastic suggestions on restaurants/bars and even helping me find a backpack! Must stay in Tampa great location and beautiful pool!

Room Tip: 14th floor was the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

From the time you walk into to the time you leave All staff greets you with a smile! They are accomodating, helpful, and friendly! Rooms are CLEAN! Beds are SUPER COMFORTABLE! The Waterworks Bar and Grill has great food and the atmosphere is inviting. The location is unbeatable and convenient! Situated next to the Patel Performing Arts, within walkable distance to restaurants, and amusements (Tampa Aquarium. YBOR city, Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Times Forum, and if you take the train into town...the Amtrak Station is right here!) One of the BEST featurues offered is the shuttle. This hotel will provide transportation to you to any destination within a 2 mile radius AND pick you up as a COURTESY for your stay. Whether it's to attend a Bucs game at Raymond James, catch Depeche Mode at the Forum, or cheer on the Tampa Bay Lightening with friends, I will defnitely be back. Thanks for the great stay Hojos!

Room Tip: I stayed on the 12th floor which was very quiet, my A/C ran cool, and my view was of the Hillsboroug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Rooms very nice. fromt desk nice everyone was nice no matter what area Very clean Has a lobby second to none lot of parking with sevice to local areas. Pool area nice, very nice laundry and gym on second floor

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
Green Features: have signs in room of environmentally telling about saving on laundry the pool had special towels
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great place to stay in downtown Tampa. Easy to get to, right off 275, also easy to get to the beach.
Great staff, Sherri at the front desk was very helpful in finding a place to eat and Larry the shuttle drive took us there.
Our 14th floor room was awesome, recently remodeled and a great view.
Thank you for making our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa Downtown
Tampa Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Tampa
Address: 111 W Fortune Street, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Tampa
#88 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#88 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown is located adjacent to the David A Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the beautiful Hillsborough River. The hotel is approximately 1 mile from the Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, Tampa Bay Times Forum, Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, and the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals. The Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown offers a complimentary on-demand shuttle service from 7am until 10pm, 7 days a week. Popular Attractions include Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, The Florida Aquarium, and Historic Ybor City. Hotel Amenities Include:- All Non-Smoking Rooms- Onsite Restaurant, WaterWorks Bar & Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.- Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access- Free Local Calls- Business Center- Outdoor Swimming Pool- Onsite Fitness Center- Complimentary Gym Access at Lifestyle Family Fitness- Complimentary Shuttle Service within 2 milesTampa International Airport is only six miles from the Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.