We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST bacon EVER!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brunchies Breakfast, Brunch & Lunch

Brunchies Breakfast, Brunch & Lunch
14366 N Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33618-2018
813-908-7023
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 1,877 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Private Dining
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Private Dining
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEST bacon EVER!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My friend and I go to Bruncies ALL the time. The staff are very nice and the restaurant is very tidy. The food has always been great. (especially the bacon) something about their bacon....

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    13
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Almost everything was wrong”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Walked in to no-one at the host station. Young lady walks over to ask how many in our party (2). She picked up utensils and then asked for our name: turns out we were being put on a waitlist, which wasn't communicated nor was the wait time - she simply turned her back on us and called another group who were waiting in a waiting area we weren't directed to.

We sit in the wait area which has coffee facilities -- except these were empty and not being restocked... Why not?

On to the food. I ordered the chrizo and eggs ($8.79). This dish comes with tortillas, black beans and rice. I've uploaded a picture of the disappointingly small portion which stunned me when it came out. $9 for this?! As you can see, it's no more than a handful.

The keen observer will also note the absence of any red hue to the eggs from the chorizo. I suspect this is because the sausage is not chorizo. I ate pieces of just the sausage and it was so bland, you'd have a hard time convincing me it was a breakfast sausage, let alone chorizo!

Next, the temperature. Luke warm. This was not only my food but also my wife's. What's weird is that the order didn't take too long to come out, so they must be keeping things at this low temperature.

I finished off this small and tasteless plate as fast as I could so that it couldn't cool down any further. I had to grab hot sauce and ketchup from an empty table as the server never bothered to ask us if we needed any. Server returns once I'd polished off the meal with "That must have been good!". I didn't have the heart to tell him I felt robbed as he didn't cook it.

This is yet another example of dishes that are cheaper and much tastier to cook at home. Pretty pathetic on all fronts, so will not be going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Brunchies always serves fresh, well prepared food. Staff go out of their way to attend to your requests. It is always a pleasure to go there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We walked to this friendly neighborhood restaurant. We really enjoyed the wheat pancakes and crispy bacon. Everything was prepared perfectly. My husbands eggs were delicious as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great breakfast place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We love Brunchies. The service is great and the food is delicious. They get really busy though so go on a weekday for the best experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brunchies Breakfast, Brunch & Lunch also viewed

 

Been to Brunchies Breakfast, Brunch & Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brunchies Breakfast, Brunch & Lunch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.