We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tampa

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Tampa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tampa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   734 South Dale Mabry, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #78 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Tampa, Florida, Usa
1 review
“Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Good service, from a pleasant polite staff. My only complaints are that several of the T.V. stations had only a blue screen, including the T.V. station that the T.V. reverted to when turned on. Also none of the exercise machines in the gym were fully functional.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    51
    43
    20
    11
See reviews for
55
31
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night prior to heading to another hotel to stay on my trip. The check in was good, woman at the desk were friendly and nice. I didn't like the distinct smell which was trying to cover the smoke smell. I noticed it in the hallways not so much the room itself. The linens were clean but the bed was not so comfortable and I have stayed at plenty of other best westerns. Bathroom was clean and the overall room was.
There are plenty of places to eat all around the area which was good because I did not have to go far. I did not have the Breakfast in the morning, my choice.
Overall its was an "average" stay and if it was for only one night I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-barre, Pennsylvania, Usa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for an overnight before our Cruise. The room was well worth the price. it was a handicapped room that we did not request but when checking in the Desk Clerk realized my wife has some limitation and assigned us a room that met all our needs.
Thank You

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Plain, ordinary Best Western. Not near anywhere. A bit old and smelly and tired. A few minor problems, not worth complaining about, but irritating nonetheless.

They charged the wrong credit card, added items to the bill. But overall, if u just need a room to sleep in, it was okay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The first time we stayed was New Year's '08/9 for a visit with family between ankle surgeries. The Bowl game had the SC Gamecocks also booked for this location & our stay was still relatively quiet even with the celebrations of football & New Year's parties. We were impressed and hoped to return soon. When we stayed again over Xmas '12, we were disappointed that the chain had discontinued its pet-friendly status in March '10. I called to explain that we were repeat guests and asked nicely if we could still bring the same dog. The manager was willing to waive the new policy for us and we had a very pleasant, uneventful experience again. Even though we no longer travel with a wheelchair, we still needed amenities for handicap accommodation, and they were in good working order and completely legal, unlike many of the chains we have used in recent years. I cannot count the number of places that assign guests to upper floors, without handheld shower wands or reasonably placed rails! I LOVE Best Western and would heartily recommend them to anyone with a disability!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I needed an inexpensive room for a one night pre cruise stay. I figured "how bad can it be". BW are usually so dependable, 2-3 star. This one was a 1 star. I had reserved a two bed smoking room and they gave me a king non smoking. (Ultimately, they brought a rollaway for my adult son). I am disabled and the room was on the second floor and far from the elevator. I returned to the desk and asked for another room and was told they were full. I find it hard to believe they were already full at 4pm. They did suggest that I could hobble my way down two flights of stairs to smoke by the pool. When my son arrived later that evening, they told him that I was a troublemaker. (!!)

The room itself had an awful smell, and the window was sealed shut. The bed was akin to a rock, I got very little sleep.The TV did not work and when I reported it at checkout, I didn't even get a response. The desk clerk did thank me for staying at BW and called me by someone else's name, even though he had my paperwork in his hand..

The rate was $66 per night, I should have just spent $30. more and stayed at the Hyatt Regency closer to the pier with a complimentary shuttle. Live and learn.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tampa

Address: 734 South Dale Mabry, Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Tampa 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.