We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MODERN and Top Food Place in Tampa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malio's

Malio's
400 N Ashley Dr, Ste 310, Tampa, FL 33602-4355 (Downtown)
813-223-7746
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Malio's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #338 of 1,997 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“MODERN and Top Food Place in Tampa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Lots of GOOD food on the Menu here! BEAUTIFUL Atmosphere for a cozy supper with your date. Bring lots of cash though - it is a higher priced rest. but worth the trip!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    39
    26
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
tampa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Birthday Celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Food is good and view is phenomenal! I had the lobster tail and my husband the filet and both were excellent. The sides are good too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I was pleased.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband bought a groupon to try this restaurant out. I was a bit reluctant, having grown up in Tampa- the old Malios had a reputation for dealing with a lot of greasy high rollers. But I was pleasantly surprised. Maybe because our reservation was early, but we didn't have to deal with the obnoxious Tampa crowd. We sat upstairs and avoided the downstairs happy hour. Had a view of the river and the University. The food was great, particularly the sea food. Service was excellent as well. For a good meal with a glass of wine and desert for two expect to pay $100.00 - $120.00. We will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I'm surprised but not that good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This restaurant came highly recommended - a lot of people love it.
Its been around for a long time.
The staff is great, unfortunately the food is consistently average and not worth the price.
I've gone multiple times with the hope that it was just an off day but nope - its just not that good.
This is a tampa landmark though, in that a lot of tampa history is tied to this place and a lot of tampas famous visitors and residents have been to this place.
It use to be located on Dale Mabry but moved to Downtown tampa - better location now but . . .
I'm sure there is something I'm missing and thats probably why I give it so many tries.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Yes, it's a bit more expensive. But it was close to the Performing Arts Center and we had 2 hours to kill. Happy Hour prices were a pleasant surprise. Appetizer's were a bargain and quite good. Waitress reserved a dining table for us to move to when ready. Yes, it is cavernous and sounds are amplified and travel. Fish entrees were perfectly prepared. Extensive wine list at fairly reasonable prices. View of the river was not as expected. Windows are rather small and do not lend to the panoramic view we wanted.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malio's also viewed

 

Been to Malio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.