We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eventually, A Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 N. Westshore Blvd., Tampa, FL 33609   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Valet & WiFi Package
Ranked #48 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Owasso, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Eventually, A Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Some people seem bothered that this Embassy Suites is not in the "usual form" (i.e, open atrium style) and while I prefer that arrangement myself, this tower style is still attractive. You can not beat the location - walking distance to a major mall across the street and just down the road from the classier International Mall and a wonderful variety of great places to eat. Also, a hop, skip and not even a jump to the airport. THAT was nice.

As usual, breakfast was superb - the best of all hotels, IMO. The manager reception was better than most for sure. I really resent parking fees but at $8 a day I choked it down. I did not, however, have such an easy time swallowing the wi-fi fees. I think this is just such a petty ridiculous fee when you're already paying a decent amount of money for the privilege of staying at a nice hotel. Somehow or another my husband very kindly got someone at the front desk to realize this too and they comped us the wi-fi fee.

If you stay here, know that the rooms are not the same. We began in an end room that had a minuscule living area (could barely squeeze the luggage between door and desk, seriously) - not impressed. Worse was the semi-strong mildewy odor...it drove me crazy but hubby convinced me that "every hotel room in Florida" smells like that because of the humidity. So, I hopped on tripadvisor, read some positive reviews and quickly realized they were NOT talking about the tiny, smelly room we were in. SO, we moved to a nice, big, pleasantly scented room with a little kitchen even, and all was quite well from there.

I stayed here for six nights after having surgery and that's a great way to decide the quality of a hotel .....if it's quiet and comfortable enough (and has helpful staff serving great food) to recover pleasantly from a major operation, then it's a quality place. And it very much was.

Room Tip: Do not get stuck in a tiny, smelly room when there are nice, big, comfy ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Ronda H.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I want to apologize for the challenges that you experienced in your initial suite. We are happy to know that your new suite assignment made for a pleasant stay. We appreciate your kind words regarding the staff service!

We wish you a speedy recovery and look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Best regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    148
    84
    49
    34
See reviews for
159
72
23
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great staff make/break a hotel experience and this staff made it a pleasure to stay here! This staff acted quickly to relocate us to a room that met our expectations. Loved the room, loved the staff. A pleasure to work with this location.

Room Tip: Check in with the hotel in advance to make sure that the room you thought that you booked is the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Nmtcenter:

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and the service that we provided.

We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great location, easy access to everything. Located right next to interstate but quiet. You can never beat ES for their hot breakfasts and manager's reception - always good. It is annoying to have to pay for parking and the spots are teensy (my rental nearly didn't fit). A strange thing in my room - the sliding glass doors to the balcony had a sign that said they were permanently locked for safety, but those doors were most definitely not locked/blocked. In fact they were partially open upon my arrival in the room. Not a big deal, just weird. Everything else about the place was lovely.

Room Tip: Top floors give a nice bay view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Chrchgrlmis:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your most recent visit with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your overall stay! We take your feedback very seriously and will continue to look at ways of making our parking the best possible experience at a good value. I want to apologize for your experience with the sliding glass door. Our maintenance team has addressed the issue.

Thank you again for your loyalty to our hotel and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

So, right before Christmas 2012 I stayed at the Embassy suites for business. I will say that I was not expecting it to be as welcoming as it was. Located within walking distance of decent food, a free shuttle (provided by the hotel) to the airport that is less than 10 mins away, and is near an almost 4 star mall (considering there is a Saks 5th anchor) I'd say that this spot was a perfect spot to stay for business or relaxation.... Perhaps not so much a family environment, and I would know with 5 of our own little ones at home!!!!! Myself and two other company trainees were set up in one suite on the seventh floor and To sum it up: plenty of hot water, no noise at all, breakfast buffet was fresh and delicious, and the staff was attentive. Only drawback was on two occasions we came back to a completely clean room with no towels....... Who does that?? So it was handled immediately, but handled twice, no less.... But other than that, no much else to complain about! It was a very comfortable home away from home during my 5 day training in Tampa. Also, the lobby smelt wonderful! Loved the decor; very modern, open, and clean. Also used the business center, where I printed my boarding passes and sent quite a few emails from comfortably!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear SmileAndNod,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are happy to know that our location and service made for a comfortable stay during your training. I want to apologize for the lack of towels on two of your daily services. I have addressed your comments with our housekeeping team so that we can prevent a similar experience in the future.

We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great Hotel! Employees were friendly and polite. The rooms are clean, quiet, comfortable and very LARGE! Location is convenient to shopping and the airport. The pool is located outside and you do have to cross the front parking lot to access but it was clean and well maintained. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAnnPagan, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Charlene M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The team here is happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and they helped in making you feel welcome. We hope you visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Leslis-Ann Pagan
Front Offcie Supervisor- Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Recently stayed there for a business trip.
Loved their happy hour (free food and drinks!) and hot & yummy breakfast (white omelet was awesome).
Very close to the mall and the airport.
Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAnnPagan, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Sunzinha,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate the feedback and the compliments. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we hope you visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Leslie-Ann Pagan
Front Office Supervisor- Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel after a very long drive, we did not expect it to be a hassle to park the car and check-in...but it was. There was only one person at the front desk and we waited about 10 minutes for him to help us. He said we had to see the valet to self-park in the garage. Another 10 minute wait for the one valet to show up. Did not understand why the front desk could not handle this, as the parking fee was billed to our room. The valet informed us there was no elevator in the garage, so we had to unload everything out of the car right then in front of the entrance. We had both luggage and Christmas gifts. My husband then went to park the car (he later said there were only a couple of tight spaces left, and that the stairwell he had used was really filthy), while the (college-aged) kids and me went up to the room on the 6th floor. The room card did not work. Went back down to the front desk and waited again. The clerk reprogrammed the card, but we could still not get it to work. My husband finally arrived at the room and we were able to get his card to work, with much effort. It took us at least 30 minutes to get in the room from the time we drove up to the hotel. We were suppose to have a pool view, but could barely see the pool. The room was nice, but they only gave us enough towels for 2 people. So we went back down to front desk again to get supplies. At this point we were really tired of making the trek to the front desk, and I am sure he wasn't thrilled to see us either. The breakfast was good (but there were no pastries) and the breakfast staff were very nice. Overall it was NOT a relaxing stay, however.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Debbie G:

I want to apologize for your overall arrival experience during your recent visit with us. Your feedback is so important in what we do each day. I want to assure you that your experience was an isolated event and we will strive to ensure that your experience is not repeated in the future. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and the service provided by our food and beverage team.

We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

If I can be of further assistance in anyway please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore

Address: 555 N. Westshore Blvd., Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Tampa
#40 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from Tampa International Airport, Embassy Suites Tampa Airport Westshore provides warm hospitality for your business or leisure travel. Our 243 all-suite accommodations offer amenities designed for your comfort and convenience. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast daily and a complimentary Manager's reception nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.