We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music to your Saves list
Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music
3109 N. Ola Ave., Tampa, FL 33603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Tampa B&B and Inns
South Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
“excellent experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have been soo impressed with this hostel and its owners. We came in late but stayed for five nights. Greeted at the door and taken to the airport by bruce, the owner. Thishostel is clean and fun. Everybody is friendly and the kitchen is the best i have seen offered by any hostel. Spa was clean and rec. Games were fun. Bbq girls beers a good music. A+ hostel. Will def be back - Garrett from boston ma.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    20
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
8
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place has a real Florida vibe. The outdoor spaces are the focal point, with lots of shady trees, decks, and cool little bar. If you are a high-maintenance traveler, stay away. This is a youth hostel, so it does not offer B&B luxury, and it is in a building that was built circa 1940's, so it is not sparkling and sterile like a modern hotel. However, if you are a relaxed, easy-going traveler and appreciate quirky places with personality, you will love it.

Room Tip: Adventure room is small, maybe 8 x 10. The loft will fit 2, but tight. It is very cool sleeping unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at Gram's Place for 5 nights in October, and we could not have asked for anything better. As soon as we walked in the door, we could feel the welcoming vibe exuded from Bruce and his staff. If you are looking for true Southern hospitality this is the place. From coffee with the staff and guests in the morning, to an owner who genuinely cares about his guests and his business, and takes the time to get to know you, this may indeed be the best place we've ever stayed, anywhere. We're thinking of reasons to go back to Tampa just to stay there again.

Bear in mind, it is a hostel, and therefore isn't necessarily for everyone, but the rooms are clean, our bathroom worked, and there was breakfast included (as long as you make it yourself, and clean up afterwards).

In short, a great place to hang your hat while you're seeing Tampa!

Room Tip: Remember the address/nearby intersection of the place. Taxi drivers wont believe that there is a ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe-Claire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Gram's Place is really cozy, clean and fun.
Staff is very friendly, and Bruce is a great host.
I met people from Germany, Switzerland, France and Amsterdam and loved every minute of it.
If you are in the Tampa area this is the place to stay.

Lise

Room Tip: Jazz room is very nice, the Blue room as well...I loved the upper decks for private time and the spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this hostel for 3 nights and I have to say, I've never seen anything like it. Very nostalgic and if you're a music lover you will appreciate the little touches throughout. The owner is extremely friendly and went above and beyond to accommodate us. This is an awesome place to stay on the cheap for a few days, and is pretty close to the interstate. It's cool if you like a social atmosphere where you can hang out in the bar area or in a shared living room area with other guests. No kids were there, most of the adults we saw were ages 35-50.

There are coded gates to get in to the property and the main doors where the rooms are. However, the surrounding area was very close to what I consider unsafe neighborhoods. There is a cemetery across the street, which some may find creepy. Sometimes you could hear phones or TV in a nearby room when trying to sleep, but mostly before 1am. If you want the most quiet, private room, I recommend the blues room. For me, I wasn't a big fan of sharing the bathroom though it was pretty clean and overall everyone was respectful of common space. The beds are old, and mattresses are too which can be uncomfortable for some. I'd suggest to bring your own pillows and towels. They do have a washer/dryer and shared kitchen on site.

The service was great and I liked the chill vibe for an affordable price. Depending on your standards, it can be a reasonable place to stay. Take the aforementioned in consideration when making your decision.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My friend and I worked at a summer camp and travelled to Tampa afterwards to visit Clearwater Beach nearby. This place is by far the quirkiest place you will ever stay, we absolutely loved it! When we arrived it was only 10 mins away from the train station in the taxi and cost about 10 dollars. You wouldn't like to walk it though if you have baggage!
We stayed in the 'Tin Palace' which was a tiny room with bunkbeds but it was great! The beds were comfy and it was like living in a tree house with painted walls and ceiling, and roof windows. Graham the owner and Lewis who helped run the place are so accomodating. We had such a laugh with Lewis! Graham let us borrow the bikes everyday for an evening bike ride to the shops, let us use the kayaks and took us to the river in the pouring rain, and drove us all the way to Clearwater Beach at a small fee! And when we wanted to use the outdoors jacuzzi, he cleaned it and then warmed it up and put bubbles in it for us which was lovely! They also cooked us the nicest BBQ on our first night.
Facilities are good, there's a fully operational kitchen with a cosy lounge area and several bathrooms. It's very homely! Breakfast is free and there are plenty of things to choose from, such as toast, cereals, eggs, fruit, pancakes. But be sure to plug the pancake grill in before asking Lewis why it isn't working haha.
The atmosphere is very friendly, we met 3 lads from Switzerland and 2 girls from Germany and all sat around the bar area with the music on in the evenings.
We absolutely loved this unique place and would advise anybody who wants to be a kid for a while and experience a different style of living to stay there! This place is definitely for the care free type who wants to let their hair down and enjoy life!

Room Tip: Stay in the tin palace if you're travelling with a friend, the bunk beds are cool! It's like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived for our weekend retreat, we were met by Bruce, the proprietor. He was quite nice, gave us the grand your of his unusual but wonderful atmosphere.
We had originally booked the adventure room..but decided that it was too much of an adventure for us...lol...although we were looking forward to looking at the stars at night.
We ended up staying in the Blues Room, which was quite nice and it felt like home.
Bruce gave us a map of Tampa so that we could easily find our way around.
The entire place is secluded with a privacy fence and it has security locks in place that make you feel safe.
The rooms were clean...there were no bugs...and we slept on clean sheets and had clean towels.
The WI-FI and TV were great to relax to in the evening....everyone was nice and polite.
There were washers and dryers onsite...everything to make you feel at home.
I recommend this Hostel to everyone that is adventurous and willing to have a grand ole time.
Bruce was doing some remodeling and painting while we were there and if we ever get the chance to get back down that way, we'll be excited to see the changes.
Peace to all.
Seth and Carol.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music

Address: 3109 N. Ola Ave., Tampa, FL 33603
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gram`s Place Bnb Guesthouseshostel And Music Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.