We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3705 Spectrum Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Howl-O-Scream 2014
Ranked #14 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Had another great stay at ES Busch Gardens. All the staff were great and of course breakfast and manager reception. Had a chance to get a sandwich at restaurant - very good. Clean rooms with lots of space.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay.

We pride ourselves on our product and service. Thank you for your great comments.

Please contact me directly if your travels take you here again so I can personally introduce myself and thank you for your business.

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    177
    68
    39
    10
See reviews for
234
49
29
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked this place as a last minute choice only after getting to Tampa. The hotel didn't look that great from outside, but excellent from inside. I liked the layout of this hotel as it looked more like a large ship atmosphere from inside. We booked a 2 room Master Suite and it was spacious enough for a family of 5 (3 adults + 2 kids). You need to pay for WIFI (costs about $10 for 1 device), thought a bit expensive as other hotels in that area provided them for Free. The bathroom was very clean however looked a bit run-down.

Pros
- Cleanliness
- Great Free HOT breakfast - reminded me of cruising (well, somewhat)
- Large Master Suite
- Surprised by their free happy-hour in the evening

Cons
- Bathroom, a bit run-down and old (but very clean)
- No free wifi

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay.

We know we are not the newest hotel in the area (the hotel was built in 1998) however we pride ourselves on giving great guest service and delivering great amenities.

Please contact me directly if your travels take you here again so that I and our management team can make your next stay even better than this one.

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was scheduled to stay here from August 18-21, 2013. The room was somewhat dated. The room smelled of old stale water or something when we first walked in. The décor was not good at all. I felt like I was in the mid 1980's. Check-in was horrible. I arrived at about midnight. There were 4 customers waiting to check in . There was only 1 person checking us in. There was clearly a problem with the first person's credit card. However, the manager just stood around with his hand on his hip. I was thinking, come on dude, it's midnight, help her out!! We waited for ever b/c the guy would not help out. I checked out the next morning and went to the Hyatt down the street.

Room Tip: With the room smelling like old sitting water, I was afraid that there might be mold somewhere. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay.

We know we are not the newest hotel (the property was built in 1998), however, we pride ourselves on our product and service. I will be sharing your comments with our management team to make sure we treat this issue as we do not want another guest to encounter a similar arrival experience.

Please contact me directly if your travels take you here so I can personally attend to your reservation.

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We checked in on Friday and check out on Sunday. Don't pay for the premium upgrade. The extra money doesn't really get you anything. The beverage/snack center was always empty. The staff was very accommodating and the hotel was conveniently located. I did enjoy the hotel transportation to and from Busch Gardens. Vast breakfast selection for complimentary breakfast. The weekend I went was very crowded. The staff did well to accommodate everyone. As usual, there are folks that take advantage of complimentary amenities. I would recommend Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for the feedback regarding your stay.

We pride ourselves on our product and service. I will be sharing your comments with our management team to make sure we treat this issue as we do not want another guest to encounter a similar experience

Please contact me directly if your travels take you here so that you will have an opportunity for us to show you how the premium upgrade should be experienced.

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Staff was very nice and friendly. Rooms were clean and newer compared to some other ES. Traveled with 6 and 7 year old kids. It was a great place to stay while visiting Busch gardens. They had shuttles to and from the parks. They would drop you off at the gates, and when you called for a return ride, they were there in 10 minutes or less. Pool was nice also. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments.

Please contact me directly if your travels take you here so I can personally thank you for your business.

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great service and location, right down the road from Busch Gardens, but woke up in the middle of the night to go to the restroom only to be met by several roaches in the bathroom and living room areas! I am still shocked as I always thought of Embassy Suites as having a pretty good reputation. I can't stay again, the rates are a bit too steep to have to deal with roaches.

Room Tip: Stay away from the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for the feedback regarding your stay.

We pride ourselves not only on our product and our service but on our cleanliness. I will be sharing your comments with our management team to make sure we treat this issue as we do not want another guest to encounter a similar experience.

Please contact me directly if your travels take you here so that you will have an opportunity for us to show you a great experience.

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for a week at the beginning of July with our 3 children. We regularly stay in Embassy Suites when visiting USA but on reading poor reviews of this hotel, we opted for the much higher rated Wingate in Tampa instead. We were most disappointed that when we arrived to check in we discovered that we were misled with the price of our room and along with the very poor attitude of the manager we promptly left. Thankfully we went across the road to Embassy Suites. Immediately on our arrival at the hotel we knew we had made the right decision. The entrance and large atrium were most welcoming. The staff were superb and always most helpful. The breakfasts were excellent with a great range for all the family. We ate dinner most evenings in the hotel. The kids loved the Pizza Hut and there was a good variety of other dishes on offer. The shuttle bus to Busch Gardens was great, prompt and very reliable. We would most definitely stay again and please don't be like us and be put off by some of the poor comments. Thank you Embassy Suites, we had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSelvaggi, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the positive comments regarding your stay. You made the right decision!

We pride ourselves on our product and service.

I will be sharing your comments with our management team to make sure I applaud their efforts.

Please contact me directly if your travels take you here so I can personally thank you for your business.

Thank you.

Scott Selvaggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens

Address: 3705 Spectrum Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tampa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#16 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Tampa- USF/Near Busch Gardens is located less than 2 miles from major Tampa attractions including Busch Gardens, University of South Florida and the Museum of Science and Industry (MOSI). Our guests start their day with a free made-to-order breakfast and end the evening with our complimentary Evening Reception with snacks and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa
Embassy Busch Gardens Suites
Tampa Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;