We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, happy hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music to your Saves list
Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music
3109 N. Ola Ave., Tampa, FL 33603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Tampa B&B and Inns
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly, happy hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed at Gram's for three nights while in Tampa. I felt very welcome and safe there.
The hostel is in a residential area and I didn't have a car but had no trouble getting around using public transport. The 1 bus stops only a couple of blocks away and gets you downtown in less than 10 minutes. I'm not sure I'd walk around the area after dark though. Like others before me have said, it's a working class kinda area. Nevertheless, I felt totally safe walking around during the day and at Gram's at night!
If you're after somewhere clean and cheap with a good (included) breakfast, and you don't have to be smack bang in the centre of town, Gram's is the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: The Country Room (female dorm) is right next to the lounge room, so if someone is watching TV and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    22
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
8
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa Bay
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed for one night while I was in Tampa and Luis was so helpful and friendly. He made a spectacular dinner (at a great price -- $4.00 donation to the hostel) of chicken, arroz de espanol, green beans, red potatoes, and cuban bread. I'm told he does this once a week or so. It really added a wonderful touch to my stay, because one often needs a good, reasonably-priced meal, especially because there isn't really any food place within walking distance.

The bed was very firm and comfortable, room was clean. Christine was on-hand to help out as well with any needs. Bruce, the owner, is welcoming and warm. He likes baseball, so he was sitting with others watching the Rays game at his outdoor Tiki bar. It's a funky, cool place. They had bikes to use, so I went off to the liquor store for some warm beer (their fridge was out).

This is a great place to stay if you want to explore downtown Tampa and its museums, because it's really close (~2 miles). Gram's place is also directly off the #1 Tampa Hart bus, which runs every 1/2 hour. I'll definitely be back, and I'd recommend it to anyone who wants cheap, funky accommodations. Music-theme was very cool. Also, when I was there, there were awesome guests. We sat around drinking beer and watching guy TV (guys fixing cars, motorcycles), and it felt like a family (a nice one ;). Really relaxed and nice environment.

The only thing I'd change is the Country Music ladies dorm is right off the TV room. Quiet time starts at 11PM. I'd hoped for an earlier quiet time, but I had to be up early in the morning.

All told, really nice place. Oh, yes, and when it rains, it makes a wonderful, sleepy sound on the tin roof. Slept like a baby!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have stayed here several times in past years, but just revisited and it is even better than ever. It is not just for single college kids, but also serves couples, small families and us older folks. It is clean, air conditioned and most conveniences of home are there. The atmosphere is friendly and welcoming. The staff are eager to make you welcome and answer any questions about Tampa and the neighborhood. It is safe and the beds and furnishings are very comfortable and super clean.

Room Tip: Depends on your need for privacy or space. The larger quarters with bunk room beds are mostly forei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've stayed here twice, once in the Jazz Room and and once in the Adventure Room. The jazz room is more like a typical hotel room with an private bath. The adventure room, is, well, more of an adventure with an outdoor shower and bathroom. The bunk and skylight are lovely. All rooms have A/C, which is important 9 months out of the year! :)

The owner, Bruce, is so friendly and helpful. This is the type of place where you sit out in the common outdoor areas and hang out with the staff and other guests over a beer (there's a byob fridge and they keep it stocked with bud lite too). It is a little rough around the edges, but typical of a hostel. My rooms have always been clean, I've never seen bugs, and they provide towels but no toiletries. I can't stand cookie cutter, impersonal hotel chains. This place is the exact opposite.

The neighborhood is working class. I've left fairly nice rental cars here twice and no problems whatsoever. It's close to Ybor and Downtown Tampa, which is nice.

Best of all, if you forget a belonging at this place, Bruce will send it back to you for free. I'm an awful scatterbrain and have forgotten items at hotel chains and been met with a brick wall when inquiring after them. The staff at Gram's Place really care and will make the extra effort.

Room Tip: If this is your first time staying at a hostel, you may want to stay in one of the rooms with a priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have been soo impressed with this hostel and its owners. We came in late but stayed for five nights. Greeted at the door and taken to the airport by bruce, the owner. Thishostel is clean and fun. Everybody is friendly and the kitchen is the best i have seen offered by any hostel. Spa was clean and rec. Games were fun. Bbq girls beers a good music. A+ hostel. Will def be back - Garrett from boston ma.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place has a real Florida vibe. The outdoor spaces are the focal point, with lots of shady trees, decks, and cool little bar. If you are a high-maintenance traveler, stay away. This is a youth hostel, so it does not offer B&B luxury, and it is in a building that was built circa 1940's, so it is not sparkling and sterile like a modern hotel. However, if you are a relaxed, easy-going traveler and appreciate quirky places with personality, you will love it.

Room Tip: Adventure room is small, maybe 8 x 10. The loft will fit 2, but tight. It is very cool sleeping unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at Gram's Place for 5 nights in October, and we could not have asked for anything better. As soon as we walked in the door, we could feel the welcoming vibe exuded from Bruce and his staff. If you are looking for true Southern hospitality this is the place. From coffee with the staff and guests in the morning, to an owner who genuinely cares about his guests and his business, and takes the time to get to know you, this may indeed be the best place we've ever stayed, anywhere. We're thinking of reasons to go back to Tampa just to stay there again.

Bear in mind, it is a hostel, and therefore isn't necessarily for everyone, but the rooms are clean, our bathroom worked, and there was breakfast included (as long as you make it yourself, and clean up afterwards).

In short, a great place to hang your hat while you're seeing Tampa!

Room Tip: Remember the address/nearby intersection of the place. Taxi drivers wont believe that there is a ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music

Address: 3109 N. Ola Ave., Tampa, FL 33603
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gram`s Place Bnb Guesthouseshostel And Music Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.