We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst motel ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn West of Busch Gardens

Save Saved
You added Days Inn West of Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn West of Busch Gardens
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 E. Busch Blvd/I-275, Tampa, FL 33612 (Formerly Days Inn Busch Garden Maingate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Hitchin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The worst motel ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

I will never not read reviews first. Booked this as closest to Busch Gardens. All reviews I have read after the event are right. Room stank, bedding was dirty, bathroom floor was filthy and not without a roache or two. Coffee maker didn't work. Also was screaming all night from another room. Do yourself a favour, book somewhere a liitle more expensive.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    34
    58
    185
See reviews for
123
46
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long island ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

i booked a one night stay at this motel due to the closeness of busch gardens i always check reviews but for some reason
i didnt check this time. after i booked the room i was horrified
reading all the neg reviews but ive stayed at many places where they were givin bad reviews but i thought were good
check in was easy and the place didnt look bad from the outside
BUT as soon as you open the door the smell was the worst smell you can imagine
actually the room looked decent ,king bed ,decent bathroom
and everything worked.
buy u cant get that smell to go away
i thought after a while i would get used to it but it was too strong
i put some toothpaste under my nose to help with the smell
it worked for a while but couldnt take it any more.
being late 2am we slept in our car the rest of the night woke up
7am took a very fast shower and got the hell out of there

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — the nasty smell
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

My family and I went to Howl-O-Scream last weekend. We decided to stay here since it is the closest hotel to Busch Gardens. After a long work day and 3 hour drive, We finally arrived. Upon check in I overheard the fornt desk clerk tell 3 people to come see him for towels as none were in their rooms. This can happen I figured, no problem, I just want sleep.

We went to our room, upon opening the door it smelt very damp and musty. I heard a drip coming from the bathroom so I went to investigate, there on the floor were roaches, and the tub was full of water. I drained the tub, ignored the roaches and went to sleep.

The next morning I went to take a shower, only to find the cold water was the only knob that worked. There was hot water at the sink, just not the shower. The shower head was attached with duck tape, the knob to turn the shower on and off didn't work, all the water came out the shower head, no chance for a bath. Again more roaches. We finally were given another room. Upon opening this door, the door latch plate fell off, which meant one good push and the door would open not a good thing for that part of town. On to room number 3, this one smelt the worst, at least the tub worked and the door jamb wasn't broken, and I didn't see bugs. I did however notice long dark hairs on my pillows and sheets I can brush these off, but I will sleep in my clothes. We decide to keep this room and enjoy what we could of the weekend. Atleast it has no bugs yet and the shower works.
After a nice hot shower I started to used the hair dryer, it sparked and started to smoke.

On a good note, my girlfriend forgot a piece of luggage when we left. When we got it back, everything was there.

This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I will NEVER do it again.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything in between
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

I found this hotel using a coupon book from the interstate rest stop, so got it for $39.99...not worth any more than that. The room was OK for the price. The onsite Dennys with 20% off was OK....nice change from standard continental breakfast, but with family of 4, take that extra money and go to a nicer hotel with free breakfast. They are correct that they are across the street from Busch Gardens, but if you try to walk to the front gate, you'll be tired...just stay somewhere else and pay the $9 parking.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

My Brother booked two rooms here for my Bachelor party and the hotel was horrible! First we had rooms 140 and 142. So we unpacked everything in 142 and noticed the tub was constantly running water and roaches were in the tub. Then they were crawling around when I was on the toilet and I had to fend them off with my foot (how sick is that?!). So we called and complained and had to go back to the front desk. They gave us room # 146 instead of 142, so we checked it out. The air conditioning was broke in that room, so we called back the front desk. They told us to come get another room key for a different room. It was raining pretty good as this point and it was 2AM. We said no, this place is in a horrible state, please bring us the key, it's late, raining, and we are in our underwear. They hung-up on us! So we went to the front desk and turned in our keys and left. They told us they're still going to bill us for the stay (though we didn't spend the night), so it is going to get disputed on my Brothers credit card. AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS!

  • Liked — Location was convient to Busch Gardens
  • Disliked — Everything else!!
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

We had stay for two nights there because the location is really near to Busch Garden, although the price was really competitive but unfortunatelly the condition of amenities are really old and need repairs.

We had one king bed room which was in the second floor near the stairs. The bed was tilt in the middle when you lay down on the bed and in result got a back ache the next morning. The bathroom was small and the fan in the bathroom was so loud. However housekeeper clean the bed everyday. Hope the management could change the bed.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — amenities: bedding, bathroom etc.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

We had two-day tickets to Busch Gardens, and needed a nearby place to stay overnight. We were expecting a basic, budget hotel room, and were extremely disappointed with this place. The employee who checked us in was extremely rude. When we presented a discount coupon from one of the hotel's advertisements, he said "you pre-paid in advance, I don't know how to process this!" so we never did receive the discount that the hotel itself had offered.
The rooms were very, very dirty. The carpets were so unclean that just walking across them made the bottoms of our feet dirty. The bathroom had broken tiles in the tub, and it's questionable that it had been cleaned before we checked in. There was a distinct foul odor coming from the AC unit.
The ice machines on the first floor, where our room was located, were both broken - we ended up going to a local convenience store to buy ice for the night!
When we took the kids down to the pool to swim, we were shocked to find what appeared to be neighborhood kids rough-housing in the pool. We watched them ride up the street on their bikes, park them in the parking lot outside the pool gates, and walk right into the pool area to swim. We also saw an adult male at the pool who didn't have a suit and had simply stripped down to his white briefs to swim.
The only positive we can share -- the TV was somewhat new, and had good reception.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn West of Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn West of Busch Gardens

Address: 2901 E. Busch Blvd/I-275, Tampa, FL 33612 (Formerly Days Inn Busch Garden Maingate)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#132 Spa Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn West of Busch Gardens 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern - Near Busch Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Days Inn West of Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn West Of Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Days Inn Tampa
Busch Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn West of Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.