We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night sleep and felt like part of the hotel family...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3705 Spectrum Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Howl-O-Scream 2014
Ranked #15 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
1 review
“Great night sleep and felt like part of the hotel family...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The hotel located in north Tampa within USF campus is a great find and value. Not only is their team very hospitable, they go the extra mile. I witnessed their Director of Sales, Joyce Turner, not only greet guests at the front desk, but check them into their rooms, call for transportation, help them to the elevator and provide hugs. Truly a team approach to everything.

As for sleeping... the rooms are suites so you have room to move around and then some and not only are their beds cozy and comfortable... their room service is awesome. There is much talent within this hotel.

If you find yourself up in north Tampa and want to find a great hotel - Embassy Suites USF is the perfect place.

Room Tip: away from the elevator banks and usually quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear dlk05,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us a 5 star review!

We are proud of Joyce and our entire team and I will share your comments with them.

Thank you again for the review and the positive comments.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    185
    72
    39
    10
See reviews for
239
50
30
262
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Nice complimentary breakfast (but the pancakes & waffles appeared to be frozen microwave type & not freshly made in the kitchen), but go early as later times present with large crowds. Some décor was worn, but clean. Front desk (D. from Brooklyn), housekeeping, and kitchen staff (especially Gloria) were great. Hotel was filled with sports teams, and some kind of convention, but overall did not seem to present any problems. I had sixth floor room that was quiet. I had a view of the campus and not the amusement park. The sheets were thin and paper-like noisy. I am all for saving money for light bulbs, but several appeared to be either burnt-out or the light switches were not hooked up to anything. The refrigerator temp control knob was totally broken off (but did keep my things cool) and was unbalanced as all my cans would roll out when the door was opened. Nice shuttle service. Hotel located in quiet neighborhood. I used my own Wi-fi hot spot.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear nittanylionctr,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us a review.

We are proud of Dalis and Gloria and I will share your comments with them.

Thank you again for the review and the detailed feedback. I will use your comments to make us better.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I use ES for hosting our corporate guests. The Sales staff, Jennifer Grawunde in particular, is amazing to work with. The overall staff are great to work with. We have had several times when guests have either changed plans or shown up unexpectedly and ES is always able to assist us. Their shuttle has saved us several times when we are in a pinch due to weather. I would recommend this ES location to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear evelnadj,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us a 5 star review!

We are proud of Jennifer and our entire team and I will share your comments with them.

Thank you again for the review and the positive comments.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I hosted an event at the USF gym and our players stayed at the Embassy suites. The staff went above and beyond to make the stay A+!! Jennifer and her staff were very helpful and nice. We felt like we were at home. Although it was not part of our contract the shuttle took a few players back and forth from the gym (it turned out to be a pretty long walk and there was a lot of rain that weekend) it was so thoughtful and everyone really appreciated them doing that for us! I will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear juldinda,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us a 5 star review!

We are proud of Jennifer and our entire team and I will share your comments with them.

Thank you again for the review and the positive comments.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Hotel: This is a very nice embassy suite, the rooms are well appointed and kept clean. The bed was comfortable in the King room we had. Had a air conditioning rattle when the system turned on the first night and maintenance came and fixed it that morning that I reported it and left a note. Did I mention it was Sunday morning?
The public areas are decorated nicely. The breakfast / refreshment area is well designed and handles a moderate crowd.

The reservations: We were part of a room block that was set up through their sales manager Jennifer. the reservation process went smoothly for the group and everything was well taken care of. All questions were answered as we went through the group reservation process to our satisfaction.

I would stay here again when I travel to this area. It is a good hotel for families and for business travel .

Room Tip: Busch gardens fireworks can be seen from south facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear laptopjob,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us a 5 star review!

We are proud of Jennifer and our entire team and I will share your comments with them.

Thank you again for the review and the positive comments.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I stayed for 8 nights this summer while on business. The staff and management is clearly focused on customer service. The room was clean, the breakfast and hospitality faire was excellent and varied, and my cabs were always waiting. My only complaint would be that a couple of the machines in the workout room were in disrepair.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear S B,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us a 5 star review!

We are proud of our entire team and I will share your comments with them.

Thank you again for the review and for the feedback regarding our fitness equipment.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is an older Embassy Suites that needs to be renovated/updated or modernized. Not worth the added expense to rent a room on the premium floor because they vending options are poor and very limited. I would recommend staying at the Embassy Suites in Downtown Tampa instead of this location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Ericam776,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us a review.

I am sorry you were not happy with our premium floor as well as the decor of the hotel.

I hope you would give us another chance and choose us again.

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens

Address: 3705 Spectrum Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Tampa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#17 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Tampa- USF/Near Busch Gardens is located less than 2 miles from major Tampa attractions including Busch Gardens, University of South Florida and the Museum of Science and Industry (MOSI). Our guests start their day with a free made-to-order breakfast and end the evening with our complimentary Evening Reception with snacks and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa
Embassy Busch Gardens Suites
Tampa Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.