We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families with teenagers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3705 Spectrum Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Falcon's Fury Package
Ranked #14 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for families with teenagers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

When you walk into the Embassy Suites Hotel you see the beautiful scenery of the water falls and the artificial plants. But you couldn’t tell that they were fake. Also off of the lobby there is a business office where you can get internet access. Another attraction off the lobby is a little gift shop, with gum and snacks for the plane, magazines, post cards, stuffed animals, pencils, snow globes, and beverages. When you’re at the front desk the employees working there are very nice. I can see why they call it southern hospitality. When you get your room key you can go up to the floor you’re on in the glass elevators. When you get to your room you walk in to a nice living area with a pull out couch fit for two, a dining table, and a little wet bar. (mini fridge, microwave, sink and counter space). To the left of the wet bar there is a bathroom consisting of a shower, toilet, sink with counter space, clothes hanger and a towel rack. Then you walk into the bedroom with a queen-sized bed, closet, and a television. There is also a big window. Other accommodations in the hotel are a pool with beach chairs, tables, and a whirlpool. There is also a game room and an exercise room with tv’s on the machines. And now everybody's favorite- the food! The breakfast is wonderful-so many choices including everyday omelet bar, cereal, oatmeal, muffins, cinnamon buns, pancakes, and fruit. For lunch or dinner you can go to the hotel’s restaurant for a fee and every night from 4:00-7:00 there is a manager’s reception with free snacks and beverages. I had five shirley temples for dinner and didn’t get kicked out. The only fee that you get charged for is if you choose to eat at the restaurant in the hotel. But it’s not very expensive.

My opinion about the Embassy Suites is that it is a nice place to stay for business and/or vacation. Some low points were the interior design because it was out dated and the second time I stayed there it wasn’t as clean as the first visit. The rooms were clean but some of the common areas were not so clean. For example, there were dirty dishes in the elevator and the garbage was overflowing in the trash cans in the hallways. Some of the high points were the location because it is located right next to Busch Gardens, Adventure Island Water Park, USF Sun Dome and the University Mall. There were also free shuttles to Busch Gardens and Adventure Island so you didn’t have to pay to park. Some other high points were the food, so many choices, the staff, so nice, and the lobby which felt like a rain forest. The rooms were fabulous because looking out of the window you could see the sun dome and one of the rides at Adventure Island. Amenities, such as the pool, whirl pool, game room and exercise room, were also a nice touch because you were never bored. Another high point was the accessibility to the Tampa Airport, because it only took about 30 minutes to get there and it was straight off the highway.

I would give this hotel a 8 out of 10 because of the great service, the location, and the amazing food. I couldn’t give it the full 10 because of the out dated rooms and the lack of cleanliness on the second visit. I would compare this hotel to a Homewood suites because of the room space. They both have mini kitchens and two separate rooms with a pull out couch. If you like the Homewood suites you would love the Embassy. I would recommend this hotel to a family with children 10 and older because if you’re younger there isn’t really anything for you to do. (ex. no playground or nursery). The overall rate for one person staying in a two suite room with a king size bed and a pull out couch is about $150.00 a night.

This is a very good hotel to stay in if you’re on vacation or on a business trip. It is good for any occasion.
Maeve
10/13/10

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    175
    66
    39
    10
See reviews for
229
49
28
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We like to stay in Embassy Suites for the extra room and nice breakfast. This Embassy Suites is not one of their better ones. The rooms are in need of an update and had a musty smell. We tried the restaurant and the food was poor and service was extremely slow. I tried the business center and one of the two computers wasn't working.
We took the shuttle to Busch Gardens. The driver stayed in his seat while we unloaded 2 strollers and 2 young kids.
There is a nice Wingate By Wyndham across the street that also offers a free shuttle to Busch Gardens. It was updated last year, we recommend staying there for Busch Gardens and USF.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples, florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I am a Silver Member (frequent customer), so I was SHOCKED when I attempted to modify my reservations 10 days in advance of my intended stay, and was told that this was IMPOSSIBLE because the hotel was sold out. This policy was not explained when I called the reservation line and booked my stay, but was (supposedly) in fine print in the e-mail confirmation of my booking. In spite of the fact that I was unable to arrive for the first night of my three night stay, I had to pay for that night, because I was not allowed to cancel that night, and book (rebook) the remaining two nights. I have never heard of this policy at any hotel I have ever patronized - especially for a frequent visitor on government business! So - BEWARE of this policy when booking advance reservations!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

This hotel is dirty, unkept, and gives the Embassy Suites/Hiltons a really bad name, We've stayerd in nicer Motel 6. We checked in late night (driving in from Savannah, GA) and the front desk was rude...gave us a room w/ bugs all over the place, a/c that was noisy & dripping, and the room was also dirty & musty. The room & entire hotel gave me a bad taste in my mouth. We automatically took our baggage back to the car and checked out. It was midnight and called Hilton to tell them our dilemma and help us find another room in the area...they couldn't careless. Needless to say we found a decent room w/ Marriott a couple of miles away. Honestly, We would have rather slept in our car or a bus bench than spend one second in the Embassy Suites. Stay away!!!.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We have Diamond Member status, so we shudder to think what other guests must be experiencing, if we were treated as shabbily as we were. The room was filled with a musty smell. The AC didn't work well and was dripping. Bathtub was filthy with previous guests' (black) hair. The refrigerator didn't work and freezer was caked with ice. Worst was that we had to rekey the room umpteen times to the point where one of our guests was unable to get into the room and sat outside for 1.5 hours waiting for one of us to return to the room. Elevators took a long time and when they did arrive, they were full to the extent that we had to wait for 3-4 elevators before we could actually get on one. Hotel is overpriced especially given the awful service and quality.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

This was a large touristy hotel near USF and Busch Gardens. Rooms overlooked atrium which included bar and restaurants. Pretty noisy in general. Not all elevators working. Room has refrigerator, large TV, free w-fi, good supply of towels and hot water. Check-in was slow with only one person to handle large crowd. Free parking but not enough when hotel is full and areas of parking lot not well lighted. Better hotel choices nearby.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

We chose this hotel in an effort to be as close to Busch Gardens as possible. We love this hotel chain due to its free manager's reception and made to order breakfast. Unfortunately, the breakfast was horrible. (How they were able to mess up scrambled eggs is beyond me.) The designated eating area was too small for the amount of patrons and the quality was below those of other locations we have frequented. We also love the one room suite set up. This particular location was a bit on the small size lobby-wise and housekeeping left a lot to be desired but you couldn't beat the location or the price ($109 w/AAA). We have two young children so we figured that proximity was key due to their afternoon nap times and gave us the option of returning to the park for the nighttime activities. They offer free parking and a shuttle to the park. On a positive note--they do have room service with a Pizza Hut option that was more than reasonable. The kids fell asleep so we ordered in and even got to witness a lobby wedding from our floor. It seemed pretty kid friendly...we didn't have to stress over the kids being too noisy or rambunctious. All in all...it was nice...nothing outstanding. There was a Wingate and a La Quinta Inn across the street that we may try next time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens

Address: 3705 Spectrum Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tampa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#18 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Tampa- USF/Near Busch Gardens is located less than 2 miles from major Tampa attractions including Busch Gardens, University of South Florida and the Museum of Science and Industry (MOSI). Our guests start their day with a free made-to-order breakfast and end the evening with our complimentary Evening Reception with snacks and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa
Embassy Busch Gardens Suites
Tampa Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.