We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Experience. Never Again!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 E. Busch Blvd/I-275, Tampa, FL 33612 (Formerly Days Inn West of Busch Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #134 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    36
    60
    189
See reviews for
125
47
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I came here thinking it was going to be "average" at best! But knowing that "u get what u pay for." When we came we discovered a hole in the bedroom wall, stuffed with toilet paper..dirty advertisements left from the last guest, including one that stated, " just hang up your towels and use them again..and leave the bed for us well make it with the same linens..." There was something gross spilled on that piece of paper..let alone the message it gives. Two of our light bulbs were not working, our notepad by the bed had pages of notes written from the last guest and don't get me started on the not so friendly front desk person when we came! No smile, no welcome greeting, no personality! I WILL NOT come again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnwestofbuschga, Webmaster at Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Days Inn West of Busch Gardens during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate the review and we take it quite seriously- for improvement.

At the outset, our apologies for the bad experience you had howsoever.

We are investigating your observations with the hotel staff and shall take all necessary steps to offer the best.

We also have given special training and instructions to the hotel staff to offer the best hospitality to our guests.

Maintenance was informed of the problems you experienced and instructed to see to the necessary replacements of non functioning light bulbs

We assure you and request you to consider staying with us in future and have a new satisfactory experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I think of myself as being broadly tolerant of crappy motels at low prices. If the room is reasonably clean, safe and free of biting insects then I'm usually happy. In this case, the room was both dirty and unsafe.

Most of the electrical outlets in my room were completely detached from the wall with exposed wires hanging out (see photo). This room would be completely unsafe for anyone travelling with a small child, and there is even a risk of electric shock to an adult plugging in a laptop or phone charger. The risk of fire or shock is enormous and immediate and this room should not have been occupied by anyone. If other rooms are in a similar state, the motel should be shut down by a building inspector or a fire marshal.

The furniture was in poor condition and the desk was literally falling apart (see photo). Housekeeping was poor. There was filth, including a big collection of public hairs, behind the bathroom door (I'll spare you a photo of that).

The best that I can say is that the staff was friendly. I get the impression that they just don't have enough people or budget to adequately maintain such a large number of rooms.
.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnwestofbuschga, Webmaster at Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Days Inn for your last visit to our area.

We also thank you for giving us a review and it is very much appreciated.

Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

Hotel upkeep staffs have ensured that all amenities are perfect and functional.

Special actions have been taken to check all the electrical fixtures are sound and safe..

We invite you once again to stay with us and experience a new hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great service. Disgusting rooms. Everything wa filthy. Sheets towels floors walls and smelled something terrible. Ha to spray Lysol just to remove the smell when you walked in the door EACH time!! :(

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnwestofbuschga, Webmaster at Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Days Inn during your last visit to our area.

We are sorry to hear that the cleanliness and amenities were not up to the mark.

We have taken all the steps to ensure the utmost cleanliness and finest hospitality and all hotel amenities and linen etc so that your next stay at our hotel a memorable experience like the other Comfort Suites.

We take our guest reviews quite seriously and please expect the best with us next time for sure.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens

Address: 2901 E. Busch Blvd/I-275, Tampa, FL 33612 (Formerly Days Inn West of Busch Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens 2*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern - Near Busch Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn West Of Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Days Inn Tampa
Busch Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Tampa/ West Of Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.