We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music

Save Saved
You added Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music
3109 N. Ola Ave., Tampa, FL 33603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Tampa B&B and Inns
Antigua, Sacatepequez, Guatemala
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Gram's place is one of the most unique places I've ever stayed- it just has this incredible hippy vibe to it and it is so rock 'n roll it hurts. Most of the guests were actually old hippies and the owner and his mate are very friendly if a tad unusual and a bit pervy at times (encouraging me to talk my pretty Swiss friend into getting into the hot tub and they say they have a 'European' attitude to nudity in the pool- if I was a girl I'd feel very uncomfortable about getting my clothes off in front of them!). Nonetheless the quirky vibe of the place warrants a stay here and they are good hearted people at the end of the day. They had a sometimes annoying habit of calling me 'English' for my entire stay- I don't even know if they remembered my real name but whatever, it's all good!

Facilities- I stayed in the dorm that looks like a train carriage (apparently). The beds are tiny and chances are you will be sharing with bugs- bedbugs, roaches, spiders etc, especially if you are on the bottom bunk which is actually on the floor. Bathrooms are ok I guess- they have outdoor showers too and the other rooms seemed really nice too with lots of random musical instruments lying around that you can have a go at. Certainly not a 5* hotel but you won't care really. They have a jacuzzi tub (if you can pursuade Bruce to fork out for the electicity to turn it on!) and they have beers available, sometimes they have live bands playing. The kitchen is adequate.

Negatives- you may feel uncomfortable if you are a young, attractive single girl, not that the owners are untrustworthy in any way but you may have reservations about walking around in a bikini for example. The place isn't the cleanest- you probably will be bitten by something during your stay and, though they advertise a jacuzzi, they never turn it on unless you ask them very nicely and are a group of about 4 or more people. The area is very sketchy- it is practially the ghetto and it is not safe to walk anywhere nearby on your own. It is miles away from the happening area of town but Bruce knows a taxi driver who will take you there for a reasonable price and pick you up.

To summaries- great vibe, great atmosphere that is 95% of the appeal of staying here- the other 5% being the good company and fun, easy going owners because the rooms aren't really up to much and they certainly aren't cheap. Stay here for a unique experience, meet cool people, watch a band then get the hell out of Tampa because it is a dump with absolutely nothing else to do when it isn't Gasparilla fest.

Room Tip: Stay in the train dorm if you want the interesting room- it does look like a train, sort of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    20
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
8
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Fl
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here when in Tampa to see a concert. This was a fun place! Lots of night owls, hippies, bohemians and people hanging out by the bar area. Crazy dimensions inside the house/hostel area, but so fun to explore. This is not a Holiday Inn...expect to rough it a bit and bring your own toiletries. Also, not so great for little kids. Had a blast staying here and slept very well. FYI-I got a room with a private bathroom too.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I stayed in 50 or 60 motels during my trip across the USA, this is the one that was the most fun.
You're not going to be able to read your complimentary copy of USA Today over toasted muffins in the breakfast room but on the upside, but on the upside you won't be reading your complimentary copy of USA Today over toasted muffins in the breakfast room, you'll be having fun.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

This was do cool a completely different experience. Me and my boyfriend travelled America last year and we stayed here for a long weekend. Bruce was so cool really laid back and showed us a brilliant side to the south, he even gave us a ride in his truck to st. Petes beach after recommending we go there. I will never forget this experience very homely and interesting! If we are ever back in Tampa I know we will visit! Thanks

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitchell, ne
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Be careful when staying here. They were infested with bed bugs when I stayed on March 20, 2012. I contacted the owner and he said he would get right on the problem. It seemed like a nice place otherwise, but I didn't stay long. I took off as quickly as I could.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

How many Hiltons and Best Westerns can you do? Life, and especially travel is about adventure and expanding horizons. Don't miss an opportunity to explore this mini-compound of fascinating vegetation, Americana, music, & people. Don't expect cookie-cutter 5-star pillow mints & fancy folded towels--Expect to enjoy your stay here as much or more as your vacation itself!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

This place is comfortable, friendly and fun. But it's more than just a hostel. There's a whole story behind Gram's Place and it's great to have experienced it. More here: http://www.timetravelturtle.com/2011/11/grams-place-tampa-florida/

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music

Address: 3109 N. Ola Ave., Tampa, FL 33603
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gram`s Place Bnb Guesthouseshostel And Music Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.