We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small place with big personality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music to your Saves list
Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music
3109 N. Ola Ave., Tampa, FL 33603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Tampa B&B and Inns
Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A small place with big personality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights while traveling solo to attend an academic conference. It's a fun and funky place. If your used to hosteling then you know the deal but most folks around Tampa have no idea what a hostel is. It's pretty easy to take the bus into downtown, but I'd recommend a cab for after dark. I think the fare from the convention center was around $10 or so. All around, I had a fantastic stay and met some great folks. I left with memories that I never would have made in a big hotel. Seems like if it was very busy it could be loud, but most hostelers are pretty respectful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    20
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
8
22
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights when in town for a music festival so I didn't do too much hanging around the place but the indoor shower/toilet next to the female dorm was clean and had good water pressure. The owner Bruce was a lovely fellow and very approachable, some friends of his gave me a lift to downtown which was very nice of them and saved me a bus trip. A light breakfast was provided which was a good bonus! Rooms were secure as is the property, so although it's not in the best part of town I still felt fine walking around during the day. I would stay here again if I was on a budget :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed at Gram's for three nights while in Tampa. I felt very welcome and safe there.
The hostel is in a residential area and I didn't have a car but had no trouble getting around using public transport. The 1 bus stops only a couple of blocks away and gets you downtown in less than 10 minutes. I'm not sure I'd walk around the area after dark though. Like others before me have said, it's a working class kinda area. Nevertheless, I felt totally safe walking around during the day and at Gram's at night!
If you're after somewhere clean and cheap with a good (included) breakfast, and you don't have to be smack bang in the centre of town, Gram's is the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: The Country Room (female dorm) is right next to the lounge room, so if someone is watching TV and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed for one night while I was in Tampa and Luis was so helpful and friendly. He made a spectacular dinner (at a great price -- $4.00 donation to the hostel) of chicken, arroz de espanol, green beans, red potatoes, and cuban bread. I'm told he does this once a week or so. It really added a wonderful touch to my stay, because one often needs a good, reasonably-priced meal, especially because there isn't really any food place within walking distance.

The bed was very firm and comfortable, room was clean. Christine was on-hand to help out as well with any needs. Bruce, the owner, is welcoming and warm. He likes baseball, so he was sitting with others watching the Rays game at his outdoor Tiki bar. It's a funky, cool place. They had bikes to use, so I went off to the liquor store for some warm beer (their fridge was out).

This is a great place to stay if you want to explore downtown Tampa and its museums, because it's really close (~2 miles). Gram's place is also directly off the #1 Tampa Hart bus, which runs every 1/2 hour. I'll definitely be back, and I'd recommend it to anyone who wants cheap, funky accommodations. Music-theme was very cool. Also, when I was there, there were awesome guests. We sat around drinking beer and watching guy TV (guys fixing cars, motorcycles), and it felt like a family (a nice one ;). Really relaxed and nice environment.

The only thing I'd change is the Country Music ladies dorm is right off the TV room. Quiet time starts at 11PM. I'd hoped for an earlier quiet time, but I had to be up early in the morning.

All told, really nice place. Oh, yes, and when it rains, it makes a wonderful, sleepy sound on the tin roof. Slept like a baby!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have stayed here several times in past years, but just revisited and it is even better than ever. It is not just for single college kids, but also serves couples, small families and us older folks. It is clean, air conditioned and most conveniences of home are there. The atmosphere is friendly and welcoming. The staff are eager to make you welcome and answer any questions about Tampa and the neighborhood. It is safe and the beds and furnishings are very comfortable and super clean.

Room Tip: Depends on your need for privacy or space. The larger quarters with bunk room beds are mostly forei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've stayed here twice, once in the Jazz Room and and once in the Adventure Room. The jazz room is more like a typical hotel room with an private bath. The adventure room, is, well, more of an adventure with an outdoor shower and bathroom. The bunk and skylight are lovely. All rooms have A/C, which is important 9 months out of the year! :)

The owner, Bruce, is so friendly and helpful. This is the type of place where you sit out in the common outdoor areas and hang out with the staff and other guests over a beer (there's a byob fridge and they keep it stocked with bud lite too). It is a little rough around the edges, but typical of a hostel. My rooms have always been clean, I've never seen bugs, and they provide towels but no toiletries. I can't stand cookie cutter, impersonal hotel chains. This place is the exact opposite.

The neighborhood is working class. I've left fairly nice rental cars here twice and no problems whatsoever. It's close to Ybor and Downtown Tampa, which is nice.

Best of all, if you forget a belonging at this place, Bruce will send it back to you for free. I'm an awful scatterbrain and have forgotten items at hotel chains and been met with a brick wall when inquiring after them. The staff at Gram's Place really care and will make the extra effort.

Room Tip: If this is your first time staying at a hostel, you may want to stay in one of the rooms with a priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have been soo impressed with this hostel and its owners. We came in late but stayed for five nights. Greeted at the door and taken to the airport by bruce, the owner. Thishostel is clean and fun. Everybody is friendly and the kitchen is the best i have seen offered by any hostel. Spa was clean and rec. Games were fun. Bbq girls beers a good music. A+ hostel. Will def be back - Garrett from boston ma.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music

Address: 3109 N. Ola Ave., Tampa, FL 33603
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gram`s Place Bnb Guesthouseshostel And Music Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.