We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A needle in a Tampa haystack.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4817 West Laurel Street, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #68 of 158 hotels in Tampa
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A needle in a Tampa haystack.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Unlike some of the other reviewers, we were very impressed with the hotel from the moment we arrived (9.00 am from a cruise) with a welcoming greeting from Jennifer who stored our bags until a room was ready. When we arrived a really excellent free breakfast buffet was available and most welcome as we missed our breakfast earlier. The room was quiet and well laid out, the bathroom clean and well supplied. Of special value was the free shuttle to/from the airport (on the half hour 24 hours a day) / ship terminal / local malls and local Walmart. The staff was very attentive to our needs and we would most certainly return there when we next visit Tampa. We were also able to weigh our bags before leaving for the airport which is very reassuring to avoid surprise "overweight" charges.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn Tampa Airport Westshore! We really appreciate the positive feedback on our Hotel. We are looking forward to your next visit to the Tampa/Westshore area and welcoming you back to the Hampton Inn Tampa Airport!

Kindest Regards,

Paul Perez
paul.perez4@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    74
    61
    27
    12
See reviews for
54
81
21
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is all around horrible.

The room we booked was unavailable, so the stay didn't start off well. The rooms are small, there was some indication that this room had a leak previously and no one bothered to fix the wall. The ceiling in the bathroom was disgusting, it had several brown marks, it clearly needs to be painted..!!!

The pool was very dirty and had a film of something on the top of it. When we came back later that evening you could really see how disgusting the pool area was and the film in the pool. I'm glad none of us used it..!!!

The manager is also uncaring and not very nice at all, he is just looking to make the hotel $$$$$. He doesn't care if you have an issue or not, he is bottom line driven.

Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
First and foremost, I would like to thank you for staying with us and giving us your feedback in our Hotel. I do want to apologize for the condition of the room. I will be reviewing this with our Maintainance Staff to find out what was wrong and why the room was in the condition it was. We value our guest and believe they derserve the best when staying with us!

As far as the pool, it is cleaned every morning and evening. I am not quite sure what could have caused the film. I will look into the probable causes, whether it is due to the high pollen count we have had in our area or other causes.

Again, I do want to thank you for staying with us and would be delighted if you would give us another try.

Kindest Regards,

Paul Perez
paul.perez4@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I disliked practically everything about this hotel while I was there. The only positive thing I could say is that the breakfast lady was friendly and warm. The breakfast however was terrible compared to other Hampton level hotels in the area.

I ended up checking out 10 days into a 3 week trip and moving over to the Residence Inn.

The rooms were smallish compared to other Hamptons, including the one I stayed out in downtown Chicago.

There are plenty of other options in the area to try before this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I apologize that you were disappointed with your stay. We want our breakfast items to be something you set your alarm to. This is definitely something we will be reviewing with our team. We will pass the kind words onto Maria, our breakfast attendant. She is a wonderful asset to our Team.
We'd love to hear about any other suggestions you have that would make us your number one hotel choice. Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience so I can discuss your feedback in greater detail.

Kindest Regards,

Paul Perez
paul.perez4@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

my husband and i stayed at this hotel for one night prior to a cruise. because we did not get the park and ride cruise package, we were not allowed to ride the hotel transportation unless we paid an extra $20 pp. instead, we used the city buses and paid $2.00 each. i was disappointed because the hotel pool was unheated and unusable when we stayed in february, 2013. the exercise room was small with little equipment, but did look clean. we walked to the shore from the hotel and ran along the water's edge. the hotel had a very nice breakfast buffet with plenty of fruit, coffee, breads, waffles, eggs, and cereal. this is at the lower end of the hampton hotels as far as rooms and amenities are concerned but was clean and safe.

Room Tip: this hotel is ok and all rooms appear to be adequate. it does not bill itself as a luxury hotel nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay!
We are always looking for ways to improve our service for our most valued guest. We are currently in the works for updating our fitness center to the new "jump start" fitness by Hampton. We are also looking to install a heater for swimming pool in the next year or so.
We can't wait for you to come back and stay with us after we have made these few modifications. We know you will be impressed.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have you stay with us again in the future!

Kindest Regards,

Paul Perez
paul.perez4@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was lucky enough to have a higher floor (I did ask for highest but not available) and got a sunset view this trip as a bonus (west side, I will ask again for this.) My room was very quiet, it's a good location for less traffic noise than a lot of hotels in the area, especially if sitting outside at the pool. I have been in a lot of hotels/motels where the guests are noisy/messy, this was not the case here at all, so very pleased, aside from a bit of door banging which happens everywhere...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our Hotel! We are all about guest satisfaction.

We are looking forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!


Kindest Regards,

Paul Perez
paul.perez4@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel is convenient to the airport, was clean & the breakfast had a good variety of hot (scrambled eggs) and cold foods (even skim milk). The front desk clerk printed our boarding passes! Free internet in room. We had a rental car and could park there for free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!

Thank you,

Paul Perez, General Manager
paul.perez4@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanville, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed two nights before and after a cruise. We arrived at TPA after midnight and called for the shuttle. Even at the late hour the shuttle was prompt and the driver friendly and courteous. Reception at the hotel was quick and we were in our room within ten minutes of arrival. The room was clean and in good repair. The following day the shuttle took us to the Westshore Mall for shopping, but when we called for pickup the driver never arrived and we ended up catching a taxi back to the hotel. We asked at the desk about the shuttle and was told that it had gone to the cruise terminal and apologized for our pickup being delayed. This was only a minor inconvenience and the taxi fare was about what we would have tipped the shuttle driver. Our stay after our cruise was good with another clean room and trips via shuttle to the mall without incident. Breakfast is included, however we only used it one time. It was okay, about what we expected. The entire staff was always outgoing and seemed eager to please. I would stay here on future visits to Tampa.

Room Tip: There are six floors. Ask for a lower floor room, the elevators are very slooow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor! We appreicate your business. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay wonderful!

We are looking forward to having your stay with us in the near future!

Kindest Regards,

Paul Perez, General Manager
paul.perez4@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore Hotel Tampa
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore Hotel
Hampton Inn Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn
Address: 4817 West Laurel Street, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 158 hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Hampton Inn Tampa-International Airport/Westshore. Our modern airport hotel in Tampa, Florida is conveniently located in the Westshore Business District next to the International Airport (TPA) with free 24-hour airport shuttle service, free WiFi and free hot breakfast.Explore the Westshore Tampa area with many dining, shopping and nightlife options all within a few miles of our Tampa International Airport hotel. Cheer for your favorite team at Raymond James Stadium just 3 miles away or the Tampa Bay Times Forum just 6 miles away.Our hotel is the perfect place for business or pleasure with a fully equipped business center with fax, printing and photocopying access, swimming pool and onsite fitness center. Attend a conference at the Tampa Convention Center is only six miles from the hotel. Host your entire group from sports teams to reunions in our 133 room hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.