We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore to your Saves list
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 N. Westshore Blvd., Tampa, FL 33609   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FL Resident Rate
Ranked #47 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mixed bag here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location. Right across from a mall and a quick trip from the airport. The van driver was nice, but drove a bit too fast for my comfort level. They were short staffed for drivers was the explanation.

Front desk Manager, Troy was very friendly and helpful with all of our questions. He seemed a bit over worked at times. It is a busy hotel and he always seemed to be on the go.

By contrast, Melvin at the desk acted like he was only there in body. Very lackadaisical attitude. He did the check out process efficiently enough, but he needs a better level of professionalism. He yelled across the lobby!

The Chef is very nice and makes the normal breakfast a little better. It is all in the level of caring. The omelets are great.

The bussers were very busy and appeared to need more help. The floors got a little too dirty for my taste.

This hotel does not have the normal atrium style, but the second floor is nice and the lobby looks like it has been redone.

They need a better variety of snacks at the reception in the evening. The bar staff is great though! John did a great job keeping up with everyone.

The rooms are not great. The bed was comfortable and good pillows. The room Was a very odd shape.

There is a great pool area at the hotel, which was a surprise for a downtown hotel.

Overall, the stay was fine, but they need more help and a better level of service.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Orlaub-

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us! Your feedback helps us to make future visits to our property an even better experience. Thank you for the kind words directed towards several members of the team. I will be reviewing your comments with the team as a whole so that we can correct the challenges that you experienced in some areas of our service.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    203
    124
    61
    48
See reviews for
236
104
31
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the Embassy Suites Westshore over the MLK holiday weekend. The hotel lobby and breakfast room areas were nice, the usual Embassy Suite layout. Unfortunately the guest room hallways, and our room were really showing their age. The hall and room carpets were dirty, and the walls banged up. The air conditioner vent in the room was full of crude - what were we breathing? We were disappointed with the overall cleanliness of the hotel; however the staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear SBP8639:

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit with us. Your feedback is so important to what we do each day. I want to apologize for the cleanliness challenges that you experienced during your stay. I have reviewed your comments with the team so that we can identify and correct the issues that you mentioned.

We appreciate your kind words regarding the staff. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Prior to your next visit, please contact me personally and I will ensure that all of the details of your suite are taken care of.

Best regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Some people seem bothered that this Embassy Suites is not in the "usual form" (i.e, open atrium style) and while I prefer that arrangement myself, this tower style is still attractive. You can not beat the location - walking distance to a major mall across the street and just down the road from the classier International Mall and a wonderful variety of great places to eat. Also, a hop, skip and not even a jump to the airport. THAT was nice.

As usual, breakfast was superb - the best of all hotels, IMO. The manager reception was better than most for sure. I really resent parking fees but at $8 a day I choked it down. I did not, however, have such an easy time swallowing the wi-fi fees. I think this is just such a petty ridiculous fee when you're already paying a decent amount of money for the privilege of staying at a nice hotel. Somehow or another my husband very kindly got someone at the front desk to realize this too and they comped us the wi-fi fee.

If you stay here, know that the rooms are not the same. We began in an end room that had a minuscule living area (could barely squeeze the luggage between door and desk, seriously) - not impressed. Worse was the semi-strong mildewy odor...it drove me crazy but hubby convinced me that "every hotel room in Florida" smells like that because of the humidity. So, I hopped on tripadvisor, read some positive reviews and quickly realized they were NOT talking about the tiny, smelly room we were in. SO, we moved to a nice, big, pleasantly scented room with a little kitchen even, and all was quite well from there.

I stayed here for six nights after having surgery and that's a great way to decide the quality of a hotel .....if it's quiet and comfortable enough (and has helpful staff serving great food) to recover pleasantly from a major operation, then it's a quality place. And it very much was.

Room Tip: Do not get stuck in a tiny, smelly room when there are nice, big, comfy ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Ronda H.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I want to apologize for the challenges that you experienced in your initial suite. We are happy to know that your new suite assignment made for a pleasant stay. We appreciate your kind words regarding the staff service!

We wish you a speedy recovery and look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Best regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great staff make/break a hotel experience and this staff made it a pleasure to stay here! This staff acted quickly to relocate us to a room that met our expectations. Loved the room, loved the staff. A pleasure to work with this location.

Room Tip: Check in with the hotel in advance to make sure that the room you thought that you booked is the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Nmtcenter:

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and the service that we provided.

We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great location, easy access to everything. Located right next to interstate but quiet. You can never beat ES for their hot breakfasts and manager's reception - always good. It is annoying to have to pay for parking and the spots are teensy (my rental nearly didn't fit). A strange thing in my room - the sliding glass doors to the balcony had a sign that said they were permanently locked for safety, but those doors were most definitely not locked/blocked. In fact they were partially open upon my arrival in the room. Not a big deal, just weird. Everything else about the place was lovely.

Room Tip: Top floors give a nice bay view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Chrchgrlmis:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your most recent visit with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your overall stay! We take your feedback very seriously and will continue to look at ways of making our parking the best possible experience at a good value. I want to apologize for your experience with the sliding glass door. Our maintenance team has addressed the issue.

Thank you again for your loyalty to our hotel and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

So, right before Christmas 2012 I stayed at the Embassy suites for business. I will say that I was not expecting it to be as welcoming as it was. Located within walking distance of decent food, a free shuttle (provided by the hotel) to the airport that is less than 10 mins away, and is near an almost 4 star mall (considering there is a Saks 5th anchor) I'd say that this spot was a perfect spot to stay for business or relaxation.... Perhaps not so much a family environment, and I would know with 5 of our own little ones at home!!!!! Myself and two other company trainees were set up in one suite on the seventh floor and To sum it up: plenty of hot water, no noise at all, breakfast buffet was fresh and delicious, and the staff was attentive. Only drawback was on two occasions we came back to a completely clean room with no towels....... Who does that?? So it was handled immediately, but handled twice, no less.... But other than that, no much else to complain about! It was a very comfortable home away from home during my 5 day training in Tampa. Also, the lobby smelt wonderful! Loved the decor; very modern, open, and clean. Also used the business center, where I printed my boarding passes and sent quite a few emails from comfortably!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear SmileAndNod,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are happy to know that our location and service made for a comfortable stay during your training. I want to apologize for the lack of towels on two of your daily services. I have addressed your comments with our housekeeping team so that we can prevent a similar experience in the future.

We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great Hotel! Employees were friendly and polite. The rooms are clean, quiet, comfortable and very LARGE! Location is convenient to shopping and the airport. The pool is located outside and you do have to cross the front parking lot to access but it was clean and well maintained. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAnnPagan, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Charlene M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The team here is happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and they helped in making you feel welcome. We hope you visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Leslis-Ann Pagan
Front Offcie Supervisor- Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.1 mi away
Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore

Address: 555 N. Westshore Blvd., Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Tampa
#36 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#39 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from Tampa International Airport, Embassy Suites Tampa Airport Westshore provides warm hospitality for your business or leisure travel. Our 243 all-suite accommodations offer amenities designed for your comfort and convenience. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast daily and a complimentary Evening reception nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.