We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but you pay the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suites w/ Bkfst from $99
Ranked #52 of 159 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location but you pay the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ok........I was there when the hotel was full for a concert at the Forum which is next door as is the conference center. It is a great location if you are attending these venues. The hotel did battle to run smoothly due to the volume of people arriving for the concert and leaving the next door. Credit to the staff ( kitchen, valet, house keeping). More front desk staff are required for peak arrival times. There were a few hiccups for example no towels or coffee...but the lapse was dealt with quickly and smoothly. The lifts are not great at peak times so be prepared to wait. Now....the price....I appreciate the hotel is in a prime location, in a major city and perfectly placed. Room prices as with other hotels in the area are set to maximize the benefit of location. It is not really fair to compare the price to another Embassy Suite like the one on the I95 at Savannah but there you get a better facility for a third of the price. In Tampa you pay for the location which I would happily do again given the location, room size for a family of four and the excellent buffet breakfast included in the price.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear ChasW
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa-Downtown for your recent visit. I am very pleased to read you enjoyed the hotel as well as the location and I appreciate you taking the time to recommend your experience on TripAdvisor. I certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    260
    119
    48
    48
See reviews for
171
171
34
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel looks very impressive, however after spending two nights sweating because the air conditioning didn't work; in not only my first room but the second room I changed too I can truly say I am not impressed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sal156666
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. I am of course very concerned to learn that your experience fell short of your expectations. I would like to assure you that we take immediate steps to correct any deficiencies. I would therefore hope that your experience on this visit would not dissuade you from staying with us again if your plans bring you to Tampa.
Best Regards
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This review will cover the following items: Parking, Room, Location, General Hotel, Service.

Parking: The hotel only has valet parking. You cannot pull into the hotel drive, check-in, unload your car and then go park. The cost for valet parking is $24 per day and requires that you wait on your car to be brought to you each time you depart. We felt very rushed when we were coming back to the hotel and had a 10-15 minute wait on one occasion because they could not find my car. There is a parking garage across Florida Avenue and traffic was never an issue so, if you don't mind to park and bring your luggage across the street, you can do so without much trouble.

Room: We had Room 1721. This room is a 2 bed suite with sofa sleeper. It was tucked in the corner away from the other rooms so it was quiet. The room was spacious and adequate. My only issue with the room was that the sofa, chair and carpets need to be replaced.

Location: If you are going to be downtown or taking a cruise, this is an excellent location. You can walk to Harbor Island and the cruise port in less than 10 minutes. We did not drive that direction but it may be an easy walk to Ybor City, too. The Tampa Riverwalk is still being developed but it will be an easy walk as well. The only other hotel that we saw in the area was a Marriott.

General Hotel: The staff was nice during each interaction. The hotel was clean and attractive. The breakfast was very good and included omelets with various meats and vegetables. The afternoon reception was a good touch. Drinks are free. None of the snacks were not up to par with any other facet of the hotel, though.

Service: We were a bit surprised that the room could sleep 6 people but housekeeping only included towels for three people. We requested more after we discovered this but it was late and we cancelled the request after 10 minutes because it was late and we were tired after driving for 12+ hours. I thought that it would be corrected by housekeeping the next day when they attended the room but they only replaced the three towels and we had to request more that day.

All in all, it is a nice hotel and was an excellent price for the five family members who went to Tampa. My biggest frustration was the parking. I have learned and would drop my family and luggage off upon arrival and go park in the public garage across the street to save time and money. (I did not verify but someone said they thought the daily rate for the public garage is $14/day.)

We did not use the pool but did see it. It is an outdoor pool on the roof of the second or third floor. It was long (maybe 50 feet) but very narrow (around 8 feet.)...fine for kids to splash around in but that's about it.

Room Tip: The lobby is open from the main floor to the top floor. To stay away from any potential noise, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Tony S
Thank you for choosing the Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown and for taking the time to post your detailed feedback of your stay. I was happy to read your appraisal of the hotel itself as well as the area and all of the amenities that you and your family enjoyed. I certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed at this hotel for a conference, but checked in a day early. This hotel was not ready for a huge crowd. Here is the list of issues: check in took hours, there was horrible customer service, nonworking toilets, double charging for the room, requesting up front payment in FULL, broken room doors, and broken air conditioning. The pool was extremely small. The only good thing was the Starbucks. The location was horribly isolated from a variety of restaurants and night life, but you have the option to catch the trolley to other areas. This was the worst hotel experience I've ever had. This Embassy Suites should stay away from large conferences.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Kim T
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. We sincerely regret that we fell short of providing you the quality service and accommodations you expected. We hold ourselves to high standards in all areas of our hotel and are reviewing your comments with the appropriate departments. We hope that you'll give us another chance to demonstrate our true hospitality.
Best Regards
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is amazing! room clean, bed very comfortable, I always have problems with the pillows but not with them, sleep just great, continental breakfast included, staff very nice you have to pay valet parking but it worth every penny! I will recommend this hotel 100%

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear katherinepc,
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Best Regards
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was upgraded to room view of Tampa skyline. Great manager's reception. Room was very nice. Great access to Ybor City on the trolley outside of the hotel. Valet parking service was wonderful. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Higher the floor better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear scjill18,
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay.
I would also like to thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I am very pleased to read that your expectations were exceeded and you were happy with your accommodations.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to visit us again in the near future.
Best Regards
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean, well-maintained facility. The check-in/-out process was very efficient. We arrived early and the room was ready for us. The nightly receptions were geared more towards bar snacks; however the breakfasts were very good and the portions were generous.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear MarkL
Thank you for choosing the Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown and for taking the time to post feedback of your stay. It was very pleasing to read your appraisal of the hotel itself as well as the area and all of the amenities that you enjoyed. I certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Address: 513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Business Hotel in Tampa
#44 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#52 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#52 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.