We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, but very salty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchell's Fish Market

Mitchell's Fish Market
204 Westshore Plz, Tampa, FL 33609-1811
813-289-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mitchell's Fish Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 1,996 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kennedy
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great meal, but very salty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I ordered the wedge salad which was a great basic wedge, would recommend it. The stuffed cod with lobster and shrimp was incredibly salty, so much so that I did not eat all the filling. If you are looking to cut back on sodium ask if this dish can be prepared with less salt, or order something different all-together.
I sat at the bar and the bartender was very attentive. Located in a mall so parking should not be a problem.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    107
    40
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Loves me some Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Coming all the way from California on a working trip, we had a craving for some good sea food. After a quick search we found Mitchell's Fish Market. Located in downtown Tampa, we were not disappointed. The service was fantastic, the menu had plenty of options to choose from, and the portions were plentiful. As I stated in the title of this review " Loves me some Fish" Mitchell's is on my list of favorites.
John Ellis

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A nice ending to our Tampa vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Ate dinner there tonight. The food was delicious, especially the stuffed sea bass. Henry was an excellent server and extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fresh fish, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our first time trying Mitchell's. The food was very good. A little on the pricey side but not a bad place. We expected more people to be there for a Friday night. We had some charbroiled oysters for an appetizer. Those were pretty awesome. The service was outstanding, true to the Ruth Chris tradition. The manager even brought a birthday card over to my wife as we were celebrating her birthday. They brought out a piece of shark fin pie for a complimentary birthday dessert. WOW! It was huge and incredible!! We had the fish trio which was pretty good and very fresh. We would return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sooooooo Fresh & Delicious!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband & I went to celebrate his 65th Birthday. We have NEVER had such wonderfully fresh seafood unless we caught it ourselves! The oysters melted in your mouth. The beer battered plate of shrimp, scallops & fish were perfection on a plate. The Maryland crab cakes were wonderful along with those heavenly mashed potatoes! But When Henry brought us a slice of carrot cake I knew I was in heaven. Seven layers that cake was out of this world. The whole dinner was a very pleasant dinning experience. Henry our server is excellent at his profession. Mitchell's is lucky to have such a great employee. This restaurant certainly has set he bar very high for us to return home to find a place in our city with such great food & service. Please open a Mitchell's in Fort Myers, florida!! PLease!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell's Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Mitchell's Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchell's Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.