We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Straz Center Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 W Fortune Street, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #88 of 158 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Miami
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Straz Center Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

3 1/2 Stars - Stayed at this downtown hotel for a couple of days for work. I was in budget so got a good deal from Hotwire ($58 per night) but you have to factor in the $8 per night parking (with in/out privileges). I hear that this is normal if you stay in Downtown Tampa.

Here are the goods:

1) It's next to Straz Center and walking distance to Tampa University.
2) Free shuttle to Ybor strip and other points of interest. (every 15-30 min)
3) Free PC stations in lobby while waiting for shuttle.
4) Cool bar lounge & restaurant in the lobby.
5) Check in was super fast through friendly agents.
6) Free strong Wifi (good for business travelers)
7) My room had a nice river view (stayed on the 11th floor)
8) Room has standard blow dryer, iron, TV, desk plus fridge and microwave.
9) Laundry facilities and gym on 2nd floor (if you plan to use it)
10) Walking distance to Taps Tampa (Tabas Bar & Beer) http://www.tapswineandbeer.com/

Be aware that this hotel is also used as a dorm by Tampa students but they were all friendly and quiet at night. I actually felt safe coming home at night cause of the student traffic.

The Not So Good:

1) The hotel lobby is renovated. Hallway & room are pretty beat up and dated but overall clean.
2) Only 1 elevator was working during my stay cause the other 2 were being renovated. You can take the stairwell down but you cannot take it going up cause the doors were locked?
3) My room had a musty smell. (I think my room has been vacant for a while). But after housekeeping cleaned on the 2nd day, everything smelled fresh!

I heard they will continue sprucing up the hotel so I would like to see it when it's all done. This is family and student friendly hotel. I actually met some pretty cool students and had a great time hanging at the hotel lobby bar. Being next to Straz is a plus if you are planning to see an event!

Room Tip: Ask for river view room. It's actually nice to wake up looking at the river :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    106
    74
    62
    35
See reviews for
91
77
41
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service from the desk at checkin. Excellent shuttle service to the market and to grab a bite to eat.. Great river view and room placement. My room was cozy, tucked away and quiet. Comfortable bed as well. One Night Only but I was so relaxed and felt catered too! Thanks HoJo Plaza Tampa. See you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I can confirm other review. Some levels are occupied by Tampa University students but they are really keeping quiet at night just keeping elevators busy. Rooms would need some fresh up but for a stop over ok. Car park is charged in addition USD 8.00. Hotel is providing free shuttle to some places in town. otherwise staff was friendly and helpful

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

It was a comfortable room the only thing I didn't like was the fact that I had to search for my room because the number was gone off the wall and I had to pay for parking to stay at my hotel and when you're vacationing on a budget that's not good but the counter rep did work with me but I don't believe I will stay downtown again but overall the stay was great.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We went to a show at the Straz Center - this hotel was in the perfect location. Hotel room was clean and very comfortable. Front desk was very helpful. Had reserved a king room, but the room assigned was a double - they quickly made it right. Used the chaffeur service which took us anyplace we wanted to go in the downtown area at no extra charge. We parked our vehicle and enjoyed Tampa!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa Downtown
Tampa Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Tampa
Address: 111 W Fortune Street, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown is located adjacent to the David A Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the beautiful Hillsborough River. The hotel is approximately 1 mile from the Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, Tampa Bay Times Forum, Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, and the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals. The Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown offers a complimentary on-demand shuttle service from 7am until 10pm, 7 days a week. Popular Attractions include Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, The Florida Aquarium, and Historic Ybor City. Hotel Amenities Include:- All Non-Smoking Rooms- Onsite Restaurant, WaterWorks Bar & Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.- Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access- Free Local Calls- Business Center- Outdoor Swimming Pool- Onsite Fitness Center- Complimentary Gym Access at Lifestyle Family Fitness- Complimentary Shuttle Service within 2 milesTampa International Airport is only six miles from the Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.