We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Training Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Airport to your Saves list
Quality Inn Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 S. Dale Mabry, Tampa, FL 33629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #64 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Plain City, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spring Training Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Was in Tampa for Spring Training for a week and decided to try a different hotel than I usually stay at. Chose this Quality Inn and couldn't have been more satisfied. The staff were very polite and helpful regarding dining options and other questions. The breakfast was more than ample, rooms were very clean and spacious and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Next year spring training will find me reserving again. Thanks for such a pleasant stay and such professional attitudes.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor were very quiet and the balcony was large enough to sit out on in the warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    59
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
35
51
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at the Quality Inn for a couple days before a cruise out of Tampa. Clean room, nice pool, free airport shuttle, cheap cruise port shuttle, great staff, and a very good breakfast. Restaurants and stores in walking distance. Great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

On arrival to the hotel before an afternoon flight the next day, I was a little put off by the age and wear/tear on the property. The room I had wasn't nearly as updated-looking as the Choice Hotels website portrayed. In addition, the staff were corpse-like: no smiles, no welcomes, no nothing. The plusses (for me) were as follows: It's right across the street (you can walk it, no problem) from a Bonefish Grill. Nuff said? They have a great happy hour and the food is *so* good. I know this is going to sound so shallow - but one of my biggest pet peeves about travelling is not having access to a TV with a channel guide. I'm not talking about the guide that tells you which channel corresponds to which number on the set - but what's on TV right now? I can't stand to channel surf - only to either settle on the first thing you see that's reasonably good - or (worse) try to remember the channels to go back to while surfing. This hotel had DirecTV WITH an actual channel guide - just like at home. BIG points for that. I know - it's the little things - but between that and the GREAT shopping in the area - this one is a keeper for future trips out of Tampa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in Room 104, rather large, non smoking, really nice decor, CLEAN, and even toiletries in the bathroom which many are not giving anymore. We had a microwave, fridge, coffee maker and a really nice pool - could just use a few more chairs even though the lounging area is small. The bed was very comfortable. Plenty of breakfast food (waffles, boiled eggs, fried eggs, sausage, cereals, muffins, fruit, juice, coffee) but the eating area is very small. Everyone seemed to find a spot as people came and went. The drivers for pick-up are personable and go over and above. The staff we encountered are very friendly and accommodating. You are within walking distance of a large Fresh Food Market (just behind hotel) where you can purchase sandwiches/hot meal to go, a Subway, IHop, Little Caesar Pizza & a Burger King and Chick-Fil-A can be seen from the front of the hotel but is a little further down the road from the others. I would definitely stay at this hotel again on my next trip to Tampa - good price, great service! We appreciated the fact it was truly a non-smoking room.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room on the bottom floor just doors down from the office and even though cars parked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights the first of March. We booked on Iine with no trouble and check in was very efficient. It is an older building with rooms a bit outdated, but it was clean and not smelly. The non-smoking room we had was just that, with no hint of having been smoked in. The fridge and microwave were clean. TV worked great. We found the bed quite comfortable and clean. It was quiet but our unit was in back which probably helped. We didn't get to the breakfast our first morning but the next morning we found it to be fairly busy. Everyone seemed to be enjoying it and there was enough seating. There was a good variety for breakfast from hot cereal, waffles, eggs, sausage to cold choices of hard boiled eggs, bagels, english muffins and sliced bread for toasting, pastries and juices. The girl was very adept at keeping things replenished, too.
I could not seem to get wifi on my tablet but my husband had no trouble getting wifi on his iPod. It would have been nice to have had sheers on the window so you could open the curtain for light and not be on display, especially being on the bottom floor.
All in all a decent place to stay that was handy to a number of dining options. It was also close to the airport and the Lowry Park Zoo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I had a terrible experience at another hotel (HoJo) last year in Tampa and I was skeptical to return. I opted for Quality Inn instead and I absolutely loved my experience! We had a clean, bed bug-free room, a wonderful complimentary breakfast each morning with a wide variety of foods to choose from, free wifi, many Direct TV channels and an up-to-date flat screen tv. What impressed me most about this place, however, is the hotel's commitment to being environment-friendly. The room was equipped with a "clean remote" which ideally is a big, flat remote with flat buttons that is much easier to clean & carries fewer germs. The shower head in the bathroom had multiple settings & a little note on it explaining how the various settings allow for water conservation. Also, room service left us notes explaining that, in their attempt to "Go Green," they would only change our sheets & towels if/when we wanted them to so that no clean linens were unnecessarily replaced. We stayed there for 4 days & 3 nights and the place was quiet, peaceful & friendly. The staff was supportive & helpful and there's a wonderful restaurant right next door that was simply amazing. We loved staying at the Quality Inn!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Quality Inn Airport in Tampa the night before our cruise. David picked us up at the airport promptly after we called and gave us a short tour of Tampa on our way to the hotel. He very kindly recommended a wonderful restaurant close by. Allan checked us in quickly and everyone at the hotel were very helpful. The room is not fancy but it is clean and functional. We returned to the hotel after the cruise and had the same great service. We will be staying again when in the area and would recommend the hotel to our friends and family.

Room Tip: A second floor room is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Airport

Address: 1020 S. Dale Mabry, Tampa, FL 33629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Tampa
#64 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is just minutes away from Tampa International Airport, Tampa's Downtown, Cruise Terminal and the Westshore Financial District. One of the closest to MacDill Air Force Base, we are the home to many of our nation's troops and their families while they visit the base. Three miles to the west, you will find a beautiful nine-mile walkway along Bayshore Blvd. Over 200 restaurants nearby, many within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Airport Hotel Tampa
Quality Inn Tampa
Tampa Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.