We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall - OK!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3705 Spectrum Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Falcon's Fury Package
Ranked #16 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Overall - OK!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

After reading all the bad reviews, I didn't expect much from this hotel. My hubby and I stayed overnight at this hotel. The room was huge and clean, the bed was comfy, and the complimentary breakfast was decent. I would have to admit that some items need to be replaced (found stains on the shower curtain). Location was great, very close to Busch Gardens which was the main objective of our trip. Overall I'd say that this hotel is OK. Good place to stay if you get the room at a discounted rate ;)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Ellesor0709,
Thank you for teh comments on your visit. I am pleased you liked the size of the rooms and the breakfast. The location is great when going to Busch Gardens or around USF. Hope on your next Busch Gardens trip you stay with us again.
Thank You

Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    343
    173
    65
    39
    11
See reviews for
226
46
29
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Very noisy, kids run free all over place at all hours. Staff ignored the noise and kids even after complaints. Even in the bedroom with doors closed the noise would wake us up at all hours. Staff at the complimentary breakfast rude and lazy. Buffet line would be missing items for a long time while staff stood around talking. Took half hour and two requests to get syrup and milk refilled.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear yummytummyfl
Thank You for responding about your recent stay at my hotel. I apologize for the noise from the children in the hotel. Also the breakfast staff not being up to the expected level. I have brought these items to the attention of the management team to improve. I hope on your next visit to Tampa you choose to stay with us again and experience the improvements.
Thank You and hopefully see you soon.

Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

So close to USF, this must be a popular hotel because it showed a lot of wear. The carpet and furniture in our room needed to be replaced. Both the toilet and a/c unit were excessively noisy and moreover, the room felt so humid it reminded me of the beach. Having stayed at numerous Embassy Suites across the country, I arrived with a certain expectations that were not met. The free breakfast is usually a plus, but at this place I was turned off by the white film on all the eating utensils in the buffet line and the scrambled eggs that really tasted like the powdered eggs they use to serve in the military. All that said, what really noticeable was the hotel staff who seemed oblivious to the guests --pretty lame!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Alantis 104,
Thank You for taking the time to write a response concerning your recent stay. I apologize we didn't exceed your expections. I have addressed these items with the managemnet and your comments helps to improve for the future. I hope the next time your in Tampa you choose to stay with us again and experience the service and quality you expect.
Thank You
Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This Embassy Suites needs significant updates in decor. Furniture is old and broken however, the bed was comfortable. No complimentary internet in room. Must pay $10 per day for access which is rather absurd given that most hotels provide this for free nearly everywhere else. Can use WIFI in lobby, which is noisy and crowded. Breakfast in hum-drum although complimentary. Location is great if you are visiting Busch Gardens or USF (which I was) but the neighborhood is a bit seedy (as most neighborhoods are around college campuses). Customer service was inconsistent, and on one occasion the CSR was just rude as I witnessed with the person in front of me and with me as well. This is never acceptable behavior. Room rate is very pricey for the overall poor quality of the hotel. Overall, your money is much better spent at a different hotel and there are many in the area for a much better rate AND with free WIFI for guests. Don't waste your money on this one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Travelingurl50,
Thank You for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at my hotel. I apologize we did not exceed your expectations. We value your comments and they help us improve for the future. I have shared the concerns with condition, service and the internet with the management team as to address going forward.
I hope on your next trip to Tampa you choose to stay with us again and experience the service you expect.
Thank You

Larry Cooper

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This is the second time we've stayed here. The hotel is nice - the rooms are a little dated but are comfortable. We stay here because all the rooms are two room suites (and we can stay up while our daughter goes to bed) and because of the free shuttle to Busch Gardens. There is no other hotel I could see that provided both these facilities in the vicinity.

I like the hotel, but it is expensive for what you get (we paid $159.99 + tax per night). If you can get a good deal, go for it!

Room Tip: The top floor (floor 8) is quiet and has larger windows than the other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear LMC_77,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and the shuttle to Busch Gardens. I hope on your next trip to Tampa you stay with us again.
Thank You,
Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was amazing. I travelled there for work, and added a couple days just for fun. Breakfast bar and cook to order eggs was included each morning, and it was very good. Reception each evening with light snacks and complimentary drinks was a great way to end the day. The hotel provided a free shuttle to places in a 5 mile radius, which was nice because while there were restaurants and a mall in walking distance, crossing the very busy road was a bit scary. If you are looking to see the typical Tampa Bay sites, you really need a car. I had to pay $30 one way for a ride to the aquarium (which was nice). I am pretty adventurous, and figured out how to ride public transit back to the hotel for a few dollars. Back to hotel...nice pool area, good restaurant, including pizza hut onsite, good service. Room was very nice, only negative was that the AC was a bit loud.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear marianneb1mom,
Thank you for your comments about my hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and the Embassy Suites amenities. I hope the next time your in Tampa you choose to stay with us again.
Thank You,
Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Close to Busch Gardens, this hotel is a clean, well stocked, well kept, and luxurious place to stay. Our room was stocked with a refrigerator and a coffee maker as well as a microwave and had an adjoining living room and breakfast nook (sofa, two arm chairs, coffee table, table and chairs.) Everything was high quality and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Addiemac32,
Thank You for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at my hotel. I have passed your comments along to the staff and hope on your next trip to Tampa you stay with us again.
Thank You

Larry Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens

Address: 3705 Spectrum Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#17 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Tampa- USF/Near Busch Gardens is located less than 2 miles from major Tampa attractions including Busch Gardens, University of South Florida and the Museum of Science and Industry (MOSI). Our guests start their day with a free made-to-order breakfast and end the evening with our complimentary Evening Reception with snacks and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa
Embassy Busch Gardens Suites
Tampa Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.