We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tampa

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Tampa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Tampa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   734 South Dale Mabry, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #83 of 158 hotels in Tampa
Recife, PE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great location, helpful staff who gave me many tips on good places to eat and meet, like St. Petersburg, free shuttle to Busch Gardens. A CVS down the street for emergency purchases. Small rooms, but very comfortable with a clean bathroom. Room service is quick and attended the expectation, an excellent surprise.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    45
    41
    19
    11
See reviews for
48
27
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I won this Best Western as a two star bid for one night on Priceline, so I was a little uncertain as to what to expect. I flew into Tampa and drove to the hotel where I had breakfast. After breakfast I requested two towels to use at the beach, as I was going to St. Pete's and Clearwater for the day. I had no difficulty getting the towels, which made a great difference as I had no towels and did not want to buy some just for one day. I spent the day at the beach and attended the Tampa Bay Rays baseball game. I checked into the hotel after 11pm and was assigned a room with two beds. The room was clean and had a microwave and fridge. In the morning, I had breakfast, which consisted of cereal, breads, bagels and a waffle machine, among other things. For my one night stay and the price I paid, I was more than happy with the Best Western on Dale Mabry.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days while in town for business meetings and while nothing was fancy, everything was satisfactory.
The room was clean and a good value, and the staff was very helpful and friendly!
Even though the location is on a busy road it was incredibly peaceful and quiet in our room.
Nice trip!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Nice enough, small room, everything works and is clean. But, yikes, I like firm mattresses, but it was like sleeping on the floor. My husband had to finally get up and go to CVS for OTC sleeping aides. Desk staff is friendly, breakfast has the basics (coffee, bagels and yogurt) and the BW standard, the waffle maker. Convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando fl
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

we stayed in room #222 what a nice room that is,at the end of the hallway,peaceful,and so big looks a suite,even the bathroom was huge,we were very happy with that,swiming pool on the back of hotel were wont disterb anyone opens 24 hours,great location, room price was good also.continental breakfast was great too.

Room Tip: 222 was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohhector
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The hotel itself is relatively nice...it has been remodeled fairly recently, or at least looks like it. The lobby is very nice, and the hallways and rooms are nice as well. Got a random upgrade to the jacuzzi suite. It's actually a whirlpool tub, not a hot tub.

A few not-so-great things:
-Wifi was unreliable. Connection kept failing, and when the connection was steady the internet was very slow and unusable.
-The whirlpool tub had really poor water pressure, it took over 20 minutes to fill up.
-It might have just been the room I was in (all the way towards the back of the hotel) but there was this relatively loud booming noise that kept happening. It seemed like it was the AC or maybe some sort of vent connected to the room, but it made the room be very unrelaxing, especially for sleep.

-Bed was very stiff/firm. In that, it was not uncomfortable...but if you prefer the "cloud" feeling these beds will not be to your liking.

If not for the worthless wifi, I would have rated this a 4.

Room Tip: Do not pick the rooms closest to the back of the hotel, noisy AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights. Pleasant experience. Room was big with good wifi. Breakfast was ok. Next door is IHOP and supermarket and other eateries are within 10 mins walk. Reception service was very good. Parking is free and it was easy to find best western tampa. About 15 mins drive to Tampa Convention Centre. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tampa

Also Known As:
Best Western Tampa Hotel Tampa
Best Western Tampa Hotel
Tampa Best Western
Address: 734 South Dale Mabry, Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Tampa 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.