We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD CONVENTION ALTERNATIVE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 W Fortune Street, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #88 of 158 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicagoland
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“GOOD CONVENTION ALTERNATIVE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

OK - it's not the most expensive in Tampa or real close to the Convention Center BUT it has a great shuttle service and I saved a LOT of money staying there instead of the higher-priced hotels near the convention center. You can almost walk the 10 blocks to the Convention Center but why waste time - take their shuttle.

Rooms were clean and EVERYDAY the maid brought in all new soap and shampoo- you never had to call down to the Desk (which is more than I can say for some of the high-end hotels I have stayed at)

Never ate there - we drove to neighborhood restaurants and had great breakfasts and dinners - WaffleHouse is a MUST STOP down there.

Room Tip: Ask for a King Room and make sure you get a Refrigerator and Microwave. Rooms were quiet and even i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoleyT, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown-Tampa on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that our free shuttle service was a great asset to your stay and we hope the next time you are in the Tampa area you will come down and enjoy our WaterWorks Bar & Grill. We look forward to your next trip to Tampa for your lodging needs.


Sincerely,

Tracy Foley
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    106
    74
    62
    35
See reviews for
91
77
41
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

good location for straz - bad restaraunt and there is not where to eat any where close to hotel. room bathroom out dated could be a hazard for some you can not check in until 3:00 oclock not a minute sooner. hotel needs a lot of updating. staff friendly but not on the ball, so do not ask any questions. did not get the type of room i reserved. clerk said we had a king size but when we got to the 14th floor it had two queens. nice view. one elevator was out of order, so it was very slowing getting up and down.

Room Tip: go somewhere else, a/c unit noise is bad. beds a good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORLANDO
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

At the time of my stay, 1 of the 3 elevators were out of service. To access the stairs, you had to go around the outside of the building.
Not all of the basic TV channels worked (ABC was one of them).
Shower/ Tub was clogged but fixed the same day I brought it to the attention of the front desk.
There were some wires rigged together with electrical tape. Thank goodness it was not plugged in anywhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoleyT, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown-Tampa on TripAdvisor. We are currently renovating many areas of the hotel and the elevators are part of those updates. We do apologize for the inconvenience this may cause any of our guest's stay at our property. I am glad we were able to resolve the shower/tub that was clogged in a timely manner. We strive to provide the accommodations and service to all our guests. As we have continued our renovations we apologize that we overlooked any wiring that was no longer in use and will have addressed immediately. Thank you for sharing your stay and we look forward to your return in the future.

Sincerely,

Tracy Foley
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown

Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa Downtown
Tampa Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Tampa
Address: 111 W Fortune Street, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown is located adjacent to the David A Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the beautiful Hillsborough River. The hotel is approximately 1 mile from the Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, Tampa Bay Times Forum, Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, and the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals. The Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown offers a complimentary on-demand shuttle service from 7am until 10pm, 7 days a week. Popular Attractions include Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, The Florida Aquarium, and Historic Ybor City. Hotel Amenities Include:- All Non-Smoking Rooms- Onsite Restaurant, WaterWorks Bar & Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.- Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access- Free Local Calls- Business Center- Outdoor Swimming Pool- Onsite Fitness Center- Complimentary Gym Access at Lifestyle Family Fitness- Complimentary Shuttle Service within 2 milesTampa International Airport is only six miles from the Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.