We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convienient but poor housekeeping staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3705 Spectrum Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tampa Bay City Pass
Ranked #17 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean, convienient but poor housekeeping staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My family of 5 stayed here about 2 weeks ago for three nights. Each night we had to call down for additional towels, because they failed to put enough in the room. One night I called failed to bring them that night. So, I called the next morning and they assured me the towels would be there shortly. After 30 minutes, I called again and finally, someone brought the towels about 10 minutes later.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Stephen C,
Thank You for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I apologize for the lack of service recieving towels to your room. I have addressed this with the staff to improve and make sure there are plenty of towels in the rooms when guest arrive. Again thank you and hope you return to the hotel on your next trip to Tampa.

Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    247
    107
    54
    23
See reviews for
356
83
40
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our time at the Embassy Suites USF; excellent location near to many restaurants and attractions. The room was comfortable and clean. For breakfast try to go early because gets crazy and busy at 8:30. And for sure we will come back again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear 3LM,
Thank You for commenting on your recent stay. It was nice to read how you enjoyed the hotel service, cleanliness and location. I was also pleased that you will return on your next trip to the area.
Again thank you and looking forward to your return.

Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a friendly welcome we were given at the Registration desk for this, our first visit to Embassy Suites in Tampa. Our room with a King-sized bed was spacious and immaculate We arrived on Saturday afternoon and were told about the Manager's Cocktail reception. Thinking it would be just beer and wine, we were pleasantly surprised to be able to order martinis and partake of the several snacks that were put out. The next morning we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast (the coffee was just ok but the food was quite good) before heading home. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear cruzluvers,
Than You I was pleased to read how you enjoyed the hotel from the time you checked in. I have shared these great comments with the team and hope you return to the hotel soon when visiting Tampa.
Thank You and hope to see you soon.

Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location of this property is very convenient if planning to visit Busch Gardens. For those with kids there is an outstanding kid’s museum located less than three miles from the property as well. The hotel shows it age in the guest rooms, but is very well maintained and clean. In summary our family had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Jeff B,
Thank You for taking the time to write those nice comments about my hotel. I was pleased that you enjoyed the amenities, service and great location to Busch Gardens we have to offer. I hope on your next trip to Tampa you stay with us again.
Thank You

Larry Cooper

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hialeah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

After a fiasco at the Holiday Inn Express, the person on duty was able to squeeze me in and gave me a killer price as well. It was 0200 in the morning and everything was booked but he made it work and saved my weekend birthday trip for me.

They offer free breakfast with cook to order. They also had happy hour with free drinks, had several screwdrivers that afternoon. The shuttle service was prompt and they pretty much take you anywhere within a 5 miles radius. This location is inside USF so it's very safe. The pool was heated and the staff was helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear JX1,
Thank You for commenting on your the service you recieved while at my hotel. I was pleased that the associate was able to help and save your birthday weekend. Again Thank You and hope you stay with again soon.

Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a really nice hotel to stay at if you are going to Busch Gardens. There shuttle runs constantly so no need to drive to the park. The accommodations were great and the staff was very friendly. We did not partake in the complimentary breakfast so I am not sure how that was but the in suite dining was great. Lots of restaurants near by as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear flutterbyelife,
Thank You for the positive comments about the hotel. I was pleased that you enjoyed the free shuttle to Busch Gardens and the friendly service. You will have to return and enjoy our fabulous breakfast in the mornings. Again thank you and hope you return to the hotel on your next trip to Tampa.

Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel while visiting the Tampa area. Overall, there were a few flaws, but in general, the hotel provided a decent place to stay.

The hotel rooms themselves are very standard, as are most Embassy Suites rooms. There are two double beds and a double sleeper sofa. There is a moderately sized table in the front room. Because the suite is split into two separate rooms, there are also two televisions. A microwave and mini fridge as well as a wet bar are customary for this chain. The bathroom stands as a typical hotel bathroom with a single sink and a shower. The room seemed slightly outdated and the small window provided little natural light. The bathroom was somewhat dirty and the shower curtain did not fit the rod properly. On the first night, those who slept in the front room complained of elevator noise which was peculiar as our room was on the opposite side of the atrium. We were, however, located next to an "employees only" door so a service elevator could have been the source of the problem. The worst part of the rooms is the air conditioner. The system roars while it is on, but without it, the rooms become stuffy. After fiddling with the thermostat for half an hour, we gave up. All of these are just minor complaints.

The facility itself is decent. The atrium is very nice with a waterfall and little creeks. The pool area is sufficient, although the pool water was quite cold despite being "heated." The breakfast area itself is smaller than other Embassy Suites I have stayed at and can become very over crowded in the morning. The hotel is located very close to Busch Gardens which was great for a visiting family.

If this hotel has a major draw back, it becomes clear in the service. The check in at the front desk was smooth and there are no complaints with that. On our first night, we called for four extra pillows for the sofa bed and two more towels. After about a 40 minute wait, we received two pillows and two blankets, no towels to be found. It was fairly late in the evening so we let the mishap slide. The breakfast service is okay for being complementary. Bland pancakes, chewy waffles, powder eggs, and some fruit make up the majority of the breakfast bar. The crown jewels of the service are the cooked to order omelets. The toast station provided a toaster that did nothing but burn any bread put into it. Often times, the food was not replenished fast enough for the growing crowd. At one point, the silverware was empty for over 30 minutes. Upon asking a woman refilling the doughnut tray if there was any silverware, the woman snapped back "I don't work on the floor," and proceeded to ignore the requests of the guests.

In summary, the hotel could use some improvement, but served its purpose as a two night rest stop.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear CleatChaser13,
Thak You for sharing your experience while at the hotel. I have shared these comments with the team to correct the issues with the service and a/c noise. We value your comments as they help us to improve in the future, I hope on your next trip to Tampa you choose to stay with us again.
Thank You
Larry Cooper

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens

Address: 3705 Spectrum Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#15 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Tampa- USF/Near Busch Gardens is located less than 2 miles from major Tampa attractions including Busch Gardens, University of South Florida and the Museum of Science and Industry (MOSI). Our guests start their day with a free made-to-order breakfast and end the evening with our complimentary Evening Reception with snacks and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa
Embassy Busch Gardens Suites
Tampa Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.