We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for any Straz Center event” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk to your Saves list
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 W Fortune Street, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    128
    97
    71
    42
See reviews for
120
86
47
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Superior, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I didn't stay at Howard Johnson's, but I did have drinks and appetizers at the Water Works in the lobby of the hotel prior to a concert at the Straz. I was pleasantly surprised at the variety of drinks and the selection of appetizers. I especially enjoyed the Shock Top beer on tap at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Waterworks bar and grill located in the front of the Howard Johnson Plaza in Downtown Tampa. We are glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Terrible pillows. Sloping sink - appeared to be falling off the wall in the bathroom. Slow elevators.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoleyT, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown-Tampa. I am sorry to hear our pillows were not to your liking, however we do offer alternative pillows by calling any Guest Service Representative and we will have them brought up to you immediately. As we continue our renovations we look forward to another opportunity of a future stay when in the Tampa area.

Sincerely,

Tracy Foley
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South mountain, ON.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hotel was a bit outdated. One elevator was down when we were there and the others made not so comforting noises when working. Room was fine, but old and outdated. Several of the floors are u of Tampa dorm rooms, so there was a constant stream of "youth" walking through the doors - constant smell of cigarette smoke outside because of them. Even though there were patio tables outside there was no place to sit because of these students. The front desk staff was fantastic. Very informative and helpful. The free shuttle service to downtown was great. We were in town for a hockey game and the hotel wasn't a bad walk from the forum.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown Tampa. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Feedback is so essential to our growth as an organization that we truly value the time you took to provide yours. We are constantly making changes here and I hope you will return soon so that you may experience our wonderful changes as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk

Address: 111 W Fortune Street, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#14 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk is located adjacent to the David A Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the beautiful Hillsborough River. The hotel is approximately 1 mile from the Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, Tampa Bay Times Forum, Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, and the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals. The Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown offers a complimentary on-demand shuttle service from 7am until 10pm, 7 days a week. Popular Attractions include Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, The Florida Aquarium, and Historic Ybor City. Hotel Amenities Include:- All Non-Smoking Rooms- Onsite Restaurant, WaterWorks Bar & Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.- Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access- Free Local Calls- Business Center- Outdoor Swimming Pool- Onsite Fitness Center- Complimentary Shuttle Service within 2 miles - Tampa International Airport is only six miles from the Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.