We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, a ways out from Tampa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10220 Palm River Rd, Tampa, FL 33619   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WiFi, Breakfast and $10
Ranked #5 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, a ways out from Tampa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This hotel was one of the only hotels available near Tampa due to a large conference downtown which I was attending. The hotel is a scaled down Embassy, but a nice overall property. I'd recommend it more as a stop over point for trips on I-75 or business in the Brandon area, but it wouldn't be my first choice for business in Tampa as the traffic can be tough on the freeways and the surface street route is miles of traffic lights and more traffic. There is a crosstown expressway that probably shortens the commute but it is tolled (non-cash) so I'm not sure how non-residents use it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyAGM, Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for your most recent stay at the Embassy Suites! We truly appreciate your feedback and I would have to agree that we are an ideal location for anyone traveling on 75. The traffic doesn't tend to be too bad unless your heading North on 75 when everyone is heading to work. Thank you again for your stay and we hope to see you the next time you are traveling through!

Yours Truly,
Ari Hartung
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    86
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
125
73
19
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Arkansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

First let me say that my family stayed in this hotel on May 4th 2012. Upon Check-in I was greeted by Courtney and she seemed nice. She handed me a room key and to the room we went. When I opened the door a heatwave hit me. NO AC! I went to the control and it was covered in grease and showed to be on. I've been in buidling management/maintenance for 10 plus years so I know what I'm looking at. As I look around I see that every piece of furnature is beat-up and the carpet has countless stains. So I go back to the front desk and upon telling Courtney my problem she says to me " Are your giving me Attitude?". I back off from clocking this idiot in hopes that she'll make things OK! She then sends my family to a single king room on the 4th. So back down I go. She then sends me back up on the 5th floor to a smoking room (NASTY!). So back down i go. By this time I've asked to see a manager no less than twice, to no avail. I take a business card for the Asst. Manager (Ari Hartung) and call every number on it. She has - untill this day- not returned my calls. So after going to the 4th room, only to find the ac cooling the room to 75, I gave up. This hotel does not deserve the name Embassy Suites!! A suggestion is to fire all the staff, gut the place and send the new trainees to Little Rock to see how an ES should be ran... Oh the breakfast was nice... The hotel should read Waste Management out front!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyAGM, Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you for your most recent stay, I am so sorry to hear about the less than satisfactory experience at our hotel. I would also like to sincerely apologize, although I have never received a voicemail regarding your stay and can assure you I would have addressed the issue right away. We appreciate your feedback and will make sure we address the issues you spoke of right away.

Yours Truly,
Ari Hartung
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Ledge, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Excellent service. Marissa the bartender is super friendly and my favorite!The room staff always had my room nice and clean. Great breakfast, the guy who makes the omelets is super nice.
I LOVE the Managers Reception. I will be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyAGM, Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your most recent stay at the Embassy Suites! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure to personally commend Marissa on her great customer service at the bar! She is truly an asset to the hotel. We hope to see you again in the future to enjoy our accomodations and join Marissa at the Manager's Reception!

Yours Truly,
Ari Hartung
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The place was clean and seemed to be like Embassy Suites but in a smaller version. We are used to staying at ES in downtown Chicago, Busch Gardens Tampa etc so this one was small in comparison. The rooms seem to be the same size etc. The beds were comfortable etc. It is close to shopping and restaraunts. Cons: It was a little confusing the 1st time to get to it, it sits right on side of expressway but you actually have to go about a block past it then turn down another road, then turn on to a 2nd road to get to it.There was no one there waiting to take your luggage up, I checked in before we unloaded our vehicle, the clerk did not ask if I needed help, as I pulled the cart by the check in area, still no assistance offered. I am an older female & was traveling with my daughter & 3 granddaughters. We stayed 3 days 2 nights, never saw a bellman the whole time. Comparing it to larger ES the breakfast was significantly smaller. Yes, they had to cooked to order omelets but the over all selection was very small. We also had the meat line stopped several times waiting for potatoes & meats to be replenished. The evening reception I went to 1 time had a bowl of potato salad, a bowl of cole slaw & a bowl of chexmix, the drinks were fountain drinks. No safes in the rooms, and the ones they had were in a small office behind the check in desk, just barely big enough to put a checkbook & a few credit cards in, forget trying to lock up a laptop or kindle.

Room Tip: Read the reviews before we went on other sites. If you want to be able to sleep, ask for a room not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyAGM, Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your most recent stay at the Embass Suites Tampa/Brandon. We truly appreicate your business as well as your feedback! We do sincerely apologize that we didn't have bellman service although, anyone on staff is always welcome to assit with any guest needs. I know that is a nice perk to have assistance when traveling with a family.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future!

Yours Truly,
Ari Hartung
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walden, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Very nice embassy suites. Smaller than most but the staff makes up for Amy size shortcomings. Great job.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyAGM, Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your most recent stay at the Embassy Suites Tampa/Branond. We truly appreciate your business. You are correct we are the baby compared to most Embassy Suites, but we try to make up for it with our "home away from home" service! Come back and see us again soon!

Yours Truly,
Ari Hartung
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My small family of three stayed here for one night before our recent cruise out of Tampa. We were greeted by a clean, lovely smelling hotel complete with professional and pleasant staff. We were treated very respectfully and like GOLD! The rooms were very nice and comfortable ... Quaint, actually like little cottage feeling.

We were fortunate enough to make it in time for the beverage cocktail hour, a complimentary service by Hilton with light snacks. We had a lovely pizza there too which was great. The waitress was very sweet, as was ALL staff.

Buffet, complimentary breakfast was amazing as always. Thank you Embassy Tampa/Brandon for an amazing experience. We will absolutely return. The hotel manager is obviously doing something right because these people are on top of their game!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyAGM, Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your most recent stay at the Embassy Tampa/Brandon. We truly appreciate your business and are very delighted to hear you enjoyed the accomdations and the service we pride ourselves on. We hope to see you again in the NEAR future!

Yours Truly,
Ari Hartung
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

First, the good: never stayed at an Embassy Suites & was talked into booking a one-night stay by my husband, as he had previous great experience at another ES. We needed one night prior to our flight home, chose this hotel based on previous good reviews. What we liked: 2 very large rooms, plus 2 t.v.s, doors could be shut so I could sleep while hubby watched t.v. Very quiet, (room 489). Great shampoo/soaps, etc., beautiful bathrooms, very large; mini fridge & microwave. Beds super-comfortable - great pillows. The bad: Upon check-in, we were told breakfast buffet was until 10:30am - my husband and I even commented to the receptionist that we could sleep in on our last day of vacation...well, we show up at 9:45 and breakfast had been stopped at 9:30am. We were pretty upset, but a hotel employee (may have been a day manager?) got us some eggs, muffins, milk, & fruit. I just don't believe there is any excuse for the information that was given to us, especially since we commented in front of the receptionist how nice it was that the buffet stayed open so late. The pool is also very small. The ugly: Stains, stains and more stains. Also, there was a terrible odor in our room, smelled like strong cleaning chemicals-stopped at front desk on way out (about 15 mins after check-in) & was told housekeeping would go up & spray air freshener. When we returned about 3 hrs later, the smell was still there, and we found a very small can of deodorizing spray, which we sprayed all around the rooms (it helped greatly). Stains (grayish/black) on the shower curtain (very obvious), red stains on sheer window curtains (possibly nail polish?) and also, faded stains on inside of comforter. Inexcusable. Would never stay at this Embassy Suites again, and would be wary of staying at another ES.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyAGM, Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your most recent stay at the Embassy Suites. I would like to sincerely, apologize for the less than satisfactory experience. I would like to let you know that this isn't a regular occurence at the hotel and will ensure we follow up with the individuals repsonsible for the cleanliness of your room, as well as the receptionist that miscommunicated the breakfast hours. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will give us another shot.

Yours Truly,
Ari Hartung
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon

Address: 10220 Palm River Rd, Tampa, FL 33619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#5 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#6 Business Hotel in Tampa
#7 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Tampa Brandon is just seven miles from downtown Tampa and offers easy access to Busch Gardens, Fl State Fairgrounds, University of South Florida, Tampa Convention Center, beaches, and more. Guest rooms at this all-suite hotel feature a fully-equipped kitchen, high-speed Internet access, and two televisions with HBO. The property also offers complimentary made to order breakfast and evening reception with free snacks and alcohol, outdoor pool, and fitness room. On-site dining is available at Mango’s Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon Hotel Tampa
Embassy Suites Brandon
Brandon Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Tampa - Brandon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.