We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed! What? There's a broken elevator?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$169 Suites this Spring
Ranked #54 of 158 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed! What? There's a broken elevator?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My two daughters and I stayed there recently for four days. During that time, two days in, the elevator broke, we assumed since there was no note on the elevator. Just people saying they had gotten stuck in the elevator or the lights inside going off. Then the elevator was just off! Never saw anyone trying to fix it. Seeing how this property is twenty floors and filled to capacity you can see how bad this can be. There were mysterious gnats that kept dive bombing you. The toilet had problems flushing. There was a strong skunk smell that lasted all day. The housekeeping never asked if we needed anything. Last, but not least, when I went to pay, charged me an extra thirty dollars a day for my two daughters who are under eighteen. They said it was per person charge for breakfast buffet. So much for complimentary! It is not the money, it is the fact I wasn't notified ahead of time. An extra thirty bucks a day over three nights and four days adds up!

Green Features: They are environmentally-friendly because they won't give you more towels or toilet paper unless you ask, none was simply offered.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    231
    105
    42
    43
See reviews for
150
162
33
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for six years. I attend a convention every year here and always use them because they are connected to the hotel, it is so convenient. I will no longer be a patron here. This year the service was terrible and there were policy changes and extra charges for the hotel.

~For one thing, we had four people staying in the room. We paid the rate for four, but only two free breakfast were included in our reservations. It is complimentary breakfast, but two of us were charged extra each day. Why was this done? I have no idea!! We paid the correct price for our room, were not room packing, nor did we expect there to be an extra charge. They never even mentioned that there would be a fee when we checked in, there should not have of been because it is supposedly "complimentary."

~The check in staff was rude, very snippy and pointed.

~The hotel was very busy and one of the elevators was broken and was not fixed the entire span that we were there (three days).

~The plumbing was messing up. The toilet would not always flush and there was a bad smell coming from the bathroom for several of the days.

~We never had a maid come to our room.

It was an all around disappointment and unpleasant stay. I would advise going to a hotel that treats the customers well and appreciates repeat customers. I will no longer be staying here, the convenience is not worth the high price of disrespect and fake charges for things.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your loyalty to us and apologize for the disappointing experience you had. I can assure you that we're just as disappointed to hear about the service missteps. We always strive to provide our guests with the best experience and are following up with our staff. If we can be of additional service, certainly let us know. We hope we can restore your confidence in us and invite you back for a better stay.

Warm regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs,MO, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

All of the Staff were helpful and considerate. The bedroom suites are very convenient. Excellent Hotel. Downtown was safe and Convention Center linked to hotel was fabulous. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Just checked in earlier today and discovered bra on floor of our room doesn't belong to me??? We have 2 rooms here and I'm kinda grossed out. We are staying for long weekend and this is our family vacation. Wanted connecting rooms which were not available. Wanted bay view corner room also not available. Again here for 4 nights and two rooms. Check-in was uneventful - except for nasty mgr I am assuming. I asked if he could check me and and received an abrupt NO. The lady who eventually helped me was more than kind. Housekeeping was very nice as well - I am allergic to down pillows and they were great. So hopefully the rest of our stay will be better. Its only day one.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I highly recommend.When you stay at a hotel this is what you would expect.Top notch!One of the few hotels I would rate this high.Service was great,staff friendly and a perfect location downtown.Might not be the best for families on vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

All of the customer service in the world can't make up for broken elevators when there are 3+ events going on at this hotel! My family of 4 were in Tampa for a funeral, so not there for the large groups gathered. We had problems w/ our room that needed troubleshooting, which is what the hotel must do all weekend long.(i.e. there are 3 towels, but 4 adults in our room; our pull out couch didn't have clean linens, & no one brought them up when we called the night before; etc.) Again, we were in town for a funeral, so using our room to change clothes, and had to get in and out quick, which was difficult w/ one of four elevators out the 3 days we were there; and on Floor 16, so no way to utilize stairs.All solveable problems were addressed quickly when we complained. Our corner room w/ the view of the bay was great w/ windows on both sides, not the interior of the hotel. 3rd floor lap pool was awesome! All staff were friendly and helpful. But having an elevator out, and wait times of 20+ minutes was highly frustrating.

Room Tip: Corner rooms w/ 2 windows have great views. The Marriott across the street shares their pool privile...
See more room tips
Green Features: Second time this summer traveling w/ a Hilton hotel where the shampoo/conditioners were not enough for half of our group. Have to beg at front desk for shampoo..........
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your stay in Tampa and apologize for the issues you encountered during your visit. We're working with our maintenance team to help service the elevators and prevent such missteps from continuing. We hope that we will have another opportunity to serve you if your travels bring you back to our area.

Kind regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I made a reservation at this hotel months before my expected stay. At that time I was told that it would be no problem to change the reservation as long as I did so at least 72 hours ahead of time. Now, they have come up with a fake policy saying that they have a 3 night minimum stay but it's apparently only this one week in the year. And this policy is stated no where online that can be found just an ambiguous "subject to hotel policy." The hotel policy doesn't say anywhere that they can decide to change the policy from no minimum nights to three minimum after you have already made the reservations. Worst customer service I have ever had in a hotel. I'm just sorry that I can't give this place a zero.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I'm sorry to hear about the experience you had and regret that our policy was not clear when booking. We would be happy to speak with you about your concerns in greater detail. If you have a moment, please contact us at your earliest convenience.

Kind regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Embassy Suites Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites
Address: 513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Tampa
#32 Business Hotel in Tampa
#56 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.