We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It did it's job” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 N. Westshore Blvd., Tampa, FL 33609   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Valet & WiFi Package
Ranked #50 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Chesterfield, MO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“It did it's job”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because were arriving very late and it was close to the airport. The location is right next to the highway and easy to get to. The hotel needs some updating, but the rooms were comfortable. Our room had a small kitchenette which we did not use. The kitchen had appliances from the 80's, but it didn't bother us since we did not plan on using it. The living room seemed like it had been updated, but the bedroom looked my grandma's room. Very plain and dated. The beds were fine though. The breakfast just OK.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear whoop1995,

Thank you so much for providing a review regarding your recent visit. Your feedback is so important to what we do each day. I was pleased to learn that our location was convenient for the purpose of your trip. This past summer we completed a refresh to our guest suites to include new wall coverings, sofa's and carpets. Prior to that we renovated our lobby, restaurant area, pool deck and meeting space. We continue to look at future projects that will keep the property up to date in all aspects.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and thank you again for your comments.

Best regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    163
    94
    53
    36
See reviews for
172
81
25
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great service, amenities, and rooms. The suites are comfortable and spacious. The happy hour is a great bonus with some yummy snacks and free drinks. AMAZING breakfast with tons of hot items and lots of options.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Lrichardson,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent visit with us! The team is happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and the amenities that we provide.

We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have stayed here off and on for an annual Spring Training trip. When prices went up we went elsewhere, but this year seemed more competitive and we always liked it in the past. Well room prices were down because they now charge $8 a day for self parking, and $13 a day for internet in the room (you can sit in the lobby with free wifi). There are no longer newspapers delivered to the room, and not many available at breakfast. My room was not made up twice because I happened to be in the room when room service came and they just never came back, I guess it was not convenient. The ice machine on the floor was broken and though the staff new about it, no one cared. They have now put in a "valet" parking set up for another fee which mostly backs up traffic trying to get in and out. On check in they did not put my credit card in correctly so I got locked out of the room when the incorrect number was not valid. They seem to think they are a first class hotel, they are not. I am going back to Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express were you get what you pay for, free parking, free wifi and no hassle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Les R.,

Your feedback is very important to what we do each and every day. The team was saddened to learn that your visit was not reflective of your past experiences with us. I will be going back to each department to address the comments that you provided so that we can prevent a similar experience in the future. We strive each day to provide great service at the best possible value. We will continue to make sure this is true when it comes to parking and the internet.

Thank you again for your feedback and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of further assistance in anyway.

Best regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed one night prior to our flight out early the next morning. As a result, we checked in at 11a.m. and we greeted warmly. Our 2-room suite was made ready within an hour and (except for the deodorizer smell--asthma), we found it welcoming, comfortable and appealing. There was a separate living area with a hideabed and adjacent office desk which doubled as an eating area. The small kitchenette was off by itself and came with mini fridge, micro, coffee maker, and bar sink. The separate king bedroom was roomy and we found the bed comfortable. Although we didn't use them due to cool weather, there was a pool & spa. We did, however, use the restaurant. We would caution against ordering the seared tuna. It tasted, old, fishy, and left a terrible aftertaste. The dining area left us shivering as the air conditioning was running on a cold afternoon. In-room wifi was available for a fee, but free in the lobby. Overall, really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Westside rooms on higher floors offer a gorgeous sunsets, distant view of Tampa Bay, and a look down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Keith A.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review regarding your recent visit with us. The team is happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities and service that we provide. I have reviewed your comments regarding your lunch experience with the Food and Beverage team so that we can prevent a similar experience in the future.

We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next visit with us.

Best regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Claire, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel was close to the airport and perfect for a family traveling with three small children. Our room was better than we had expected, it was quiet, and the evening reception and breakfast were great. We didn't use the pool or hot tub, but were very satisfied with our accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear hawkmom79,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and thank you for your recent stay with us! The team was happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and found our location to be convenient for your family.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have stayed at the Embassy Suites Tampa Airport Westshore many times. The breakfast is ALWAYS the best around. The rooms are spacious, but do smell a little old. The view if you see the water is lovely. BUT the PARKING IS HORRIBLE! The garage is a way from the hotel and not very well lit or safe. There is always parking issues and on my last visit there was NO spaces. They had me park behind the hotel and did try their best to keep everyone on the lot, but it was crazy. My 3 pm check in turned into 6 pm, because they had overbooked and nothing was ready. Needless to say make sure you call and hold your room so you don't lose it...this is not the 1st time they have overbooked rooms. If they could get parking and overbooking under control and freshen up the rooms, this would be perfect.

Room Tip: Ask off the highway side. its loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear LezaM.

Thank you for your recent stay with us and taking the time to write a review! We take your feedback very seriously and use it as a training tool to enhance our product and services for future visits. Our ultimate goal is to ensure that when your stay is complete that you can rate your overall visit as Excellent. We regret that we fell short of this goal for your last stay. I want to apologize for your overall arrival and parking experience. I have addressed your comments with our guest service and parking teams so that we can offer better solutions to our guests and prevent a similar experience in the future.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

If I can be of further assistance in the meantime please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed 5 days for business at this hotel. For 2 straight nights my room had no hot water and had to shower with cold water. The hotel is very outdated and the food for lunch and dinner is absolutely terrible. On the service side, the staff is very friendly and professional, which is the ONLY good thing about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear bayis,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review regarding your recent business trip stay with us. Your feedback is so important to what we do each and every day. I regret that we fell short of offering you an exceptional stay. I want to apologize once again for the issue that you experience with the hot water in your suite and the follow up that allowed it to continue for two days. I have addressed your comments with the team so that we can prevent a similar experience in the future. We're also reviewing your feedback about the quality of our food selections with the food and beverage team.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore

Address: 555 N. Westshore Blvd., Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Tampa
#38 Family Hotel in Tampa
#45 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from Tampa International Airport, Embassy Suites Tampa Airport Westshore provides warm hospitality for your business or leisure travel. Our 243 all-suite accommodations offer amenities designed for your comfort and convenience. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast daily and a complimentary Evening reception nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.