We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Tampa

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Tampa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Meridien Tampa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 North Florida Avenue, Tampa, FL 33602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #34 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Family trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We traveled to Tampa, Fl for a family vacation and booked a room at Le Meridien in dowwntown Tampa, a brand new hotel converted from a National Register of Historic Places ex Federal Courthouse. The concept is unique and the hallways blend in the old with the new with beautiful marble floors and lots of wood features in the hallways. The rooms themselves are very modern in gray tones, comfortable with great beds, big windows and large new modern bathrooms although they could use more overhead lighting in the rooms ( no mini bar or wall safe ). The hotel has a bar on the first floor and a bar, coffee bar, restaurant on the second floor which can be accessed from the original courthouse steps or from inside the hotel. We had drinks at the bar, which was very lively, and which can get a bit loud due to the Marble on the wall but we did not eat at the restaurant, the bar staff was friendly but slow as this was their first week working. Since they had just opened there were some small issues such as the elevator rugs not vacuumed overnight showed some light traffic and the waste basket papers were not removed from our room by cleaning service when the rooms beds were made and our TV was not connecting to the internet but none was a major issue. The staff was very helpful, attentive and polite during our stay and a pleasure to deal with even offering us some extra SPG points for the waste basket mixup. If your looking for a new experience in Tampa you should like this hotel.

Room Tip: I only give an average on service and cleanliness due to the first weeks hiccups since its a Le Meri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarbro-GM, General Manager at Le Meridien Tampa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Glad you were able to have a great family trip and enjoying our amenties and service. We are excited to be open and showcase our gem.

Travel safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our party of four visited Le Meridien’s second floor bar on June 21 (a Saturday night). (There is a small bar on the first floor near the reception area, but the main bar and the hotel restaurant are on the second floor of this magnificently renovated former federal courthouse.) The Le Meridien hotel and its restaurant and bar opened only six days before our visit and so we had low expectations regarding drinks, food and service, and when we saw that the bar area was packed—standing room only—at 9:30 p.m., we assumed we would encounter unusually poor service. This was not the case. Service was fast for the circumstances and exceptionally attentive.

For example, our server greeted us within a few minutes, took our drink orders and then returned a couple of times to alert us that the drink orders were in process but that the bartenders were filling orders slowly because of the capacity crowd. It took five or 10 minutes to get our drinks, but various staff members kept checking on us and when we asked for an appetizer menu, we got the menus quickly and the food also was served quickly. All things considered, service was reasonably fast and extremely attentive.

On our way out, a manager (who identified himself as a night auditor) asked if we wanted a tour and took us through a sample hotel room, the ballroom and the swimming pool area. That was both kind and very good marketing: The renovation of this former federal courthouse is impressive. And for those not from Tampa, the hotel is within easy walking distance of several museums, an historic movie theatre, and the business district.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarbro-GM, General Manager at Le Meridien Tampa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for such an incredible review. We are very excited to be open and show the community what we are all about. Our team is passionate about service and looking forward to seeing you soon.

Travel safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My husband and I decided to have dinner out tonight at Bizou Brasserie, Le Meridien's restaurant. The hotel and restaurant are open less than a week but the place was busy and buzzing. The property is just beautiful, both inside and out. The food was outstanding; we each started with the Manhattan clam chowder and it was the best version of this soup we've ever eaten. Normally, this soup is watery with chunks of clams and potatoes. This soup was a puree topped with some vegies, croutons and even a bite of lobster. Truly delicious (and hot). We shared a Caesar's salad with salmon and a burger. Both were delicious. The wine list was limited but nice and reasonably priced. Our server was very professional and attentive. The only flaw in the evening was that the kitchen was very slow; I suspect this will improve over time. Other dishes we saw being presented to other tables looked delicious as well - e.g., the charcuterie platter and the cheese platter.

We look forward to dining here again and bringing guests with us the next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarbro-GM, General Manager at Le Meridien Tampa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Excellent to hear! Our restaurant, Bizou is an incredible amenity for our hotel and glad you were able to experience. This week the full menu will be rolled out.

Thank you for your business and looking forward to seeing you soon.

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We decided to give Le Meridien and Bizou (see the separate review) a whirl on the second night they were open. It was exciting to have a Le Meridien in Tampa. I'd stayed at the one in Lisbon years ago with my dear friend Brett and enjoyed it quite a bit but hadn't been back to one since.
The staff were inviting and seemed experienced from the valet to the bellhop to the front desk associated. The place looks fantastic with all the old marble and wood restored beautifully. There are wide spaces and halls where you can imagine attorneys, clients and the press clamoring during court recesses.
I was able to see two rooms on account of a minor mix up. I'd booked a suite but was first shown to a regular room. The regular room was minimal in terms of decor with clean lines that I prefer. I inquired of the front desk if this was what they considered a suite and received a profuse apology plus bonus star points for the error. The suite was much nicer with plenty of room to have our friend up to after dinner but not a minibar to entertain out of.
Again, the decorations were clean (sparse) and linear. The bathroom was nicely appointed, water was hot enough and of course it was nice to be the first person to shower in the room. Speaking of water there was only one bottle of water which after a night of drinking was not enough. The final two issues were that at about 330 a loud hammering started. When I called to complain it stopped immediately and the next day I received an apology via email with an offer of more points to make up for it. The other issue that will be more difficult to address is that valet parks the car three blocks away so it's a good 15 minute wait for the car. I'll definitely call ahead next time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarbro-GM, General Manager at Le Meridien Tampa, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and certainly, thank you for your business. Our goal is to strive for excellent reviews. Having recently opened, all feedback is critical as we fine tune.

Look forward to your next visit and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Tampa

Address: 601 North Florida Avenue, Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Tampa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening this June and mixing contemporary culture with its European heritage, Le Meridien Tampa has transformed the one time Federal Courthouse into an inspiring 130-room boutique hotel. The hotel features luxurious accommodations, meeting and event space, state-of-the-art fitness center and the engaging Hub - a redefined version of the traditional hotel lobby. Take in the French flavors at Bizou Brasserie, our bistro and bar or indulge in a hand-crafted cocktail at Longitude Bar. Enjoy the convenience of our proximity to Ybor City, Channelside and other Tampa attractions. At Le Meridien Tampa, the possibilities are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Le Meridien Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.