We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very short stay, but pleased with room and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $189/nt
Ranked #50 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Swansea, Illinois
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very short stay, but pleased with room and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Arrived late but was very happy with my room and the morning breakfast.

Fast internet and a comfortable bed made the stay even shorter (up too late, slept too well.)

Lastly the shower was like a strong rain. Great to wash the travel grim off and get the day started right.

Parking is valet ONLY. Not a huge deal, but $22 bucks is $22 bucks (plus tip.)

Room Tip: Go high or go home. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear David F,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown on TripAdvisor and for choosing to spend your time with us. I am very happy to read you enjoyed the service you received, our facilities.

I do hope you will be returning to visit us again; we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    349
    158
    65
    63
See reviews for
249
232
38
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Staff could have been more friendly and sympathetic to our needs. Our toilet broken and had to move without any assistance to new room. Upon checking in staff would not let us check in early and offered no help with baggage. Overall room great and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. We value all forms of guest feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests.

I am of course very concerned to learn that your experience fell short of your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies that you were left to feel disappointed with the check in process.

I would like to assure you that we pay careful attention to feedback such as you have provided, taking immediate steps to correct any deficiencies. I would therefore hope that your experience on this visit would not dissuade you from staying with us again if your plans bring you to Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

very good always and I always look forward to staying at the embassy. the quality of service and food make the trip very pleasurable. the location and the employees are always exceptional helpful and polite

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Its hard to go wrong with this chain, and this hotel is no exception. The hotel is exceptionaly clean and well cared for located adjacent to the convention center.

The rooms are well appointed with mini refrigerators and a microwave oven. The coffee maker actually makes good coffee! Rare. The beds a very comfortable and the rooms have a separate living room. Nice for entertaining.

The breakfast buffet is the best in the business! Omelets made to order, and a ton of other choices! Just awesome!

This chain is quickly becoming my favorite!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Wyomingdan,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown on TripAdvisor and for choosing to spend your time with us. I am very happy to read you enjoyed the service you received and our facilities.

I do hope you will be returning to visit us again; we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Simply the worst Embassy Suites I have ever stayed in!
Came here on vacation with my wife, daughter and twin grand daughters expecting a great time.
When we drove up I wanted to get our room, grab lunch then unload our car. The bellman ignored me and quickly unloaded our car. Note: You must use valet parking @ $22 a night.
We went to our rooms and after the bellman dropped off our bags the daughter's room lock failed and it took well over an hour for her to get back into her room.
The fridg in our room was not working reported it to front desk nothing happened to resolve issue.
Sat down in easy chair in daughters room and it was in such bad shape my butt nearly hit the floor.
Bath rooms so poorly cleaned my wife had to take a wash cloth and clean tooth paste off lavatory sink faucet from previous guest.
Managers evening reception was a joke. All 3 of the snack bowls were empty when we arrived hafeway through the 2 hour period. When another guest asked the bar tender he said the person who was responsible was off somewhere else and directed the guest to see if she could find him.
This hotel is in a great location but it is in great need of an Hilton corporate intervention if it is to survive.
I have cancelled my reservation to stay here in November I will stay elsewhere in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. I appreciate your candor regarding the condition of your room and experience; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest suite appearance is an area we are actively examining. The level of service you received has been addressed and we will be working to improve our provided guest experience. You should have also received two complimentary nights on your folio at check out. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very clean affordable room with a courteous staff and great location. The breakfast omlets made to order are a great way to start the day! I've been staying at this facility during business trips dating back to 2007 and have found they have kept up their high standards both in appearance of rooms and friendlness of staff members. Really a great place to stay at an affordable, budget friendly price!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay.

I would also like to thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I am very pleased to read that your expectations were exceeded and to learn that our staff treated you well and you were happy with your accommodations.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I like Embassy suites hotels and they're great for a family of 4. But the manager's special and the breakfast were way too crowded. crammed in with too few seats and the lights too bright, made a wonderful breakfast a mediocre experience. Also it seems ridiculous to pay for wireless internet and valet parking. Everyone was very nice
though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Jopoloco,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown.
I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Address: 513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Tampa
#28 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#34 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.