We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs update” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10220 Palm River Rd, Tampa, FL 33619   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #11 of 158 hotels in Tampa
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel needs update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

I came in to Embassy Suites looking for a high quality Hotel, read up on line and was pleased with what I saw. My Husband and I arrived on a Tuesday and came in to the
Check in Desk, was greeted by James House and was quickly checked in to Room 264 this was on the second floor. When we walked in the Room I was very pleased with this rooms clean appearance. But the A/C was at 72 degrees and was very stuffy warm matter of fact. we went down and told James about the room and was told that there cooling is by water and sometimes takes a while to cool, so we left and came back 3 hours later to find the room still stuffy and warm. we called , James came up and agreed and offered another room next door. this was 11:00p.m now so we loaded up all our belongings and moved to room 263 when we walked in it was a lot cooler. But the room looked like it was not keep the floor was nasty, the toilet would not flush right, no mat in the tub and it was so slippy I was scared I would fall. we tried to get through the night , and in the morning Wednesday we told James about everything and he got on the phone right then and got a maintance man (nice Guy) to come up and fix the toilet and see about the tub. Also the tv remote needed battery so he replace it.bought back a new mat for tub. also on the bed we noticed on the blanket that lays at the edge had (looked like human discharge) I left a note for housekeeping. by this time things was finnally calming down, thanks to James House. Oh yea the coach was not clean so I had to put a sheet on it to sit on it. Then on Friday I was to check in my girls coming up to another room and the Manger Jeff checked me in. We told him about the unclean room, he right then said oh no our rooms are clean and our rating is great and when I mentioned about the a/c he didn't reply I feel he knows there is need for maintance in the units.We only went down one day for breakfast, it was not good. the pancakes was tough and the sauage was hard. The eggs taste like blocks of egg beaters with no taste. To say the least I was not pleased with everything. If you visit this hotel make sure you check the a/c and surroundings before committing. The one positive thing I can say about this hotel is the staff member who helped us through problems and tried his best to correct them and His Name is James House. Could be a very nice hotel but needs upkeep.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    77
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
107
66
18
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Ky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

Nice clean and spacious rooms. Loved the free breakfast in the morning and free happy hour. Be sure to ask Joanne (bartender) about the drink "red panties". Pool was nice, somewhat small. Location is great just off the highway. Internet in business lounge is slow and often messed up. Told the front desk and they comped us one day of internet in the room for free (usually costs $10). Extremely comfortable beds. We got a great deal on hotwire for this hotel and loved it, even got back on hotwire and booked an additional night to extend our vacation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Central Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

A group of 7 of us, ranging in ages 26 to 38, stayed here for a short getaway to the Seminole Hard Rock Casino. We were going to stay at the casino hotel but the rooms were WAY too expensive. I know there are hotels closer but I've always had good luck at the Embassy Suites and comparitively speaking, there was not a big price difference for the amenities offered.

Check in was quick. We paid with cash, which required an additional $20 deposit that was refunded at checkout. The atrium is clean and very modern. Our suite was just as we expected. Table and chairs, sink. coffee maker, microwave and mini fridge as well as a chair with ottoman and sleeper sofa as well as a flat screen TV. There is a good sized bathroom and a separate king size bedroom with a door for privacy. The bedroom also has a flat screen,

The manager's reception was 5:30-7:30pm offerng free drinks (yes, plural) consisting of severl brand name liquors, 3 wine choices and 2 draft beer choices. It was well worth it, nice pre-party, if you will, before going out for the evening. We had 2 people celebrating birthdays with us and the hotel staff gave them complimentary shots. Now, keeping in mind, we're not a bunch of college kids partying, we do have class and found this an added bonus. The hotel staff arranged for a mini-van taxi to pick us up and drive the 4 miles to the casino which only costed our group $20, plus a tip.

The next morning the hotel offered a breakfast buffet included in the price of the room with soda, juices and cooked to order omelets. Breakfast was from 7:30-10:30am. Another money saver as we didn't have to leave to go to breakfast. If you're a slow morning person there is a Bob Evans right across the street on 60, though.

Restaurants in the area are Hooters, Sweet Tomato's, Sonny's, McDonald's and Bob Evans, all within walking distance of the hotel.

The pool area was small and it did not appear that there was a hot tub, but we didn't check any of that out.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

Can't really fault this hotel for the beautiful rooms or the outstanding breakfast staff, or the outstanding breakfast for that matter. Great service!

We read or heard somewhere that this hotel offered, on request, a courtesy bus to Busch Gardens. This was partly the reason we chose this hotel, but this was not the case.
We were also let down by a certain member of the front desk staff, who repeatedly refused to call us a taxi from reception. We wanted to take a taxi to the Aquarium and the young lady in question said we had to call one from our room (on the 5th floor) I had to make two trips to the room because of misreading the phone number she gave us.

I'm sure this kind of service is not hotel policy but does bring into question the level of staff training. For any hotel reception staff to think it goes against company policy to call their hotel guests a taxi is just ridiculous!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

My hubby and I recently stayed at this hotel while on vacation. From the time we checked in until we checked out, we were treated like royalty. Every staff member that we encountered was extremely polite and helpful. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The decor of this property is very chic and modern. It was so nice it inspired my hubby and I to kick up our own house. Great location, very close to restaurants, shopping, and nightlife. The breakfast was great and the hot tub was a perfect way to spend the evenings. Our stay at this hotel set the tone for the rest of our vacation.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We had some vacation time to burn at the beginning of the year, so we spent the weekend in Brandon. The lobby was nice and the staff was very friendly.We had booked ahead and we requested a room away from the elevator and the ice machine. What did we get? A room directly across from the elevator. By the time we arrived, all rooms had been taken so we could not request another room. There was a soccer tournament in town and it was noisy all night next to that elevator. At one point we had to open the door (at 1am) and ask people standing in front of the elevator to keep it down. They had been standing there for about half an hour. If we had know we would encounter a hotel full of kids, we would not have stayed there. The room was clean and comfortable, but when we went to use the fridge and the microwave, they would not work. It was late so we did not want to call maintenance. We pulled the refridgerator out and discovered it had been unplugged. Since we were not sure why it had been unplugged we left it alone. The manager's reception was nice and the food served was great. The breakfast was ok by Embassy standards, and the pool was small and crowded. We have stayed in quite a few Embassy Suites and this one is definitely my least favorite. We realize the hotel could not be held accountable for the children's behavior, but I wish they had told us they were going to be there when we called.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

This hotel had all of the normal Embassy Suites standards, and is a nice new property, but lacked some intangibles that we often find in an Embassy. We like to stay at Embassy Suites for some "pampering" and found this property lacking in the customer service area. Because this hotel is an Embassy Suites, and we expect top quality from an Embassy, the review is harsher than it might have been for a hotel where less was expected. We have written a letter to Hilton and have included the letter below. Will we stay there on our next visit to Tampa? We're not sure at this point. If there are some changes in management or management's attitude about customers, probably. If the hotel continues to operate like a Sleep Inn, probably not. Our letter to Hilton follows:

To Whom it May Concern:

My family and I recently stayed at the Embassy Suites in Brandon, Florida for five nights. This was our second visit to this property; our first visit was one year ago when the property was brand new. During our first visit, we noticed several things that appeared to be odd for an Embassy Suites, but we passed them off as part of the learning curve for a new property. Overall, our first experience was good, and we looked forward to returning.

During our recent visit, however, we found that the property failed to live up to our expectations and found the following problems. None of these problems individually amounted to a lot, but collectively they spoke volumes about the management of the property. For ease of reading, I have listed the problems in bullet fashion.

• Orange juice was not available on at least one morning. The breakfast attendant explained that the night manager had taken the key to the juice machine and could not be located.
• Cranberry juice was not available on at least one morning. We were offered the same reason as the missing orange juice.
• The property brochure indicates that coffee is available 24 hours a day. When we tried to get coffee at approximately 10:30 a.m., the staff explained that the hotel only offered coffee during breakfast hours. We could only assume that the fountain soda was only available during the breakfast hours as well, as it was closed the rest of the day, even during the happy hour.
• No milk was available on more than one morning. When asked if more was available, the breakfast attendant explained that they were waiting on a truck to arrive.
• No bacon was available for omelets on at least one morning, although there was bacon in the regular hot food area.
• No breakfast potatoes were available on at least one morning.
• No pancakes were available on at least one morning.
• One morning there were pancakes available, but no waffle mix or syrup. When asked, the breakfast attendant again explained that they were waiting on a truck to arrive with syrup. After I threw my pancakes in the trash, the attendant mysteriously found a gallon of syrup and told me it would be ready in a few minutes.
• We attended the manager’s reception four of our five evenings at the hotel. Each evening, the bartender ran out of glasses, and had to disappear to find more.
• Three of the four nights, the bartender was out of mixers and could not make drinks that were available the night before.
• Several times we ordered a drink, and the bartender told us she would make them in a few minutes, then proceeded to help other guests and finally made our drinks when we returned in ten minutes.
• We observed various other guests leaving in disgust due to the poor performance on the part of the bartender and the long lines waiting on the confused and inept service.

I should mention that we always arrived for breakfast with at least one hour remaining in the schedule, we tipped, and were relatively undemanding guests.

When my family and I travel to a hotel such as an Embassy Suites, we look forward to quality service and relaxation. Unfortunately, during this visit we found ourselves trying not to be frustrated at the hotel’s obvious lack of concern for its guests. It is amazing to me that a hotel the size of this one could run out of food, and be completely incapable of driving down the street to a store to replenish the supplies when in a bind. It is also amazing to me that the bartender apparently never had any idea that people would be attending the manager’s reception, and that she needed to check supplies and have clean glasses and mixers available for the reception.

The hotel gave off a general feeling that money was tight, and that they were unable to keep things on hand due to a cash shortage. This may be the case, and if Hilton wants their guests to see this, then the hotel did a good job. If, on the other hand, Hilton wishes its guests to be pampered and feel as though they have arrived at a luxury destination, the property utterly failed. We will most likely still consider Embassy Suites as we plan various trips, but the Brandon property would have to make some changes before we would go back.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon

Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon Hotel
Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon Hotel Tampa
Embassy Suites Brandon
Brandon Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Tampa Brandon
Address: 10220 Palm River Rd, Tampa, FL 33619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#11 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Tampa Brandon is just seven miles from downtown Tampa and offers easy access to Busch Gardens, Fl State Fairgrounds, University of South Florida, Tampa Convention Center, beaches, and more. Guest rooms at this all-suite hotel feature a fully-equipped kitchen, high-speed Internet access, and two televisions with HBO. The property also offers complimentary made to order breakfast and evening reception with free snacks and alcohol, outdoor pool, and fitness room. On-site dining is available at Mango’s Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.