We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to unwind--a life experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music

Save Saved
You added Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music
3109 N. Ola Ave., Tampa, FL 33603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Tampa B&B and Inns
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place to unwind--a life experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

How many Hiltons and Best Westerns can you do? Life, and especially travel is about adventure and expanding horizons. Don't miss an opportunity to explore this mini-compound of fascinating vegetation, Americana, music, & people. Don't expect cookie-cutter 5-star pillow mints & fancy folded towels--Expect to enjoy your stay here as much or more as your vacation itself!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    20
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
8
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

This place is comfortable, friendly and fun. But it's more than just a hostel. There's a whole story behind Gram's Place and it's great to have experienced it. More here: http://www.timetravelturtle.com/2011/11/grams-place-tampa-florida/

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This place is as close to good old fashioned "trust and a hand shake" as you can get these days. Once a person gets a hang of the rhythm, it is a fun place to be. Europeans are attracted to the place because they know about hostels. I made friends with a fellow from Cologne Germany, an Austrian, a well traveled writer, and a mixture of other folk. The owner sets the tone for "laid back" and shows a genuine interest in his guests. Lots of tips for guests. Visitors feel trusted and are therefore trustworthy and everyone seems to find their niche in the flow. I biked and used the bus. It is doable although the place is a 45 minute walk from downtown...yeah I walked it...not many buses on Sunday. The place was acceptably clean and the dust bunnies under my bed made it feel like home.

Room Tip: I hear the beds in the "train" room are awfully narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

its like a place out of this world!! i've met the nicest people there, and would go back any time! cleanliness is ok, but the place itself and the people there make it all worth the stay!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

This place is great. You have to see it to believe it. You can relax in the spa with a few beers and watch a live band then go chill out on the crows nest. The staff were fantastic. Its also a great place to meet people. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

If your a family or someone with high expectations, stay at a hotel. This is a fun place with great history and fun rooms. I originally only intended to stay a few days but once there I ended up staying 9 days! Bruce was super and eager to help out. Met some great people there as well who will remain life long friends. I have no complaints whatsoever.

Room Tip: not family friendly unless your fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philly, pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

We only had one day to spend at Gram's before moving on to another part of FL, and it happened to be the first truly swim-worthy day since Winter. We hung out with Bruce at the makeshift bar and he gave me the house Baby Taylor to strum away on with my feet dipped in the outdoor jacuzzi and borrowed the bikes and pedaled up to the Taco Bus--which is a MUST STOP for any roadside taco truck lover: real deal. I'd return!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music

Address: 3109 N. Ola Ave., Tampa, FL 33603
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gram`s Place Bnb Guesthouseshostel And Music Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.