We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old & Musty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3705 Spectrum Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Howl-O-Scream 2014
Ranked #14 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
South East
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Old & Musty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great staff - but not much to work with.
I stayed at this property beginning 15 years ago and it was top notch. Then again about ten years ago with no changes. Little has changed since then - literally, except for a lobby remodel.
The musty odor on the room was overpowering & the A/C set to 65 degrees did little to ameliorate it.
The rooms are in poor shape. they really need to be stripped bare, treated for mold & mildew and modernized & brightened up.
The overall Embassy Suites concept would still work.
NOT GOING BACK anytime soon.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay.

We pride ourselves on our product, service and our location. I am glad you shared with me your experience as it relates to the A/C and suite condition. I will share with my team so we can research solutions to both.

Please contact me directly if your travels take you here so I can personally thank you for your business and attend to your next reservation.

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    177
    68
    39
    10
See reviews for
234
49
29
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I've had three visits and will be going back for a 4th next week. This property lives up to what Embassy Suites should be. Clean, well-maintained with friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast and manager's reception are as they should be. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Parking lot is arranged reasonably well, so even parking in the last row is still not far to walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the positive comments regarding your stay. I enjoyed reading your review.

We pride ourselves on our product and service and our location.

Please contact me directly if your travels take you here so I can personally thank you for your business.

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a small group meeting at USF. Jennifer in group sales set us up with a very good rate and the hotel was really perfect. Clean, large rooms, friendly, loads of amenities, especially breakfast. They also have a shuttle van and are very convenient to the campus and medical center.

Room Tip: All suites, excellent value and great work spaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the positive comments regarding your stay.

Thank you also for taking the time to mention Jennifer. I will share your comments with her.

Please contact me directly if your travels take you here so I can personally thank you for your business.

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

First time at this hotel and Moffitt. Room very comfortable and staff very accommadating to your needs. The shuttle staff was great to Moffitt. Ermy Rosales in reservations went out of her way to help me with several issues. We will be back in November. Jason was at front desk.and helpful. Barbara B

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the positive comments regarding your stay. Thank you for identifying Ermy and Jason. I enjoyed reading your review.

We pride ourselves on our product and service and our location.

Please contact me directly if your travels take you here so I can personally thank you for your business.

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I attended the Paralyzed Veterans of America's Annual Banquet on 9/21/13 at this hotel. The event was held in one of the hotel ballrooms, and was very well staffed. One server in particular, Yensu Monsanto, attended our table - she was exceptional. The guests for the most part were para and quadriplegics who required extra care in many instances, e.g. help with cutting meat, reaching for condiments, etc. She was very kind and helpful, also seemed to know what was needed for each guest, and did each task with a smile and pleasant attitude that put everyone at ease. I asked her name, and to speak to her supervisor, Steve Amatrning. He was also charming and gracious, and advised me to use this forum to share my impressions.
This was obviously a well trained, courteous, efficient and impressive staff. - I've attended numerous events throughout this country, and abroad, and am not easily impressed, but I found this staff especially thoughtful and kind.
I sincerely hope they will be recognized for their efforts, and encouraged to help train new recruits in their outstanding brand of customer service.
R. L. Hill
Tampa, FL

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the positive comments regarding your stay.

Thank you also for taking the time to mention Yensu and Steve. I will share your comments with them.

Please contact me directly if your travels take you here so I can personally thank you for your business.

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My company held a seminar at this hotel. The room was comfortable, lunch was wonderful and the staff was friendly and very helpful. Lunch was served in the beautiful garden atrium. We will definitely use this venue again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the positive comments regarding your stay. I enjoyed reading about how our staff was friendly and helpful.

We pride ourselves on our product and service and our location.

Please contact me directly if your travels take you here so I can personally thank you for your business.

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have visited this area numerous times this year. I was very lucky to find this hotel. Not just because of its location, because the staff is very friendly and helpful, I truly enjoy the inside garden with its waterfall and the rooms are very spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the positive comments regarding your stay. I especially like reading about how our staff was friendly and helpful.

We pride ourselves on our product and service and our location.

Please contact me directly if your travels take you here so I can personally thank you for your business.

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens

Address: 3705 Spectrum Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tampa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#16 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Tampa- USF/Near Busch Gardens is located less than 2 miles from major Tampa attractions including Busch Gardens, University of South Florida and the Museum of Science and Industry (MOSI). Our guests start their day with a free made-to-order breakfast and end the evening with our complimentary Evening Reception with snacks and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa
Embassy Busch Gardens Suites
Tampa Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;