We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Limited Time Rates - $99
Ranked #57 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Blue Springs,MO, United States
1 review
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

All of the Staff were helpful and considerate. The bedroom suites are very convenient. Excellent Hotel. Downtown was safe and Convention Center linked to hotel was fabulous. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    285
    131
    54
    49
See reviews for
192
186
35
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Just checked in earlier today and discovered bra on floor of our room doesn't belong to me??? We have 2 rooms here and I'm kinda grossed out. We are staying for long weekend and this is our family vacation. Wanted connecting rooms which were not available. Wanted bay view corner room also not available. Again here for 4 nights and two rooms. Check-in was uneventful - except for nasty mgr I am assuming. I asked if he could check me and and received an abrupt NO. The lady who eventually helped me was more than kind. Housekeeping was very nice as well - I am allergic to down pillows and they were great. So hopefully the rest of our stay will be better. Its only day one.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I highly recommend.When you stay at a hotel this is what you would expect.Top notch!One of the few hotels I would rate this high.Service was great,staff friendly and a perfect location downtown.Might not be the best for families on vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

All of the customer service in the world can't make up for broken elevators when there are 3+ events going on at this hotel! My family of 4 were in Tampa for a funeral, so not there for the large groups gathered. We had problems w/ our room that needed troubleshooting, which is what the hotel must do all weekend long.(i.e. there are 3 towels, but 4 adults in our room; our pull out couch didn't have clean linens, & no one brought them up when we called the night before; etc.) Again, we were in town for a funeral, so using our room to change clothes, and had to get in and out quick, which was difficult w/ one of four elevators out the 3 days we were there; and on Floor 16, so no way to utilize stairs.All solveable problems were addressed quickly when we complained. Our corner room w/ the view of the bay was great w/ windows on both sides, not the interior of the hotel. 3rd floor lap pool was awesome! All staff were friendly and helpful. But having an elevator out, and wait times of 20+ minutes was highly frustrating.

Room Tip: Corner rooms w/ 2 windows have great views. The Marriott across the street shares their pool privile...
See more room tips
Green Features: Second time this summer traveling w/ a Hilton hotel where the shampoo/conditioners were not enough for half of our group. Have to beg at front desk for shampoo..........
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your stay in Tampa and apologize for the issues you encountered during your visit. We're working with our maintenance team to help service the elevators and prevent such missteps from continuing. We hope that we will have another opportunity to serve you if your travels bring you back to our area.

Kind regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I made a reservation at this hotel months before my expected stay. At that time I was told that it would be no problem to change the reservation as long as I did so at least 72 hours ahead of time. Now, they have come up with a fake policy saying that they have a 3 night minimum stay but it's apparently only this one week in the year. And this policy is stated no where online that can be found just an ambiguous "subject to hotel policy." The hotel policy doesn't say anywhere that they can decide to change the policy from no minimum nights to three minimum after you have already made the reservations. Worst customer service I have ever had in a hotel. I'm just sorry that I can't give this place a zero.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I'm sorry to hear about the experience you had and regret that our policy was not clear when booking. We would be happy to speak with you about your concerns in greater detail. If you have a moment, please contact us at your earliest convenience.

Kind regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We traveled from Sarasota on a "Girls Weekend" to Tampa for shopping and fun. Rooms were good sized and we loved having a kitchenette and living room. Room cleaning could have been a little better (paperclip and crumbs on the floor) and it was very hot until we complained and suddenly our room was cooler without us lowering the thermostat. Breakfast was over the top. Pool was lovely and the staff was ready to serve and help in any way they could. It was a good price for the value.

Room Tip: Lock up your valuables in the safe when you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Staff was nice, but different elevators were out of service all weekend, making for long waits. Room cleaning was a little shoddy. Breakfast was good. Restaurant food was good, but limited menu, and a little pricey. Hated paying $15 a day for internet while there for work. Overall ES's are comfortable, this weekend it seemed overwhelmed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Address: 513 S. Florida Ave., Tampa, FL 33602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Tampa
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#33 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.