We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship
705 Channelside Dr., Tampa, FL 33602
(813) 228-8766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 59 Attractions in Tampa
Type: History Museums, Ships, Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“so/so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Fortunately for us, we found a deal online. Walking through the old ship itself was a neat experience. However, we were expecting to find a museum aboard and it was more like some sparsely spaced artifacts (mainly clothing, etc.) throughout. If you've never been, I'd say its worth looking at on a deal but certainly not full price, as we were only there for about an hour.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    36
    23
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun with the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Had a blast with my kids today on the ship. The ship was a little hard to find behind the Florida Aquarium but was worth the effort. Just wish you could see more of the ship.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Dissapointed, but worth seeing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The ship is hard to find because of poor signage. We parked at the aquarium and I think you can park right by the ship. I didn't see the small sign to turn in to the ship. I actually sailed on the SS Harvard Victory, carrying bombs to Vietnam in 1969. So I was disappointed when they told me I needed an ID card to get a Vet discount. Anyway, the engine room was off limits and the engineering officers deck was off limits, also. I never could find anyone to ask permission to see either one. I was able to take a nice self-guided tour, since I knew my way around as well as any of the staff. Good for them, that they made this old boat operational in spite all of the Coast Guard and insurance requirements needed. Just a bit underwhelming for me.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun excursion!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Great opportunity to see a WWII ship, which also takes passengers out twice a year. The personnel were very friendly. This is a self-guided tour, so you can explore at your own pace.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Lots of Potential, But.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I'm a sucker for any historic military vessel, so I was excited to discover (on TA of course!) this vintage WWII cargo ship during a recent trip to Tampa. First off, be aware that it is in a state of continuous restoration, so this exhibit will just get better and better. As it stands now, however, it is interesting and worth a trip but has some shortcomings. First of all, it's a little tough to find, tucked at a pier behind the aquarium, with a little bit of hiking needed to get there. Once onboard, the tour starts out promisingly with a history of this ship and its important logistic role during the war. Systematically touring a ship is challenging , but tape on the deck leads you in the right direction from the main entrance. Unfortunately, many of the areas that you passed by had poor or non-existent signage to indicate what you were looking at. Also, those helpful taped lines kind of disappeared once you got out on the weather deck, leaving you to wander around hoping you were going in the right direction and not missing any areas. Even with these shortcomings, however, the ship is interesting, in relatively good condition and tells the important story of the many support ships whose roles were not glamorous but were essential to the war effort. As mentioned before, the ship is constantly being worked on and will continue to improve. But even as it stands today, it is worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship also viewed

 

Been to SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.