We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bruce is the man” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music

Save Saved
You added Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music
3109 N. Ola Ave., Tampa, FL 33603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Tampa B&B and Inns
philly, pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bruce is the man”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

We only had one day to spend at Gram's before moving on to another part of FL, and it happened to be the first truly swim-worthy day since Winter. We hung out with Bruce at the makeshift bar and he gave me the house Baby Taylor to strum away on with my feet dipped in the outdoor jacuzzi and borrowed the bikes and pedaled up to the Taco Bus--which is a MUST STOP for any roadside taco truck lover: real deal. I'd return!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    20
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
8
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

where to start....grams place is one of a kind. We heard about it through the lonely planet and the review prepared us for a quirky hostel......but quirky does not begin to describe this one of a kind experience. I would urge anyone, whether on a budget or not, to swing by grams place.

The over all theme is music, but within each corner of this eccentric connection of structures are many themes...from the 1950's 'i love lucy' kitchen (complete with antique stove and features), to the hawaiian kitsch, fairy lit, pink flamingo lined garden decking with jacuzzi. We stayed in the rock and roll room in the main house, complete with en suite, wifi and tv. Cheap enough for those on a budget and a comfortable and sociable lodging experience for those more luxurious travellers. There are also dorm rooms for those on a shoestring budget.

On the other side of the house there is an alternative modern shared kitchen and t.v lounge with all the expected amenities and comforts of a home from home. Laundry facilities are also available.

The place was packed out when we were there, people from all over the world chatted over beers in the jacuzzi, swapping travelling stories and advice. The owner was on hand to dish out beers, keep the music playing and help organise kayaking trips and outings to the beautiful beaches nearby, and if you need a timeout from the chat, you can escape to adventurous roof decking for a quiet moment.

Grams place is ideal for travellers looking for something more sociable and homely than the hotel/motel downtown...........enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Wonderful place to stay in Tampa. When you first drive up, it does not look like too much, but when you get through the front door a whole other world opens up. The rooms are fun and quirky and the conversation was great over beers and wine. Bruce is a gracious host and seems to truly care about his guests and Gram's place.
The location of Grams place is in a residential area but not far from Busch Gardens, downtown Tampa, Ybor City and other places you may want to visit.
We really enjoyed ourselves at Grams place and ended up staying an extra night. We felt safe, cared for and had a lot of fun sitting outside and talking with Bruce and other visitors while listening to music.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

the hostel located not public spot, house look little old BUT the place is nice and quiet. Good service.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

This place is all you can ask for in an American hostel. It's not spotless, but it's definitely clean enough. American hostels as a whole are terrible, but this place feels like an actual hostel. You really feel like you are experiencing Tampa. Bruce, who now runs the place (the brother of the original owner), has put a lot of work into renovating/cleaning the place. He is a Tampa native, knows everything about the area, and gives excellent travel advice. It is true that there are some cooky older men that hang there sometimes, but my impression was that they were just that--cooky, and nothing more.

The old owner was in a rock band and apparently decided to open a European style hostel while traveling in Europe. For this reason the place feels like a cross between a hostel and your friends-in-a-band's house. funky, like everyone else said. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

My only regret about Gram's Place is that I arrived pretty late one night, and had to leave early the next morning ... so I missed out on all the legendary music that goes on there. The whole decor is really funky, and the other guests were friendly -- and seemed like they'd been staying there for a few days and had gotten to know each other.

The owner had originally opened it as a Bed & Breakfast, but it didn't work out well ... because, well, it's a hippy funky place not for romantic couples. But if you're a solo traveler who just needs a warm place to stay in the area, this fits the bill.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

I read all the reviews - but still was very excited about the hostel/hotel.... so I booked a room anyway. Then I received the automatic email confirmation saying my room was reserved for $60 a night- which is exactly what the website said. Then the next day- I recieved a non-automatic email from the gram's place manager saying that my room was reserved and it was $68 a night. So I sent an email back stating that the room rate was incorrect and I had an email stating the guaranteed price- probably a glitch in the system... the response was my reservation cancellation!?!?!? Then I went online to reserve another room- the original room was still available- for the price that I was originally quoted!!! He cancelled my reservation over $8!!!! REALLY??? I am completely disapointed.... the atmosphere was exactly what I was looking for this trip.
He could have replied that the rate had gone up- or updated his website and the $8 wouldn't have been a big deal... but they obviously don't want customers. Now I have to find other accomodations on short notice....

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music

Address: 3109 N. Ola Ave., Tampa, FL 33603
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gram`s Place Bnb Guesthouseshostel And Music Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.